Car insurance savings for all of North Dakota’s drivers and Rough Riders.
Hills, buttes, and craggy Badlands challenge the state’s 750,000 residents to take an unpaved road to the great outdoors. After mountain biking Maah Daah Hey Trail, ice fishing at Devil’s Lake, or enjoying everything frigid and frosty—why not hop in the car for some food?
Before you get a slice of New York-style thin-crust from Spicy Pie, a pistachio-crusted lamb rack from Mezzaluna, or day boat sea scallops from Maxwells—are you getting the best deal on car insurance?
Here’s our guide to the best and cheapest car insurance quotes in the Peace Garden State.
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in North Dakota
Here are the cheapest auto insurance companies in North Dakota for the following user profile: a single, 30-year-old male with a clean driving record who drives a 2012 Honda Accord and pays a $1,000 deductible for the state’s minimum liability insurance. We averaged car insurance rates for the twenty most populous cities in North Dakota.
Best Car Insurance Quotes in North Dakota
The Insurify Composite Score is calculated by analyzing multiple factors that indicate the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company. Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch; J.D. Power ratings; Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys; mobile app reviews; and user-generated company reviews. The following are the top-rated companies that offer car insurance in North Dakota. For the complete list, see Insurify’s best car insurance companies.
Most Popular Car Insurance Companies in North Dakota
It seems like every other commercial is for an insurance provider. No wonder we memorize the slogans. The Insurance Information Institute (III) says these are the top five most popular car insurance companies in North Dakota by market share:
- State Farm
- American Family
- Nodak Mutual
- QBE Insurance
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in North Dakota by City
Yes, any two towns might be a sunflower patch apart. But crime rates, population density, and even weather differences can affect the price of your car insurance policy. Here’s a look at how the same driver’s auto insurance quotes vary in each of the five most populated cities in North Dakota:
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in North Dakota by Profile
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in North Dakota based on averaged sample rates for four driver profiles that included varied gender, age, driving history, credit, marital status, prior insurance, higher education, employment, and military service
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Drivers with a DUI
A few too many Sodbuster Porters can have life-changing consequences. A DWI or DUI is driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Drinking and driving may cause hefty fines, loss of license, jail sentences, and higher insurance prices for years. Here are the penalties for a first offense:
- Fine of $500 to $750
- 91- to 180-day license suspension depending on blood alcohol content (BAC)
- Two-day imprisonment if BAC is .16 or greater
- Class B Misdemeanor
- Addiction Evaluation
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Drivers with a Speeding Ticket
You hit the snooze one more time. And now you’re late. Be careful. A speeding ticket can raise your auto insurance rates.
How can you lower your price? Lay off the gas pedal and consider taking a defensive driving course or other driver discount programs to help your budget.
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Drivers with an At-Fault Accident
Maybe it was a fender bender, but your rates will still rise. Think about paying a little extra for accident forgiveness. When you have an accident on your driving history, it’s best to shop around. You may find one company that only looks at the past three years while another goes back five.
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Young Drivers Under 40
Putting more candles on your birthday cake? Surprise. One benefit of growing older is your insurance rates go down. Insurance providers charge new drivers more because they see them as a higher risk. Young drivers should look for every discount possible, including those for good students or completing driving courses.
North Dakota State Insurance Laws
State Minimum Auto Insurance Coverage in North Dakota
The state of North Dakota requires all motor vehicle operators to have proof of insurance available in the car at all times. It accepts both written and electronic documentation.
The minimum bodily injury liability insurance requirements in North Dakota are:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
Bodily injury coverage protects you by paying for the injuries of anyone you harm in an accident. The minimum coverage limits that North Dakota state law requires are $25,000 for the injury or death of a single person involved in a car accident and $50,000 for the injury or death of multiple persons. Insurance providers list this coverage at 25/50, stating the limitations of each minimum. In an accident, liability coverage protects you up to the policy limit. Damages above the policy limit of $50,000 are your responsibility.
The minimum property damage liability insurance requirements in North Dakota are:
- $25,000 property damage liability per accident
Property damage liability coverage pays for any property that you damage in an accident. The state of North Dakota requires $25,000 for the minimum. You’ll see the collective state minimum listed at 25/50/25. The second 25 refers to the property damage liability. Once again, any damages above the $25,000 are your responsibility.
- $30,000 personal injury protection (PIP) per person per accident
North Dakota is a no-fault state, so Personal Injury Protection (also called no-fault insurance) is mandatory coverage for all drivers. North Dakota PIP covers you, your immediate family, and your passengers for economic losses, medical costs, and death benefits regardless of fault. The state sets $30,000 for the minimum coverage requirements.
What happens if someone hits you, and they do not have insurance or enough insurance to pay for your damages? Consider that the Insurance Information Institute reports 6.8 percent or just over one out of fifteen, North Dakota drivers have no insurance. The state requires uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage:
- $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury per accident
Uninsured motorist bodily injury pays your medical expenses if you’re injured by a hit-and-run driver or one who has no insurance.
Underinsured motorist bodily injury pays your medical expenses if you’re hit by someone who does not have high enough policy limits to cover your costs.
Optional Supplemental Coverage
Bodily injury and property damage liability coverage do not protect damages to your vehicle at all. To protect your car, you must add comprehensive insurance coverage and collision insurance coverage.
Both coverages require you to pay a deductible before the insurance company helps you repair it. Typical deductibles are $500 or $1,000. You can choose a higher deductible to lower your overall car insurance premiums.
When drivers say they have “full coverage,” they’re saying they have liability coverage along with comprehensive coverage and collision coverage. You’ll need full coverage if you have a car loan or lease. People who own their vehicle outright may go with “liability only,” skipping any protection for their car.
Comprehensive insurance coverage pays for physical damage to your vehicle for losses caused by events other than a collision. Sometimes insurance providers label comprehensive as “other than collision” coverage. It covers losses because of animals, falling objects, fire, flood, hail, theft, and vandalism.
Collision insurance coverage pays for physical damage to your vehicle that results from colliding with an object such as a light pole or other cars.
Is North Dakota a No-Fault State?
Yes, North Dakota is a no-fault state. No-fault states require drivers to file a claim with their own insurance company regardless of fault after an accident. All drivers must buy Personal Injury Protection (PIP).
In the 1970s, states started adopting no-fault laws to quicken the payment process for routine injuries and lower the overall cost of insurance claims. Typical PIP claims do not give non-monetary damages or “pain and suffering.” In North Dakota, those benefits are only available when you’ve suffered medical expenses that exceed $2,500 or serious and permanent disfigurement that lasts over 60 days.
No matter what company you choose, Insurify will make sure you meet the state’s no-fault insurance requirements.
Texting and Driving and Distracted Driving in North Dakota
North Dakota law prohibits all vehicle operators from texting on a cellphone while driving a vehicle unless using a wireless or hands-free device. Talking has no restrictions unless you’re under age 18.
Texting While Driving:
- The law says you may not read, send, or compose a text message on any electronic communication device.
- You can be ticketed even if you’re stopped at a stop sign or red light.
- A texting violation is a $100 fine in North Dakota.
Texting While Driving Exceptions: Using a device….
- To input, read, or select information on the navigation system or GPS
- To enter, read, or select text necessary to start or receive a call
- To get emergency help
- To operate in hands-free mode
Texting and Talking for Underage Drivers:
- Motorists under age 18 are prohibited from using any electronic communication device to talk or text even in hands-free mode.
- An underage talking or texting violation is a $20 fine. Drivers under 16 may also get four demerit points on their licenses.
Texting and Talking Exceptions: Using a device…
- To prevent the committing of a crime.
- To contact emergency services when there’s a reasonable belief that life or safety is in jeopardy.
SR-22 Insurance in North Dakota
Has the state suspended or revoked your license, and you now need an SR-22 filing? North Dakota may require an SR-22 if you’ve been convicted of a moving violation, driving without insurance, a DWI, DUI, or other serious offense.
Many insurance providers in the state will file the SR-22 on your behalf, including Dairyland, Esurance, Farmers, Foremost, GEICO, The General, National General, Grinnell Mutual, North Star, Progressive, Safeco, and Victoria.
Legal Alcohol Limits in North Dakota
In North Dakota, if you’re:
- The age of 21 or over, it’s against the law to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher.
- Under 21, it’s against the law to drive with a BAC of .02 or higher.
- Driving a commercial vehicle, it’s against the law to drive with a BAC of .04 or higher.
If you refuse a chemical test, the state could suspend your license between 180 days and three years.
What Are the Seat Belt and Child Passenger Laws in North Dakota?
- North Dakota law states that all front-seat occupants and those younger than 18 must be properly secured in a seat belt or child safety restraint.
- North Dakota’s seat belt laws are secondary, which means law enforcement can’t stop you solely for violating the seat belt law.
- Children Passenger Safety Law:
- Children under age eight are required to ride in a child restraint (that is a car seat or booster seat).
- Children younger than eight but at least 4’9” tall may ride with a correctly used seat belt
- Children ages eight through 17 must be properly secured in a seat belt or child restraint.
- The penalty for a violation is $25 and one point against the driver’s license.
North Dakota Auto Insurance FAQs
What happens if I get caught driving uninsured in North Dakota?
The penalties in North Dakota can be harsh. If you get caught, you can be fined between $150 and $1,000. You’ll be charged with a Class B misdemeanor. Your license will be suspended until you provide proof of insurance. You must pay up to $80 in reinstatement and other fees. You also must maintain an SR-22 filing for one year.
How is fault assigned after a car accident in North Dakota?
North Dakota is a no-fault state. That means that your own insurance company pays for your expenses, including medical costs and work loss regardless of fault or who caused the accident.
Does car insurance cover flood damage in North Dakota?
Before you sandbag for you and the neighbors, you’ll be happy to know your comprehensive coverage protects your vehicle. You still must pay a deductible before any coverage applies, but you are protected.
Who has the cheapest car insurance in North Dakota?
The best way to find the cheapest car insurance for North Dakota drivers is to compare quotes from the insurance providers available in your area. Find a car insurance quote comparison tool like Insurify to compare up to 10+ real quotes for your driver profile and unlock savings and car insurance discounts. Rates can vary based on your driving history and personal profile, but you should be able to find a competitive price. Insurify provides the cheapest car insurance quotes and companies in your area in just a few minutes.
North Dakota DMV Information
The North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) has twenty drivers license sites (DLSs) to serve the state. They all have different hours and date availability. You’ll want to check on the website for the most up-to-date schedule. The DLSs are walk-in-friendly, and you can schedule a driving test appointment online.
The online lets you skip the drive and amongst other services you can:
- Change your address
- Check driver’s license status
- Download your driving record
- Pay a reinstatement fee
- Register as an organ donor
- Replace, renew, or update your driver’s license, permit, or ID card.
- Schedule a driving test
Registering your car if you’re new to North Dakota
To register your vehicle, you must take the following to the DLS:
- Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Motor Vehicle
- Out-of-state title
- Name and Mailing Address of Lienholder, loan account number if financed
- Copy of out-of-state Registration
- Payment for Excise Tax, license fees, $5 title transfer, and $1.50 abandoned disposal fee.
You must get a new North Dakota license within 150 days of establishing residency by going to a DLS with:
- Out-of-state driver’s license
- One proof of identity, such as a birth certificate or passport (if your name has been changed, provide supporting documents such as a marriage license, divorce decree, or court order)
- Two proofs of residency, such as a government-issued tax statement, mortgage, lease, utility bill, homeowners insurance, college transcripts, pay stub, or vehicle insurance policy.
You must then complete a vision screening. You may be required to pass written and road tests, but your driver’s license examiner will determine this.
How to Get the Cheapest Car Insurance in North Dakota
Leave the blues to Johnny Lang because you’ll save so much green on car insurance, you’ll want to sing in the Medora Musical.
Insurify and savings go together like shooting and skiing at a biathlon. We let you compare the best car insurance rates, coverage options, and companies personalized for your price point. Get free, cheap car insurance quotes today on America’s best-rated auto insurance comparison site.
Browse, Compare, Discover with Insurify today!
Score savings on car insurance with Insurify