Looking at other states around the country, Alaska has one of the most forgiving rates for drivers who have a DUI on their record. While multiple violations can quickly add up and cause your auto insurance rates to increase rapidly, one offense will only cause a minor increase to your monthly payments. Even with the small increase to your premium, it is still a good idea to shop around for quotes. This is especially true for those with multiple incidents on their driving record.
Insurify can help with comparing quotes from more than 20 prominent insurance companies. By displaying the results on one screen, the process of reviewing and selecting a plan becomes much easier. Getting started is simple and only requires you to answer a couple of questions. Once you provide your information and the requested data, you will be shown all the options available to you.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
Even though DUI do have an impact on car insurance rates in Alaska, they aren't as significant as in other states. Drivers who have a DUI on their record tend to pay 34.17 percent more on average. Since rates are typically low for drivers with a clean driving record, at $147 per month, motorists with a DUI can expect an average premium of $197.23.
While the $50.23 difference between the two doesn't seem like a lot, multiple incidents can increase the gap rather quickly. There are also other consequences of having a DUI on your record in Alaska.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
Shopping for quotes is still highly recommended for drivers with a DUI in Alaska to avoid the price increase. One insurance company that is known to be more forgiving when it comes to certain violations, such as a DUI, is American Family Insurance. On average, motorists can expect a monthly premium cost of $85 with this insurer. Other companies offer comparable rates and should be considered as well.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|American Family Insurance||$85|
Alaska is home to the lowest-ranking total cost auto insurance for those with a DUI. Currently, ranked 51st on the list, Alaskan drivers typically pay $197.23 for auto insurance coverage if they have a DUI on their record. When compared to Michigan, which is the highest-ranking state, Alaska is roughly eight times less expensive.
One thing to keep in mind is that this is for one DUI violation. If you accumulate more than one incident in a short time period, the quotes you receive may feature much higher rates.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
A DUI violation falls into the priorable offense category, which allows the state to enforce harsher punishments for additional violations. Typically, the stacking of punishments for multiple occurrences can only happen within a certain period of time. This period is referred to as the lookback period.
Alaska has one of the longest lookback periods across the United States, as the state will consider DUIs on your driving record for 15 years. With little to no expectations on the length of time, having multiple DUI violations can result in severe penalties and a lifelong lookback period.
The penalties for a DUI in Alaska can be severe, as it is considered a criminal offense. Typically, penalties are handed out by both the court system and the DMV as well. If you received your first DUI, you can expect a minimum of 72 hours in jail, a $1,500 fine, and license revocation for a minimum of 90 days. Ignition interlock devices are also a common requirement for a DUI violation.
Some of the most severe penalties are handed out to those who have four or five instances on their records. Often, one year of jail time, $10,000 in fines, and license revocation of five years are all common for drivers with multiple DUIs. Other penalties that can be imposed include court-ordered evaluations and participation in alcohol safety action programs.