There is no upside to getting behind the wheel after you've been drinking. Not only is it against the law, it's dangerous. If you were to get pulled over while intoxicated, you would be charged with driving under the influence (DUI). Sadly, that's the best-case scenario if you're caught drinking and driving. There's also the possibility that you injure yourself or someone else. If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 or higher, you're too drunk to drive in Delaware.
Driving under the influence isn't just illegal and dangerous, it's expensive. A DUI charge typically comes with fines and legal fees. You can also plan to pay more for car insurance. Insurers assess the risk they are taking on when they cover a driver. If you have a DUI on your driving record, that's an indicator that you're a high-risk policyholder, and insurance companies will raise your rates to protect themselves.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
A DUI charge can show up in almost every part of your life—your driving record, financial statements, relationships, and work life. Your legal fees and fines can add up quickly—on top of the higher insurance rates you're going to have to pay after your DUI in Delaware.
Usually, the cleaner your driving record is, the lower your car insurance premium will be. In Delaware for example, drivers without a DUI on their driving record pay $306 less per month in car insurance premiums than those who have a DUI conviction. That means a moment of bad judgment can increase your insurance rates almost 99 percent, to $616. A price jump like that should make anyone reconsider driving after they were drinking.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
You will still be able to get car insurance after a DUI charge, but it'll most likely cost more than your previous premium. American Family Insurance ($282.39 per month) and The General ($371.23) are two of the better insurance options after getting a DUI in Delaware.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|American Family Insurance||$282|
Your car insurance rate is based on different factors and circumstances. However, most Delaware drivers with a DUI conviction pay $616.18 to remain insured. This makes Delaware the fourth most expensive state for insurance after receiving a DUI.
Be sure to take your time when you compare auto insurance rates after getting a DUI in Delaware. It's also important to look at more than just prices. See if any of the insurance companies you're comparing offer discounts for bundling multiple products with them. Every dollar you can save counts after you get a DUI.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
A lookback period is how long a DUI remains on a driver's record. In Delaware, a DUI sentence remains on your driving record for at least five years. A second DUI has a 10-year lookback period, while third and subsequent DUIs have lifetime lookback periods, which would yield a more severe penalty.
It's imperative to maintain a clean driving record after you've been charged with a DUI. This is especially true in Delaware, where a first-time offense drives up your car insurance rates significantly. Additional DUIs, or traffic violations in general, would only make matters worse. If you make good driving decisions, you might see your car insurance rates drop over time.
First-time DUI offenders in Delaware could face up to a year in jail, have to pay between $500 and $1,500 in fines, and have their license revoked for 12 months. Additionally, first-time offenders have to take part in the Ignition Interlock Device Program.
DUI first-time offenders under the age of 21 will face driver's license revocation for two months. If the underage driver doesn't have a license, they will face $200 for the first offense and between $400 and $1,000 for each subsequent offense.