For drivers with a DUI or DWI offense in Kansas, it’s important that you evaluate all of your potential insurance options to ensure you are finding the best rate. Comparing the right insurance companies after this incident will allow you to get the best possible insurance rate after a DUI.
To simplify comparing companies, Insurify has analyzed rates from top insurance providers in Kansas. The following are the best insurance rates from carriers that offer car insurance for drivers with a DUI in Kansas.
In Kansas, a DUI or DWI offense will on average have drivers paying $380 per month and $4,560 per year for their car insurance rates.
Compared to drivers with a clean driving record, that is on average an 104% increase on car insurance rates for drivers with a DUI. So in order, to find an affordable monthly rate after a DUI, comparison tools like Insurify become essential to finding the best rate.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
After a DUI in Kansas, drivers will see their rates skyrocket by 104 percent on average.
Why do rates change? Insurance companies rate a DUI driving offense riskier than almost every driving mistake out there. To recoup the costs of future claims, insurance companies pass rate hikes on to these motorists.
How much will your bill be? Though your increase may differ, rates for drivers like you go up by $194 on average. Compared to a driver with a perfect record paying $186, your price for insurance post-DUI could land near $380.
|Average Percent Increase After DUI|
You may be wondering how much your car insurance prices will change after a DUI. While the only way to get an exact number is to compare prices yourself, averages can give you a good idea.
In Kansas, premiums for drivers after a DUI average out to $380. To give you a little more insight, Kansas ranks 23rd when it comes to the most expensive states for car insurance after a DUI.
|Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
How long will you have to look over your shoulder in Kansas after a DUI? In the eyes of the court, the answer is 10 years. When considering drunk driving offenses, the state "looks back" over a driving record for that long and counts the existing DUIs against you. Sometimes, penalties are determined by the length of time between offenses within these 10 years.
Remember that your DMV record and your criminal record are separate.
Consequences for DUI driving in Kansas are stiff. Though the state spells out the penalties for each offense clearly, they hand down enhanced penalties under certain conditions. For example, if you have a child under 14 in the car, jail time is increased by one month. This counts for first-time offenders as well.
First-time offenders face up to 48 hours in prison, 100 hours of community service, up to $1,000 in fines, license suspension for up to 30 days (and further restrictions thereafter), attendance in an alcohol and drug education/treatment program, and vehicle impoundment.
Use Insurify for all of your car insurance comparison needs! Compare and connect directly with the top insurance companies to find the best rates as well as the most personalized discounts and coverage options.
Insurify’s network includes over 200 insurance companies throughout the U.S. who can work with you to get you the right auto insurance policy at the cheapest price.
The car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations on this page are derived from Insurify’s proprietary database of over 4 million car insurance applications from ZIP codes across the United States. Insurify’s data science team performs a comprehensive analysis of the various factors car insurance providers take into account while setting rates to provide readers insight into how car insurance quotes are priced.