Whether you’re in town for Mardis Gras, the NOLA Jazz & Heritage Festival, or the Voodoo Experience or are lucky enough to call Louisiana home, you know about the rich culture and history of the Pelican State. From culinary delicacies to a music scene like no other, driving through Louisiana’s 120,000+ miles of roadway provides a true taste of the South.
Before you hit the road, though, you’ve got to make sure your car insurance is up to par to Louisiana law. With every company claiming to have the most coverage, lowest rates, or best customer service, how do you know what’s the best option for you and your lifestyle?
It all starts with knowing your options, finding all car insurance discounts you’re eligible for, and selecting the best policy for you—Bayou-based drivers, compare the cheapest and best quotes in Louisiana here.
Cheapest Car Insurance in Louisiana
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in Louisiana for the following user profile: a single, 30-year-old male with a clean driving record who drives a 2012 Honda Accord and pays a $1,000 deductible for the state’s minimum liability insurance. We averaged rates from the twenty most populous cities in Louisiana to calculate the cheapest rates in Louisiana.
Best Car Insurance in Louisiana
With dozens of options to choose from and every company claiming to be better than the next, how can you really know which insurance company is best in Louisiana?
The Insurify Composite Score is calculated by analyzing multiple factors that indicate the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company. Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch; J.D. Power ratings; Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys; mobile app reviews; and user-generated company reviews. The following are the top-rated companies that offer car insurance in Louisiana. For the complete list, see Insurify’s best car insurance companies.
Most Popular Car Insurance Companies in Louisiana
The American car insurance market is lead by a few key players. According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), these are the most popular car insurance companies in Louisiana by market share:
- State Farm
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Louisiana by City
Prices of auto insurance may fluctuate from company to company and city to city. Factors like driving history and age will also contribute to the price of your monthly premium. Auto insurance costs may vary greatly depending on locations and insurance companies. Just because one company offers the best rates for your driver profile in New Orleans doesn’t mean they’ll do the same in Baton Rouge.
Insurify analyzed the latest data for five of the most populous cities in Louisiana to find you the cheapest quotes in each of these metropolitan areas.
|New Orleans||State Farm||$277/month|
|Baton Rouge||State Farm||$144/month|
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Louisiana by Profile
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in Louisiana based on averaged sample rates for four driver profiles that included varied gender, age, driving history, credit, marital status, prior insurance, higher education, employment, and military service.
USAA will frequently offer Louisiana residents some of the most competitive and cheapest auto insurance options but is only available to retired or current personnel of the U.S. military and their family members.
Cheap Car Insurance for Good Drivers
For Louisiana drivers with a clean record free of any moving violations, auto insurance rates may be significantly lower. Allstate offers the best options for good drivers in Louisiana, at $140 a month. With both cheaper premiums and safe driving discounts, it can really pay to have a record free of accidents or traffic tickets.
Cheap Car Insurance for High-Risk Drivers
High-risk drivers in Louisiana, including those with one or more traffic violations, may have to pay more for their car insurance premiums. High-risk drivers tend to have higher monthly premiums than the national average. Southern Farm Bureau offers the best deal for drivers with a DUI or a history of speeding at $75/month. For drivers with at-fault accidents on their driving record, USAA provides the best option at $94.
Cheap Car Insurance for Drivers with DUI in Louisiana
If you’re convicted of a DUI in Louisiana, you may be paying the price for years to come. For a decade after a DUI offense, drivers can be penalized on their insurance premiums. First time DUI offenses in Louisiana can lead to jail time, court and reinstatement fees, SR-22 filings and license suspensions. It’s no secret that DUIs have major repercussions. Here are the best rates we could find for Louisiana drivers with a DUI:[table “378” not found /]
Finding affordable rates on car insurance with a DUI can be challenging, but it isn’t impossible. You should consider using an insurance quote comparison website like Insurify to help you find the lowest quote from the best company!
Cheap Car Insurance for Drivers with an At-Fault Accident in Louisiana
When even a small fender-bender causes a spike in your car insurance costs, its best to choose the right policy before it’s too late. If you’ve opted into accident forgiveness, you may have caught a break. But if you haven’t, finding the right discounts may save your budget.
If you have an at-fault accident on your driving record, it’s important to shop for a new policy every chance you get to renew. Insurance companies look at different time windows for driving history. For example, one company might look at the last five years while another looks at the last three.
Here are the best rates we could find for drivers with one at-fault accident:
Insurance Company Quotes
State Farm $95/month
Cheap Car Insurance for Speeding Drivers in Louisiana
Getting to your destination a few minutes ahead of schedule may not be worth the years of increased insurance premiums that result from a speeding ticket. The more demerits a driver has on their driving record, the more demerits they may get on their driver’s license. More demerits means higher premiums.
To recover from the effect of speeding tickets on your driving record, search for discount programs you may be eligible for, or a defensive driving course.
|Southern Farm Bureau||$75/month|
Cheap Car Insurance for Young Drivers
If you’re under 40 years old in the state of Louisiana, you will likely pay more for auto insurance coverage than the average driver. Inexperienced drivers often pose a higher risk for insurance providers, so their rates are often increased accordingly. GEICO offers the cheapest car insurance rates for young drivers, averaging $54 a month. New drivers must abide by special driving restrictions, including curfews, electronic device limitations, and passenger age restrictions. Be sure to familiarize yourself with these rules before hitting the road.
Insurance Company Quotes
Insurance policies for 21-year-olds generally run higher than the national average by a significant margin. Even though they’re no longer considered teen-drivers, 21-year-olds are still regarded as high-risk to insurers. To find the cheapest car insurance for 21-year-olds, use a car insurance quotes comparison site like Insurify.
Car Insurance for Drivers with Poor Credit
Unfortunately, it can be challenging to find cheap car insurance in Louisiana if you have a poor credit score.
Louisiana car insurers are permitted to use credit score as a factor when calculating the risk of any given policyholder, meaning they can increase your insurance rates if you have bad credit.
Insurers have found that drivers with poor credit histories are more likely to file auto insurance claims. To account for the increased risk, insurers raise insurance premiums for bad drivers. Car insurance premiums fluctuate based on many factors, not just credit score, depending on where you live in Louisiana. Good credit can save you a whole lot of cash in the long run.
Louisiana Auto Insurance Laws
State Minimum Coverage Requirements in Louisiana
All motor vehicles operated or parked on Louisiana roadways are required to be insured. Proof of insurance must be carried in your car at all times and must available when:
- Requested by law enforcement
- Renewing vehicle registration
- The vehicle is involved in a car accident
Though coverage options vary between insurance companies, some are not optional. The minimum liability car insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in Louisiana are as follows:
- $15,000 per person/$30,000 per accident for Bodily Injury (BI)
Bodily injury liability coverage protects drivers if their car is involved in an accident that harms another individual. The minimum limits required by Louisiana state law are $15,000 for the death or injury of a single victim as a result of a car accident and $30,000 for the deaths or injuries of multiple victims. Insurance companies list this type of coverage as 15/30, referring to the dollar limitations of each minimum. If you’re in an accident, liability coverage will cover the cost of a legal proceeding as a result of a crash. Bodily injury coverage is part of the minimum coverage required by Louisiana law.
- $25,000 per accident for Property Damage (PD)
The state minimum amount of property damage liability coverage required in the state of Louisiana is $25,000. If an insured driver is determined to be at fault and held liable in a motor vehicle accident, this coverage pays for damage repair to another individual’s property. Property damage coverage will also pay for legal costs if an insured driver is involved in a lawsuit following an accident.
Optional Supplemental Coverage
Comprehensive coverage and collision coverage pay for repairs to your car when it’s involved in an accident or stolen. Comprehensive coverage and collision coverage are two of the three basics that make up what’s commonly called a “full coverage” auto policy (liability, collision, and comprehensive). Coverage limits will differ from policy to policy.
Comprehensive insurance coverage covers “Acts of God” and things out of a person’s control, like fire or flood, but does not cover medical expenses or auto damage due to a collision.
Collision insurance coverage covers damage to objects (not animals or people) and vehicles as a result of a collision regardless of fault, including hit-and-run accidents, but doesn’t cover damage due to “Acts of God.”
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is not required in Louisiana but can be a lifesaver in the event of an accident with an uninsured motorist. If involved in an accident with an individual without sufficient coverage, insured drivers will still be covered.
Medical Payments, or simply Med Pay, covers reasonable medical costs for you or your passengers in the case of injury from an accident. If a car accident results in serious bodily injury, Med Pay can help ease the stress of high medical bills after a hospital visit.
Am I liable if I cause a car accident in Louisiana?
Louisiana abides by a traditional fault-based insurance system.
As an at-fault tort liability state, if involved in an accident, the driver found to be at fault would be liable for damages caused. Essentially, if you break it, you buy it. Each driver involved in an accident files a claim, and insurance coverage contributes towards damages according to the degree of fault of each party.
For an individual injured in a car accident in Louisiana, there are three courses of action. The injured person can file a claim with their own insurance company, they can file a third-party claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company, or they can file a personal injury lawsuit in court against the at-fault driver. Car insurance coverage will differ from policy to policy.
AAA Car Insurance and Roadside Assistance In Louisiana
Locked your keys in the car? Battery dead? Flat tire? If you’ve ever found yourself in this situation, you’ve probably relied on the American Automobile Association (AAA) for roadside assistance. But did you know that AAA also offers automobile insurance for Louisiana drivers?
Divided into regional clubs, AAA insurance and roadside assistance operate throughout Louisiana. To find out which independent agents operate AAA insurance in your region, visit AAA’s website and search using your ZIP code.
Distracted Driving in Louisiana
People operating motor vehicles in Louisiana are forbidden from using hand-held devices if they’re driving with a learner’s permit or intermediate license. The same goes for all school bus drivers, minors, and those who have had their license for less than one year. No driver in Louisiana is permitted to send, receive, or read text messages while driving, regardless of age or driving experience. Put down the cell phone and drive!
SR-22 Insurance in Louisiana
If your license has been suspended or revoked, these auto insurance companies will file an SR-22 with the state of Louisiana on your behalf. Louisiana‘s state licensing authority will inform drivers if they require SR-22 insurance. If you’ve been convicted of a DWI, moving violation, or other serious offense, you may be required to file for an SR-22.
Drivers who are found guilty of a DWI can face penalties of up to six months in jail, $1,000 in fines and court fees, and license suspension for a first-time offender. Punishment worsens with subsequent offenses.
The lookback period in Louisiana is an entire decade, which means you’ll be paying the price for years after breaking the law.
In Louisiana, many insurance companies offer to file an SR-22 on your behalf, including Affirmative, Dairyland, Direct General, Esurance, Farm Bureau Financial Services, Farmers, Foremost, GEICO, Good2Go, National General, Progressive, SafeAuto, Safeco, Safeway, and The General.
Louisiana Auto Insurance FAQs
Is my car covered if damaged in a natural disaster?
As Louisianans know all too well, expect the unexpected with mother nature. If you want to ensure your vehicle is covered if damaged after a storm, hurricane, or flood, it’s important to get full coverage car insurance, including comprehensive coverage. This coverage will bring peace of mind during extreme weather events.
Why is my car insurance so expensive in Louisiana?
Thanks to the Bayou State’s s location sandwiched next to the Gulf of Mexico and history of major flooding and other natural disasters, car insurance companies take on greater risk by insuring your vehicle. These high-risk factors result in more expensive monthly premiums. Fret not, though—use a car insurance comparison site like Insurify to find the cheapest quotes in the state!
Who has the cheapest car insurance in Louisiana?
The best way to get the cheapest car insurance in Louisiana and save on your auto insurance premium is to compare quotes from all companies in your area. Use a car insurance quotes comparison site like Insurify to compare up to 10+ real quotes for your specific driver profile and unlock savings and discounts. Rates can fluctuate greatly based on whether you're a safe driver or a high risk one, but you should never overpay. Insurify provides the cheapest car insurance quotes and companies in your area in just a few seconds.
It Pays to Go Green in Louisiana
The state of Louisiana offers many green driver incentives including emissions test exemptions, tax breaks, and insurance discounts.
Federal income tax credits, Louisiana excise tax credits, equipment repair rebates, and special electricity rates may be granted to buyers of eco-friendly vehicles including electric cars, hybrids, plug-ins, diesel-powered, or alternative fuel vehicles.
If you’re thinking about your next big car purchase, consider a fuel-efficient vehicle—it’s good for both your wallet and the planet in the long run.
Louisiana Driver Services Information
The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles has dozens of outposts around the state, operating from 8:00 AM to 4 PM, with some special early morning, evening, and Saturday hours.
At the Office of Motor Vehicles, Louisiana residents can access services like driver’s license and ID card registration and renewal, vehicle registration, and license plate pick-up, as well as insurance information and services. For the shortest wait times, avoid planning your visit on Mondays and Fridays, or during lunch hours.
Regardless of where you live in Louisiana, a DPS shouldn’t be too far. Louisiana residents may be able to skip their visit altogether and get what they need through their online portal. Visitors may also utilize the services provided by the Louisiana Department of Insurance while visiting their local Office of Motor Vehicles.
Louisiana drivers can save big on their car insurance policies.
To find the best rates, companies, and coverage based on your personal metrics, get a free quote by using an auto insurance quotes comparison site like Insurify. From New Orleans to Shreveport, Louisiana drivers deserve to find the cheapest car insurance available.
Compare Louisiana car insurance companies today on Insurify.
Score savings on car insurance with Insurify