Cheap DUI Car Insurance in Maryland:
Costs and Quotes (2021)

Browse. Compare. Discover. Let Insurify find the best car insurance deals for drivers with a DUI in Maryland

Enter your zipcode to get started

Facebook following

24,000

Followers

Shopper Approved

4.8 Rating

2,700 Reviews

12 Million

Quotes


Best DUI Insurance Companies in Maryland (2021)

For drivers with a DUI or DWI offense in Maryland, it’s important that you evaluate all of your potential insurance options to ensure you are finding the best rate. Comparing the right insurance companies after this incident will allow you to get the best possible insurance rate after a DUI.

To simplify comparing companies, Insurify has analyzed rates from top insurance providers in Maryland. The following are the best insurance rates from carriers that offer car insurance for drivers with a DUI in Maryland.

DUI Car Insurance Costs in Maryland

In Maryland, a DUI or DWI offense will on average have drivers paying $442 per month and $5,304 per year for their car insurance rates.

Compared to drivers with a clean driving record, that is on average an 51% increase on car insurance rates for drivers with a DUI. So in order, to find an affordable monthly rate after a DUI, comparison tools like Insurify become essential to finding the best rate.

$293
$442
Avg. Monthly Cost - No ViolationAvg. Monthly Cost - After DUI
$149 ▴Monthly Impact of DUI on Rates
50.85% ▴Percent Bad DUI Impact Rates

Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.

How Much Does a DUI Impact Car Insurance Rates in Maryland?

Though you agreed to a specific rate when you established your policy, the amount you pay in premiums can climb due to your mistakes. Insurance companies charge high-risk drivers (like those with DUIs) increased amounts to make up for these losses and remain profitable.

Premiums for drivers with DUIs on their record average out to $442 per month. Compare notes with those who don't have a DUI, and you'll find that they pay $149 less than that. What's a good incentive for not getting behind the wheel while intoxicated? Your insurance could end up costing you 51 percent more!

Average Percent Increase After DUI
$293$44250.85%

What Are the Average Car Insurance Prices After a DUI in Maryland?

Need some insurance advice? Always shop around for better rates when you experience a significant life change. A DUI definitely falls within this category. Because monthly increases can send you reeling, knowing what you probably should be paying now can help. First, know that Maryland ranks as the 15th most expensive state for insurance after a DUI. But you aren't alone. A lot of people are paying for this same mistake. You'll find that average rates for those convicted of this offense are $442.

Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)
$44215th

How Long Is the Lookback Period for a DUI in Maryland?

Unfortunately, many people who have a DUI don't learn their lesson the first time and repeat the offense. A driver may have a first, second, and even third offense on their record. But how far back does a state look at DUI offenses to determine a penalty? In Maryland, the lookback period for DUI offenses is five years.

This means that if there are any other DUI offenses within five years of a new DUI offense, the previous offenses will count. Keep a clean record for five years in Maryland, and the DUI offense will no longer be considered as far as your driving record is concerned. Motorists who are first-time offenders and those with DUI offenses that are over 10 years old can ask for a probation before judgment (PBJ) to avoid adding a first offense to their criminal record.

Maryland DUI Penalties

As in most states, DUI-convicted drivers in Maryland face both criminal and administrative (having to do with their driver's license) consequences. Criminally, first offenders face up to a $1,000 fine and one year in jail. Those convicted of a DUI a second time face a $2,000 fine and up to two years in jail (with a mandatory minimum of five days).

Additionally, 12 points are assessed on your Maryland driving record for each DUI conviction. First offenders can lose their license for up to six months, while those with a second conviction can lose their license for up to one year. Finally, anyone convicted of a DUI must enroll in Maryland's Ignition Interlock Program.

Top Auto Insurance Companies

Compare Top Auto Insurance Companies

Use Insurify for all of your car insurance comparison needs! Compare and connect directly with the top insurance companies to find the best rates as well as the most personalized discounts and coverage options.

Insurify’s network includes over 200 insurance companies throughout the U.S. who can work with you to get you the right auto insurance policy at the cheapest price.

See All Auto Insurance Companies

Insurify Rate Comparison Methodology

The car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations on this page are derived from Insurify’s proprietary database of over 4 million car insurance applications from ZIP codes across the United States. Insurify’s data science team performs a comprehensive analysis of the various factors car insurance providers take into account while setting rates to provide readers insight into how car insurance quotes are priced.