Looking to pay peanuts for car insurance in Virginia? Read on.
The State of Virginia gave us the swivel chair, lip balm, and even the first peanut farm—but what does it offer its residents? Mountain views, 28 wine trails, and miles of underrated beaches, for a start. To be fair, Virginia has some of the worst traffic congestion in the country (just ask D.C. commuters). But many find the world-renowned, free museums worth the bumper-to-bumper adventure.
If you’re considering a move to Virginia, or you’re a current resident looking for the best and cheapest car insurance quotes in Virginia, this guide is for you.
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Virginia
These are the cheapest insurance companies in Virginia for the following user profile: a single, 30-year-old male with a clean driving record who drives a 2012 Honda Accord and pays a $1,000 deductible for the state’s minimum liability insurance. We averaged insurance rates for the twenty most populous cities in Virginia.
Best Car Insurance Quotes in Virginia
The Insurify Composite Score is calculated by analyzing multiple factors that indicate the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company. Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch; J.D. Power ratings; Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys; mobile app reviews; and user-generated company reviews. The following top-rated companies offer auto insurance coverage in Virginia. For the complete list, see Insurify’s best car insurance companies.
|Insurance Company||Composite Score||Quote|
Most Popular Car Insurance Quotes in Virginia
We used data from the Insurance Information Institute (III) to discover which insurance companies are writing the most policies for the 7.5 million vehicles registered in the state of Virginia. The more policies that are written by insurance providers, the higher their ranking.
According to the III, these are the most popular car insurance companies in Virginia by market share:
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Virginia by City
While many factors can impact the price you pay for your insurance policy, where you live has one of the largest. For example, if you live in a more congested area with high rates of vandalism, you’ll likely pay higher rates than people in places with less congestion and lower rates of vandalism. The rules are no different for the state of Virginia.
We looked at the most populated cities in Virginia and calculated the best rates we could find. How does your insurance premium stack up against our research?
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Virginia by Profile
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in Virginia based on averaged sample rates for four driver profiles that included varied gender, age, driving history, credit, marital status, prior insurance, higher education, employment, and military service.
Cheap Car Insurance for Quotes Young Virginia Drivers Under 40
Oh, to be young—except when you’re buying car insurance. Finding the best price on car insurance when you’re a millennial or young adult usually means leveraging the discount programs offered by your insurance company. Discounts aside, here are the best rates we could find for drivers under the age of 40:
|Virginia Farm Bureau||$29/month|
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Virginia Drivers with a DUI
Everybody makes mistakes and has to deal with the fallout. The fallout for a DUI is rough: court fines, reinstatement fees, SR-22 filing, and years of paying more for car insurance, to name only a few. Finding affordable rates on car insurance with a DUI is no small feat. If you find yourself really struggling to get an affordable rate, consider only carrying liability coverage as a way to save.
Here are the best rates we could find for Virginia drivers with a DUI:
|Virginia Farm Bureau||$37/month|
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Virginia Drivers with Speeding Tickets
The need for speed can soon turn into the need for a new budget. Speeding tickets can affect people differently. But essentially, the more often you speed—and the higher your mph—the more points you’ll receive on your driver’s license. Higher points mean higher prices in the car insurance game.
The best way to lower costs? Slow down and find a discount program, like a defensive driving course reduction.
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Virginia Drivers with an At-Fault Accident
The sinking feeling after realizing you’ve caused an accident is no exaggeration. Even a tiny fender bender can raise rates to levels that significantly alter your budget. If you’ve paid for accident forgiveness, you may have caught a break. If not: discounts, discounts, discounts.
And comparison shopping at least every time your policy is up for renewal: insurance companies look at different time windows for driving history. For example, one company might look at the last five years, while the other looks at the last three.
Here are the best rates we could find for drivers with one at-fault accident:
Virginia State Insurance Laws
Car insurance laws vary by state, and Virginia has some stringent restrictions that rival the intensity of its highway traffic enforcement.
State Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Virginia
In the state of Virginia, motorists are required to purchase liability insurance in the following minimum coverage limits:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons
- $20,000 for property damage liability
Proof of insurance should be kept in the vehicle at all times. This can be in the form of an insurance card or policy declaration page. And while lawyers and police officers may disagree about whether carrying proof of insurance is a law, your best bet is to comply with the recommendations of the DMV.
What You MUST Know about Monitoring and Verification of Insurance Coverage in Virginia
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles really wants you to be insured. They want this so badly that they’ve partnered with insurance companies to verify insurance coverage of vehicles registered within the state.
How this works: the DMV cross-references vehicle registration information with policy information provided by insurance companies in the state. When the DMV finds a registered vehicle without a known insurance policy, it will send a letter requesting the owner of the car to present proof of an active insurance policy to the DMV.
What are the Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Virginia?
Driving without insurance in Virginia is not treated lightly. Penalties include:
- Suspension of driving privileges
- Suspension of vehicle registration
- Revocation of license plates
- $500 statutory fee
- $45 reinstatement fee (if applicable)
- File an SR-22 with the DMV for three years
What is the Uninsured Motor Vehicle Fee?
In several states, the government allows for alternatives to carrying auto insurance coverage. In Virginia, this alternative is known as the Uninsured Motorist Vehicle (UMV) fee.
If motorists do not want to purchase an insurance policy, they can pay a $500 one-time fee to the DMV. This allows them to drive an uninsured vehicle legally—at the driver’s own risk (of financial ruin).
Is Virginia a No-Fault State?
First, if you’re wondering what no-fault means: in a so-called “no-fault” state, motorists file medical claims with their own insurance company. Usually, this is up to a certain limit. In this way, motorists can’t sue each other for minor injuries, resulting in less congestion in the court system.
No-fault insurance is carried out through adding Personal Injury Protection (PIP) to the insurance policy. In some states, this is mandatory, but in a few states, like Virginia, this is considered optional coverage. The advantage of adding PIP to your policy, even when it’s optional, is that you never have to wait to be reimbursed for medical bills related to a car accident.
This can be critical if you’re hit by an uninsured motorist.
Should You Carry Uninsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Virginia?
While some states require uninsured, and even underinsured, motorist coverage, Virginia is a state where these riders are optional. While this may sound like a great way to save money, consider the risks carefully.
In 2015, III found that nearly one in 10 Virginia drivers don’t have auto insurance. If one of these drivers hits you, while you can sue for damages and even win your case, the ability of a person to pay is going to affect whether you get paid. Considering this driver couldn’t afford an insurance policy, you may find yourself stuck with the bill anyway.
A better bet is to purchase this low-cost rider so that, if it ever happens to you, your insurance company can deal with the fallout, meaning your bills are covered quickly so you can get back to your life.
Who Offers the Best SR-22 Insurance in Virginia?
If you need an SR-22 filed in Virginia for a license suspension or revocation, some (but not all) companies will agree to file on your behalf.
As always, the best way to get the best rate is to do some comparison shopping. What is the least expensive for you is probably not the least expensive for your neighbor.
That being said, here is a list of popular insurance companies that will file an SR-22 on your behalf: Acceptance, Ameriprise, AssuranceAmerica, Brethren Mutual, Consumers Insurance, Dairyland, Direct General, Esurance, Farm Bureau Financial Services, Farmers, Foremost, Gainsco, GEICO, Good2Go, Grange, Mendota, Mercury, National General, Progressive, SafeAuto, Safeco, Stillwater, The General, Titan, and Victoria.
Virginia Car Insurance FAQs
How do I get the cheapest car insurance coverage in Virginia?
The answer is simple: comparison shop before you buy and comparison shop before you renew. If you’re unfamiliar, comparison shopping is simply looking at the price and features of each insurance policy and company—a task that used to take hours (even days) but is now reduced to minutes by using a comparison website like Insurify. Once you’ve made your decision and purchased your policy, make a follow-up plan. The market is in constant flux, so chances are the cheapest policy now won’t be the cheapest policy in the future. A great practice is to compare insurance quotes when you near the end of your policy, especially if you have some spots on your driving record. Bear in mind that you can run the numbers every day if you want to. And you can almost always easily switch companies even in the middle of your policy without incurring additional fees. Pro-tip: you can set alerts with your Insurify profile to receive an email any time Insurify identifies a lower rate for you.
Which is the best company for Virginia auto insurance?
Determining which is the best auto insurance company in Virginia is entirely up to each individual driver. Drivers who need a tech-savvy company will prefer an insurance provider like Progressive or GEICO, two companies that have done a lot of work developing apps and websites that customers actually enjoy using. For other drivers, different needs will take precedence, including: price, customer service, discount programs, company practices/ethics, and proximity of a local insurance office. In short, the best auto insurance company will be different for everyone. A great way to start is to make a prioritized list of must-haves and nice-to-haves to make the decision process easier.
Does Virginia require moped insurance?
Yes, Virginia requires moped insurance if the vehicle operates over 35 miles per hour or has a motor that displaces more than 50 cubic centimeters (CCs). (This refers to the space inside the pistons; information should be easily accessed in your owner’s manual.) According to the DMV website, mopeds like these are considered motorcycles. As such, owners are expected to comply with insurance and emissions requirements. Drivers operating mopeds under these limits do not need to carry insurance.
Does Virginia have requirements for eScooters?
As humans come up with new, greener ways to transport ourselves, the law has had to catch up. A new law was passed recently to govern these new motorized vehicles. While you don’t currently need insurance for an eScooter, your scooter must comply with a few regulations: Cannot have a maximum speed over 20 mph Must weigh less than 101 pounds Drivers must be 14 years or older As an added note, local governments may have tighter regulations. For example, while Virginia state laws permit eScooters on sidewalks, the cities of Alexandria and Fairfax have rules against this practice. Be sure to check for local regulations.
Virginia DMV Information for New Residents
If you’re moving to Virginia, you’ll need to get a few things to title and register your vehicle—and switch your driver’s license. Luckily, the DMV has a series of videos that clearly explain essential rules and procedures for Virginia residents.
Seriously, check out their YouTube channel because it’s actually useful and, dare we say, funny at the right moments? Plus, it’s hosted by Suzy, who makes you feel right at home as she informs you about titling and registering your vehicle:
Conclusion: The best way to save on car insurance in Virginia
Virginia is for (savings) lovers.
Whether you’re new to the state or a long-time resident, there are many ways to save big on your car insurance policy. The first step is to gather your options and compare car insurance quotes. The next step is to monitor your quotes regularly, so you always know you have the best deal.
Both can be done quickly with the help of Insurify. Start your savings journey today!
Compare Virginia car insurance quotes with Insurify today!
Score savings on car insurance with Insurify