With a nickname like "The Peace Garden State," it's no wonder North Dakota is considered one of the happiest states in the U.S. Known for it's booming oil industry and lack of tourists, the lifestyle in North Dakota is a desirable one.
Requirement : Yes
Car insurance is required in North Dakota . Drivers must have a minimum of liability, uninsured/underinsured, and personal injury protection - no fault coverage.
Minimum Coverage Car Insurance Requirements:
A minimum of liability, uninsured/underinsured, and personal injury protection are required:
Other Car Insurance Coverage Options:
Liability, and uninsured/underinsured, and personal injury protection coverage are the only requirements for North Dakota motorist to have, there are several other types of coverage available to drivers:
Other Forms of Financial Responsibility:
Other legal ways around buying car insurance include: There are no alternative forms of financial responsibility. North Dakota requires all drivers to have minimum coverage.
Proof of Insurance: Yes
You must carry proof of insurance and registration with your vehicle at all times.
Your insurance provider will send you an insurance card.
The card will include:
Violations, Fines & Penalties:
A SR22 may be required after a suspension in order to get your driver’s license reinstated. An SR22 certificate only certifies proof of insurance of minimum requirements, it is not insurance. An SR22 must be maintained for 1 year.
Credit Scores & Determining Your Insurance Premium :
All North Dakota drivers are required to have car insurance, however, insurance providers are reserved the right to deny coverage to high-risk drivers. . Drivers unable to get private coverage should consult the North Dakota Insurance Department for assistance.
Other factors that may be used to determine your premiums include:
Discounts : Yes
Discounts available in North Dakota:
Drivers under the age of 18 are banned from all cell phone use while driving. All drivers are prohibited from texting while driving. Cell phone and texting violations are considered primary offenses. Violators face a $100 fine.