Save enough green on your car insurance to make St. Patrick proud.
It doesn’t matter if you’re doing doughnuts after going to Dunkies, trying to find a way out of a rotary, or enjoying a weekend at the Cape.
Wherever you’re driving in Massachusetts, you can make sure your rate is wicked awesome. Here’s our guide to the best and cheapest car insurance quotes in the Bay State.
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Massachusetts
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in Massachusetts for the following user profile: a single, 30-year-old male with a clean driving record who drives a 2012 Honda Accord and pays a $1,000 deductible for the state’s minimum liability insurance. We averaged auto insurance rates for the twenty most populous cities in Massachusetts.
Best Car Insurance Quotes in Massachusetts
The Insurify Composite Score is calculated by analyzing multiple factors that indicate the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company. Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch; J.D. Power ratings; Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys; mobile app reviews; and user-generated company reviews. The following are the top-rated companies that offer car insurance in Massachusetts. For the complete list, see Insurify’s best car insurance companies.
Insurance Company Score Quotes
GEICO 87 $89/month
Allstate 86 $74/month
Travelers 81 $166/month
Liberty Mutual 80 $157/month
Most Popular Car Insurance Companies in Massachusetts
You can almost hear some of these insurance providers’ slogans in your head. The Insurance Information Institute (III) says these are the top five most popular car insurance companies in Massachusetts by market share:
- Liberty Mutual
- Safety Insurance
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Massachusetts by City
Yes, any two cities may be close, but their insurance rates could be worlds apart. Crime rates, population density, and even weather differences can affect the price of your insurance policy. Here’s a look at how the same driver’s auto insurance quotes vary in each of the five most populated cities in Massachusetts:
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Massachusetts by Profile
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in Massachusetts based on averaged sample rates for four driver profiles that included varied gender, age, driving history, credit, marital status, prior insurance, higher education, employment, and military service
Cheap Car Insurance for Drivers with a DUI
It’s the difference that one decision can make. A DUI, DWI, or OUI is operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Drinking and driving may cause hefty fines, loss of license, jail sentences, and higher insurance prices for years. Here are the penalties for a first offense:
- Fine of $500 to $5,000.
- A one-year license suspension
- Up to 2.5 years in jail
- Up to one year of probation
- An alcohol education course and up to 30 days of community service
Insurance Company Quotes
State Farm $58/month
Plymouth Rock $75/month
Cheap Car Insurance Drivers with a Speeding Ticket
You missed your alarm, and now you’re running late. Be careful. A speeding ticket can raise your insurance rates.
How can you lower your price? Let the other drivers put the pedal to the metal while you go the speed limit and consider signing up for a defensive driving course or other driver discount programs to help your budget.
Insurance Company Quotes
State Farm $38/month
Ace American $58/month
Preferred Mutual $64/month
Cheap Car Insurance for Drivers with an At-Fault Accident
It may surprise policyholders that even a fender bender can bump up their rate. Think about paying a little extra for accident forgiveness. When you have an accident on your driving history, it’s best to shop around. You may find one company that only looks at the past three years while another goes back five.
Insurance Company Quotes
State Farm $50/month
Plymouth Rock $74/month
Ace American $77/month
Cheap Car Insurance for Young Drivers Under 40
There’s at least one benefit to getting older. Your insurance rates go down. Insurance providers charge new drivers more because they see them as a higher risk. Young drivers should look for every discount possible, including those for good students or completing driving courses.
Insurance Company Quotes
State Farm $21/month
Ace American $26/month
Preferred Mutual $33/month
Cheap Car Insurance for Foreign Drivers
If you plan to drive legally in Massachusetts, then you want to do your hard work before you make the trip. Massachusetts requires a valid driver’s license from your home country.
The Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) states you must have an International Driving Permit (IDP) if your license is not in English. You get your IDP before leaving your home country.
Along with the driver’s license and IDP, you also need insurance to drive in Massachusetts. If you’re planning to stay for the long term, then you want to buy traditional car insurance. To find the cheapest car insurance quotes, use Insurify to compare multiple policies at once.
Massachusetts State Insurance Laws
State Minimum Car Insurance Coverage in Massachusetts
The state of Massachusetts requires all motor vehicle operators to have proof of insurance available in the car at all times.
The minimum bodily injury liability insurance requirements in Massachusetts are:
- $20,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $40,000 bodily injury liability per accident
Bodily injury coverage protects you by paying for the injuries of anyone you harm in an accident. The minimum coverage limits Massachusetts state law requires are $20,000 for the injury or death of a single person involved in a car accident and $40,000 for the injury or death of multiple persons. Insurance providers list this coverage at 20/40, stating the limitations of each minimum. In an accident, liability coverage protects you up to the policy limit. Damages above the policy limit of $40,000 are your responsibility.
The minimum property damage liability insurance requirements in Massachusetts are:
$5,000 property damage liability per accident
Property damage liability coverage pays for any property that you damage in an accident. The state of Massachusetts requires $5,000 for the minimum. You’ll see the collective state minimum listed at 20/40/5. The 5 refers to the property damage liability. Once again, any damages above the $5,000 are your responsibility.
- $8,000 personal injury protection (PIP) per person per accident
Massachusetts is a no-fault state, so personal injury protection (also called No-Fault) is mandatory coverage for all drivers. Massachusetts PIP covers you, your immediate family, and your passengers for economic losses, medical costs, and death benefits regardless of fault. The state sets $8,000 for the minimum coverage requirements.
What happens if a driver hits you without insurance? The state requires uninsured motorist coverage:
- $20,000 uninsured motorist bodily per person
- $40,000 uninsured motorist bodily per accident
Uninsured motorists bodily injury pays your medical expenses if you’re injured by a hit-and-run driver or one who has no insurance.
Optional Supplemental Coverage
Bodily injury and property damage liability coverage do not pay for damages to your car. To protect your vehicle, you must add comprehensive insurance coverage and collision insurance coverage.
Both coverages require you to pay a deductible before the insurance company helps you fix it. Typical deductibles are $500 or $1,000. Choosing a higher deductible lowers your overall car insurance premiums.
When people say they have “full coverage,” they’re saying they have the liability coverage along with comprehensive coverage and collision coverage. You’ll need full coverage if you have a car loan or lease. People who own their vehicle outright may go with “liability-only,” skipping any protection for their car.
Comprehensive insurance coverage pays for physical damage to your vehicle for losses caused by events other than a collision. Sometimes insurance providers label comprehensive as “other than collision” coverage. It covers losses because of animals, falling objects, fire, flood, hail, theft, and vandalism.Collision insurance coverage pays for physical damage to your vehicle that results from colliding with an object such as other cars or a utility pole. The state requires you to have uninsured motorist bodily injury, but sometimes the other driver doesn’t have enough insurance to cover your damages. For that, you’ll need underinsured motorist coverage.
Underinsured motorist bodily injury pays your medical expenses if you’re hit by someone who does not have high enough auto insurance policy limits to cover your costs.
Is Massachusetts a No-Fault State?
Yes, Massachusetts is a no-fault state. No-fault states require drivers to file a claim with their own insurance company regardless of fault after an accident. All drivers must buy PIP.
In the 1970s, states started adopting these laws to quicken the payment process for routine injuries and lower the overall cost of insurance claims. Typical PIP claims do not give non-monetary damages or “pain and suffering.” You can sue the other driver outside the PIP claim if:
- Your injury is at least $2,000 in medical expenses, or
- You have suffered a fractured bone, severe and permanent disfigurement, or substantial loss of sight or hearing.
No matter what company you choose, Insurify will make sure you meet the state’s no-fault insurance requirements.
Texting and Driving and Distracted Driving in Massachusetts
Massachusetts prohibits all vehicle operators from using a handheld device or cell phone capable of accessing the Internet to send, compose, or read an electronic message while driving a vehicle.
Penalties for texting while driving:
- $100 for the first violation
- $250 for the second violation
- $500 for a third or subsequent violation
There are no restrictions for driving while talking on a cell phone unless you’re under 18 or operating a vehicle for public transportation such as a bus. Exceptions include an accident or a disabled vehicle or a medical, police, or fire emergency.
Penalties for drivers under 18:
- $100 fine and 60-day license suspension for a first offense, and the operator must complete a driver’s education course
- $250 fine and 180-day license suspension for the second offense
- $500 fine and one-year license suspension for the third offense
Public transportation drivers violating the law face a $500 penalty.
SR-22 Insurance in Mississippi
Has the state suspended or revoked your license, and you now need an SR-22 filing? Massachusetts may require an SR-22 if you’ve been convicted of a moving violation, driving without insurance, a DUI, DWI, OUI, or other serious offense.
Many insurance providers in the state will file the SR-22 on your behalf, including Dairyland, Esurance, Farmers, Foremost, Geico, The General, National General, Merchants, Occidental, Progressive, Safeco, Safety Insurance, and Victoria.
Massachusetts Driving Facts
Legal Alcohol Limits
In Massachusetts, if you’re:
- 21 or over, it’s against the law to drive with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or more.
- Under 21, against the law to drive with a blood alcohol concentration of .02 or more.
- Driving a commercial vehicle, it’s against the law to drive with a blood alcohol concentration of .04 or more.
Refusing a chemical test results in 180-day license revocation.
What Are the Seat Belt and Child Passenger Laws?
- The law requires every person in a motor vehicle to wear a safety belt or child restraint.
- Children under the age of 8 and less than 57 inches tall must be in a booster seat or car seat.
- Massachusetts’s seat belt laws are secondary, which means law enforcement can’t stop you solely for violating the seat belt laws.
- The penalty for a violation is a $25 fine.
Massachusetts DMV Information
Massachusetts RMV has several locations and partners with AAA to serve the state. You can check for the nearest location here. The DMV is walk-in friendly, but you must schedule a road test ahead of time. The online portal at MyRMV lets you do over 40 transactions, including:
- Canceling your registration
- Changing your address
- Checking your registration status
- Paying a citation
- Renewing your license
- Renewing your registration
If you’re new to the state:
You can start registering your vehicle here. You’ll need:
- Proof of insurance
- Proof of ownership (certificate of title or registration from the previous state)
- Correct payment
You can start exchanging your out-of-state license here. The portal will help you organize the documents you need, and then you can go to the RMV.
With all the green you’ll be saving on car insurance, you’ll always be safe from any pinches and ready for that Celtics game.
You can get the best rates, coverage options, and companies personalized for your price point. Get a free quote with auto insurance comparison site Insurify.
Browse, Compare, Discover with Insurify today!
Score savings on car insurance with Insurify