The only thing more beautiful than the sky when the “Lights Are Out” might be your deal on car insurance.
The majestic wonder of the landscape, arguably the freshest seafood on earth, endless outdoor activity, and a strong sense of community are all reasons 750,000 people call Alaska home. All the good makes you forget about the long winters, unending sunlight, and sometimes unnavigable roads.
Before you strap on your bunny boots, warm up the car, and hop in that four-wheel drive, are you getting the best price on car insurance? Here’s our guide to the best and cheapest car insurance quotes in the Last Frontier.
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Alaska
Here are the cheapest auto insurance companies in Alaska for the following user profile: a single, 30-year-old male with a clean driving record who drives a 2012 Honda Accord and pays a $1,000 deductible for the state’s minimum liability insurance. We averaged car insurance rates for the twenty most populous cities in Alaska.
Best Car Insurance Quotes in Alaska
The Insurify Composite Score is calculated by analyzing multiple factors that indicate the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company. Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch; J.D. Power ratings; Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys; mobile app reviews; and user-generated company reviews. The following are the top-rated companies that offer car insurance in Alaska. For the complete list, see Insurify’s best car insurance companies.
Most Popular Car Insurance Companies in Alaska
Insurance commercials are more common than seeing the Alaska state bird, the mosquito, on a summer’s day. No wonder we memorize the slogans. The Insurance Information Institute (III) says these are the top five most popular car insurance companies in Alaska by market share:
- State Farm
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Alaska by City
In a state where the driving distance between cities is measured in hours or flight time, it’s no surprise any two cities can have different prices. Crime rates, population density, and even the weather can affect the cost of your car insurance policy. Here’s a look at how the same driver’s auto insurance quotes vary in each of the five most populated cities in Alaska:
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Alaska by Profile
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in Alaska based on averaged sample rates for four driver profiles that included varied gender, age, driving history, credit, marital status, prior insurance, higher education, employment, and military service.
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Drivers with a DUI
Why drink another glass of alcohol when you can have espresso? A DUI or OUI is operating under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Drinking and driving may cause hefty fines, loss of license, jail sentences, and higher insurance prices for years. Here are the penalties for a first offense:
- Fine up $1,500 to $25,000
- License revocation for a minimum of 90 days
- Anywhere from three days to one year in jail
- Class A misdemeanor
- Possible vehicle forfeiture
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Drivers with a Speeding Ticket
When you see frost on the walls, there’s a power outage, or there’s a moose in the driveway, you might have a reason to run a little late. Please be careful. A speeding ticket can raise your auto insurance rates.
How can you lower your price? If you can’t go by plane or snow machine, then lay off the gas pedal and consider taking a defensive driving course or other driver discount programs to help your budget.
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Drivers with an At-Fault Accident
You might patch up your bumper with duct tape after that fender bender, but your rate won’t be so easy to fix. Think about paying a little extra for accident forgiveness. When you have an accident on your driving history, it’s best to shop around. You may find one company that only looks at the past three years while another goes back five.
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Young Drivers Under 40
Once your birthday cake has fourteen candles, you can get a permit in Alaska. One benefit of growing older is your insurance rates go down. Insurance providers charge new drivers more because they see them as a higher risk. Young drivers should look for every discount possible, including those for good students or completing driving courses.
Alaska State Insurance Laws
State Minimum Auto Insurance Coverage in Alaska
The state of Alaska requires all motor vehicle operators to have proof of insurance available in the car at all times.
The minimum bodily injury liability insurance requirements in Alaska are:
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per accident
Bodily injury coverage protects you by paying for the injuries of anyone you harm in an accident. The minimum coverage limits that Alaska state law requires are $50,000 for the injury or death of a single person involved in a car accident and $100,000 for the injury or death of multiple persons. Insurance providers list this coverage at 50/100, stating the limitations of each minimum. In an accident, liability coverage protects you up to the policy limit. Damages above the policy limit of $100,000 are your responsibility.
The minimum property damage liability insurance requirements in Alaska are:
- $25,000 property damage liability per accident
Property damage liability coverage pays for any property that you damage in an accident. The state of Alaska requires $25,000 for the minimum. You’ll see the collective state minimum listed at 100/50/25. The 25 refers to the property damage liability. Once again, any damages above the $25,000 are your responsibility.
Optional Supplemental Coverage
Bodily injury and property damage liability coverage do not protect damages to your vehicle at all. To protect your car, you must add comprehensive insurance coverage and collision insurance coverage.
Both coverages require you to pay a deductible before the insurance company helps you repair it. Typical deductibles are $500 or $1,000. You can choose a higher deductible to lower your overall car insurance premiums.
When drivers say they have “full coverage,” they’re saying they have liability coverage along with comprehensive coverage and collision coverage. You’ll need full coverage if you have a car loan or lease. People who own their vehicle outright may go with “liability only,” skipping any protection for their car.
Comprehensive insurance coverage pays for physical damage to your vehicle for losses caused by events other than a collision. Sometimes insurance providers label comprehensive as “other than collision” coverage. It covers losses because of animals, falling objects, fire, flood, hail, theft, and vandalism.
Collision insurance coverage pays for physical damage to your vehicle that results from colliding with an object such as a light pole or other cars.
What happens if someone hits you, and they do not have insurance or enough insurance to pay for your damages? Consider that the Insurance Information Institute reports 15.4 percent, or just over one out of seven, Alaska drivers have no insurance. You may want to add uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage to protect yourself.
Uninsured motorist bodily injury pays your medical expenses if you’re injured by a hit-and-run driver or one who has no insurance.
Underinsured motorist bodily injury pays your medical expenses if you’re hit by someone who does not have high enough policy limits to cover your costs.
Medical Payments coverage, or Med Pay, covers you and your passengers’ medical expenses regardless of fault.
Am I Liable If I Cause a Car Accident in Alaska?
Alaska is an at-fault state, meaning the driver who caused the accident pays damages.
The bodily injury liability insurance coverage of the at-fault driver pays for the medical expenses of the other injured parties in a car accident. The property damage liability coverage pays to repair the other driver’s vehicle.
Alaska works on a comparative fault system. That means that after the court determines the percentage of fault, the compensation will match. For example, say someone rear-ends you, and the court rules that the other driver is 90 percent at fault and you’re 10 percent at fault for not signaling. If the damages are $10,000, you’ll receive $9,000.
Texting and Distracted Driving in Alaska
In Alaska, it’s against the law to text while driving, but talking has no state-wide restrictions.
Texting While Driving and Screen Devices:
- The law says you may not use a cellphone or other electronic device to read or type a text message or other non-voice electronic message.
- It’s also against the law to operate a vehicle while any screen device such as a computer, tablet, or television is within full view of the driver.
- Cellphones and other devices used for phone calls or voice communication
- Vehicle audio controls and equipment
- Navigation systems, maps, or GPS
- Rear-view, passenger, or reverse cameras
- Standard violation. A distracted driving violation has a maximum $500 fine.
- Injuries. If a driver injures someone else, the driver can face up to a class C felony, a maximum fine of $50,000 and up to five years in prison.
- Serious Injuries. If a driver causes serious physical injuries to another person, it becomes a class B felony with a maximum fine of $100,000 and up to ten years in jail.
- Deaths. If a driver causes the death of another person, it becomes a class A felony with a maximum fine of $250,000 and up to 20 years in prison.
- All distracted driving violations add two demerit points to the vehicle operator’s driving record.
SR-22 Insurance in Alaska
Has the state suspended or revoked your license, and you now need an SR-22 filing? Alaska may require an SR-22 if you’ve been convicted of a moving violation, driving without insurance, a DUI, OUI, or other serious offense.
Many insurance providers in the state will file the SR-22 on your behalf, including Ameriprise, Dairyland, Esurance, Farmers, Foremost, GEICO, The General, National General, Progressive, and Safeco.
Legal Alcohol Limits in Alaska
In Alaska, if you’re:
- The age of 21 or over, it’s against the law to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher.
- Under 21, it’s against the law to drive with a BAC of .02 or higher.
- Driving a commercial vehicle, it’s against the law to drive with a BAC of .04 or higher.
If you refuse a chemical test, the state could suspend your license for 90 days.
What Are the Seat Belt and Child Passenger Laws in Alaska?
- Alaska law states that all drivers and passengers aged 16 or older must be a seat belt. Children under age 16 must be in an appropriate seat belt or child restraint device.
- Alaska’s seat belt laws are primary, which means law enforcement can stop you solely for violating the seat belt law.
- The fine for a seat belt or child passenger safety seat violation is $15.
- Child Passenger Safety Law:
- Children less than 1 year of age or weighing less than 20 lbs. must be secured in a rear-facing child safety seat.
- Children ages 1 to 4 and weighing over 20 lbs. must be secured in a car seat.
- Children ages 5 to 7 or less than 4’9” tall and weighing between 20 and 65 lbs. must be secured in a booster seat or other car seat that meets federal regulation.
- Children ages 8 to 15 must be secured in a seat belt.
Alaska Auto Insurance FAQs
What happens if I get caught driving uninsured in Alaska?
The penalties in Alaska can be harsh. If you get caught, you can be fined $500. Your license will be suspended for 90 days on a first offense, one year on a second, and three years for an at-fault accident. You also must maintain an SR-22 filing a year for each offense.
How is fault assigned after a car accident in Alaska?
Alaska is an at-fault state, not a no-fault state. In Alaska, the person responsible for the accident pays for medical expenses and damages. In a no-fault state, the insurance provider pays legitimate claims regardless of fault.
Does my car insurance cover hitting a moose, elk, or other animals?
Yes, your comprehensive coverage protects you if you hit an animal. You must first pay the deductible. If you have liability only, you must pay for repairs yourself. On the bright side, you’ve already tenderized dinner.
Who has the cheapest car insurance in Alaska?
The best way to find the cheapest car insurance for Alaska drivers is to compare quotes from the insurance providers available in your area. Find a car insurance quote comparison tool like Insurify to compare up to 10+ real quotes for your driver profile and unlock savings and car insurance discounts. Rates can vary based on your driving history and personal profile, but you should be able to find a competitive price. Insurify provides the cheapest car insurance quotes and companies in your area in just a few minutes.
Alaska DMV Information
The Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has 30 offices and adds another 14 business partner locations across the state. They all have different hours and day of the week availability. You’ll want to check on the website for the most up-to-date schedule. The DMVs are walk-in-friendly, and you can schedule an appointment online to skip the line.
The online portal lets you forget the drive and amongst other services you can:
- Buy personalized plates
- Change your address
- Get your driving record
- Make a notice of sale pending
- Renew your driver’s license, ID card, or vehicle registration
- Schedule a driving test
Registering your car if you’re new to Alaska
You must apply for registration within 10 days of taking a job or entering state. Take the following to the DMV:
- Current out-of-state registration
- Title, if there’s a lienholder
- Application for Title and Registration
- Payment for fees and (taxes in certain municipalities and boroughs)
- Proof of Insurance
If you’ve been in Alaska for over 90 days and want to transfer your out-of-state license you must go to a DMV and:
- Surrender your out-of-state driver’s license
- Pass a written knowledge test and vision test
- If you’re under 21, pass an alcohol and drug awareness test when you reach that age.
- Provide the following paperwork:
- One primary document as proof of your legal name, citizenship, and date of birth, such as a birth certificate or passport (if you’ve change your name, provide supporting documents such as a marriage license, divorce decree, or court order)
- One secondary document to verify your primary one such as your:
- Employee ID
- Health insurance card
- IRS or tax form
- Medical records
- Military dependent identification
- Out-of-state permit or license
- Pilot’s license
- School ID
- U.S. military ID for active duty, retiree, or reservist
- Two proofs of residential address, such as:
- Alaska voter registration card
- Alaska title or registration (issued at least 30 days before application)
- Canceled check or bank statement
- Letter from employer on letterhead verifying your address
- Medical Assistance card
- Mortgage or rental documents
- Paycheck stub
- Public Assistance card
- Utility bill
- Your social security card, or another government-issued document that shows both your name and social security number from the U.S. Department of Treasury, Social Security Administration, or Internal Revenue Service.
If your license is from a country other than Canada or a U.S. Territory, you must also pass a $15 road test.
How to Get the Cheapest Car Insurance in Alaska
Forget Texas. Everything’s bigger in Alaska…except the price of car insurance.
Insurify and savings go together like the fat and berries in Akutaq. We let you compare the best car insurance rates, coverage options, and companies personalized for your price point. Get free, cheap car insurance quotes today on America’s best-rated auto insurance comparison site.
Browse, Compare, Discover with Insurify today!
Score savings on car insurance with Insurify