How much car insurance do you need in Hartford?
The state of Connecticut requires you to carry both liability insurance and uninsured motorist insurance in order to legally drive. The state sets required minimum amounts but encourages drivers to purchase policies with higher limits.
Hartford drivers could face additional risk from flooding of the Connecticut River, which flows through the heart of downtown. The city is also prone to property damage from tornadoes and thunderstorms. This means full coverage and higher liability limits could be warranted.
Minimums insurance requirements for Hartford drivers are:
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
If you’re found at fault in an accident, your liability insurance pays for injuries and damages in the other vehicle. It doesn’t pay for any injuries or damages you sustain. You’ll need full-coverage insurance for that. Uninsured motorist coverage covers you if you’re in an accident that an uninsured driver caused.
Proof of insurance is required to register a vehicle in Connecticut, and you need to keep valid insurance as long as you drive. You’ll also need to have proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times, and you may need to provide this proof if you’re stopped by law enforcement or involved in an accident.
Insurance companies must notify the state Department of Motor Vehicles if you cancel your policy, and you may receive a warning notice if you drop your insurance — and ultimately pay a $200 fine. If you switch policies, you may be required to provide documentation of your new policy.
Learn More: How Long Does an Accident Affect Your Insurance Rates?
Connecticut DMV information
Connecticut’s Department of Motor Vehicles is the government agency responsible for issuing driver’s licenses, registering vehicles, and keeping a record of auto insurance information for drivers in the state.
In-person service at DMV locations is by appointment only, but you can get most of its services done online. This includes renewing a driver’s license or car registration, requesting a duplicate license, or checking that your car insurance complies with the law.