You know about Fighting Blue Hens, Blue Rocks, and colonial blue, but after reading this, your new favorite color might be green.
The Apple-Scrapple Festival, Punkin Chunkin, and a State Fair that draws a third of the population: Delawareans know how to have a good time.
With a state that’s not more than 35 miles wide, you’re only a short drive away from the sand on your toes and soft-shell crabs on your plate. But before you roll out on Dupont tires like Jimmie Johnson, are you getting a price prettier than a peach blossom on your car insurance?
Here’s our guide to the best and cheapest car insurance quotes in the Diamond State.
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Delaware
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in Delaware for the following user profile: a single, 30-year-old male with a clean driving record who drives a 2012 Honda Accord and pays a $1,000 deductible for the state’s minimum liability insurance. We averaged car insurance rates for the twenty most populous cities in Delaware.
Best Car Insurance Quotes in Delaware
The Insurify Composite Score is calculated by analyzing multiple factors that indicate the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company. Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch; J.D. Power ratings; Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys; mobile app reviews; and user-generated company reviews. The following are the top-rated companies that offer car insurance in Delaware. For the complete list, see Insurify’s best car insurance companies.
Most Popular Car Insurance Companies in Delaware
Every other commercial is an insurance one. No wonder we’ve memorized the slogans. The Insurance Information Institute (III) says these are the top five most popular car insurance companies in Delaware by market share:
- State Farm
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Delaware by City
Yes, those two towns might be a chicken farm apart. But crime rates, population density, and even weather differences can affect the price of your car insurance policy. Here’s a look at how the same driver’s auto insurance quotes vary in each of the five most populated cities in Delaware:
City Insurance Company Quotes
Wilmington State Farm $212/month
Dover State Farm $120/month
Newark State Farm $141/month
Middletown Nationwide $217/month
Bear Allstate $165/month
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Delaware by Profile
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in Delaware based on averaged sample rates for four driver profiles that included varied gender, age, driving history, credit, marital status, prior insurance, higher education, employment, and military service
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Drivers with a DUI
It was one quick choice that could make a world of difference. A DWI or DUI is driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Drinking and driving may cause hefty fines, loss of license, jail sentences, and higher insurance prices for years. Here are the penalties for a first offense:
- A fine of $500 to $1,500
- A 12- to 24-month license revocation
- A jail sentence up to 12 months
- A need for an ignition interlock device (IID)
- A requirement to finish a treatment program, community service, and abstinence monitoring
Insurance Company Quotes
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Drivers with a Speeding Ticket
Beep, beep, beep. You hit the snooze button one too many times, and you’re running late. Be careful. A speeding ticket can raise your insurance rates.
How can you lower your price? Leave the speeding to NASCAR and consider taking a defensive driving course or other driver discount programs to help your budget.
Insurance Company Quotes
National Grange $65/month
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Drivers with an At-Fault Accident
It was only a fender bender, but it still bumps up your rate. Think about paying a little extra for accident forgiveness. When you have an accident on your driving history, it’s best to shop around. You may find one company that only looks at the past three years while another goes back five.
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Young Drivers Under 40
Have to light one more candle on your birthday cake? Surprise—one benefit of growing older is your insurance rates go down. Insurance providers charge new drivers more because they see them as a higher risk. Young drivers should look for every discount possible, including those for good students or completing driving courses.
Insurance Company Quotes
National Grange $65/month
Cheap Car Insurance for Foreign Drivers
To operate a vehicle legally in Delaware, you must be 16 or older and have a valid license from your home country. Along with the driver’s license, you’ll also need insurance to drive in Delaware.
Once you’ve been a resident for 60 days, you must apply for a Delaware driver’s license. If you’re planning to stay for the long term, then you’ll want to buy traditional car insurance. To find the cheapest car insurance options, use Insurify to compare quotes.
Cheap Car Insurance for Undocumented Immigrants in Delaware
Delaware is one of 15 states that issue driver licenses to undocumented immigrants. You or your undocumented family member can apply for a Driving Privilege Card (DPC) from the DMV. To get a DPC, you must:
- Submit fingerprints to have your background searched by the Delaware State Bureau of Identification (SBI) and pay a $52 fee (by appointment only).
- Collect a Certification of Filing Compliance document from the Division of Revenue confirming you have filed Delaware taxes for the previous two years.
- Schedule an appointment or appear in person at the DMV.
- Pay the $20 application fee and apply by providing the following Documents:
- SBI Receipt
- Division of Revenue’s Certification of Filing Compliance Document
- Valid proof of name and date of birth such as a foreign passport, consular ID, Mexican Federal Electoral Card.
- If your name has been changed, provide supporting documents such as a marriage license, divorce decree, or court order.
- Two Separate proofs of Delaware state residency such as a utility bill, credit card statement, insurance policy, bank account record, employment record, rental agreement, US Postal service change of address confirmation, other non-personal mail postmarked in the last 60 days.
- Pass the vision screening, rules of the road knowledge test, and road skills test.
Once you’re issued a DPC, you’ll need auto insurance coverage. You can check Insurify to find the best rate for you and your needs.
Delaware State Insurance Laws
State Minimum Car Insurance Coverage in Delaware
The state of Delaware requires all motor vehicle operators to have proof of insurance available in the car at all times.
The minimum bodily injury liability insurance requirements in Delaware are:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
Bodily injury coverage protects you by paying for the injuries of anyone you harm in an accident. The minimum coverage limits Delaware state law requires are $25,000 for the injury or death of a single person involved in a car accident and $50,000 for the injury or death of multiple persons. Insurance providers list this coverage at 25/50, stating the limitations of each minimum. In an accident, liability coverage protects you up to the policy limit. Damages above the policy limit of $50,000 are your responsibility.
The minimum property damage liability insurance requirements in Delaware are:
- $10,000 property damage liability per accident
Property damage liability coverage pays for any property that you damage in an accident. The state of Delaware requires $10,000 for the minimum. You’ll see the collective state minimum listed at 25/50/10. The 10 refers to the property damage liability. Once again, any damages above the $10,000 are your responsibility.
The minimum personal injury protection (PIP) insurance requirements in Delaware are:
- $15,000 personal injury protection (PIP) per person
- $30,000 personal injury protection (PIP) per accident
Delaware is a no-fault state, so Personal Injury Protection (also called no-fault insurance) is mandatory coverage for all drivers. Delaware PIP covers you, your immediate family, and your passengers for economic losses, medical costs, and death benefits regardless of fault. The minimum coverage limits Delaware state law requires is $15,000 for a single person expense and $30,000 for the expenses of multiple persons.
Optional Supplemental Coverage
Bodily injury and property damage liability coverage do not protect damages to your vehicle at all. To protect your car, you must add comprehensive insurance coverage and collision insurance coverage.
Both coverages require you to pay a deductible before the insurance company helps you repair it. Typical deductibles are $500 or $1,000. You can choose a higher deductible to lower your overall insurance premiums.
When drivers say they have “full coverage,” they’re saying they have liability coverage along with comprehensive coverage and collision coverage. You’ll need full coverage if you have a car loan or lease. People who own their vehicle outright may go with “liability only,” skipping any protection for their car.
Comprehensive insurance coverage pays for physical damage to your vehicle for losses caused by events other than a collision. Sometimes insurance providers label comprehensive as “other than collision” coverage. It covers losses because of animals, falling objects, fire, flood, hail, theft, and vandalism.
Collision insurance coverage pays for physical damage to your vehicle that results from colliding with an object such as a light pole or other cars.
What happens if someone hits you, and they do not have insurance or enough insurance to pay for your damages? Consider that the Insurance Information Institute reports 11.4 percent or just over one out of nine Delaware drivers has no insurance. You may want to add uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage to protect yourself.
Uninsured motorist bodily injury pays your medical expenses if you’re injured by a hit-and-run driver or one who has no insurance.
Underinsured motorist bodily injury pays your medical expenses if you’re hit by someone who does not have high enough policy limits to cover your costs.
Is Delaware a No-Fault State?
Yes, Delaware is a no-fault state. No-fault states require drivers to file a claim with their own insurance company regardless of fault after an accident. All drivers must buy PIP.
In the 1970s, states started adopting no-fault laws to quicken the payment process for routine injuries and lower the overall cost of insurance claims. In Delaware, PIP claims pay for medical bills and lost wages, and you can still sue the at-fault driver for non-monetary damages or “pain and suffering” beyond the PIP amounts.
No matter what company you choose, Insurify will make sure you meet the state’s no-fault insurance requirements.
Texting and Driving and Distracted Driving in Delaware
Delaware law prohibits all vehicle operators from texting, talking, or using an electronic device while driving a vehicle unless it allows for hands-free operation.
- The law includes cell phones, devices with mobile data access, electronic games, laptops, PDAs, tablets, and similar devices in its definition of “electronic communication device.”
- Text messaging is composing, reading, or writing electronic messages. It also includes sending or viewing data or images.
- Amateur radio users
- Emergency services personnel on duty
- Hands-free mode users
- Mounted two-way radio operators used for business
- Operators of farm tractors and equipment
- School bus drivers
- For a first offense: $100.
- For a second or subsequent offense within two years: $200 to $300
Distracted Driving for Underage Drivers:
- Drivers under 18 who hold a learner’s permit are prohibited from using a handheld device or cellphone while driving even in hands-free mode
- The penalty for violation is a permit suspension of one to three months
FR-19 Insurance in Delaware
Has the state suspended or revoked your license, and you now need an SR-22 (called an FR-19 in Delaware) filing? Delaware may require an FR-19 if you’ve been convicted of a moving violation, driving without insurance, a DUI, DWI, or other serious offense.
Many insurance providers in the state will file the FR-19 on your behalf, including Ameriprise Dairyland, Esurance, Farmers, Bristol West, GEICO, The General, National General, Progressive, and Safeco.
Legal Alcohol Limits in Delaware
In Delaware, if you’re:
- The age of 21 or over, it’s against the law to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher
- Under 21, it’s against the law to drive with a BAC of .02 or higher
- Driving a commercial vehicle, it’s against the law to drive with a BAC of .04 or higher
If you refuse a chemical test, the state could revoke your license for one year.
What Are the Seat Belt and Child Passenger Laws in Delaware?
- Delaware law states that all persons must wear seat belts or proper restraints, including drivers, backseat passengers, and children
- Lap and shoulder belts must be worn. Shoulder belts must not be placed under the arm or behind the back
- Delaware’s seat belt laws are primary, which means law enforcement can stop you solely for violating the seat belt law
- The penalty for a seat belt violation is $83 or more.
- Child Passenger Safety Law:
- Children under 8 or weighing less than 65 lbs. must be in a child safety seat
- Children 8 to 15 must be secured in a seat belt
- Children under 12 must be in the back seat if the vehicle has active airbags
- Fine for violations is $25 plus court costs
Delaware DMV Information
The Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has four locations with two in New Castle County, one in Kent County, and one in Sussex County. Hours are 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM on weekdays except for Wednesday, which is 12:00 PM to 8:00 PM. The DMV is walk-in friendly, but you must schedule an appointment for driver license road tests.
The online portal lets you skip the drive and amongst other services you can:
- File a change of address
- Order special plates
- Pay uninsured motorist fees
- Purchase your driving record
- Renew your driver’s license, ID, or vehicle registration
- Schedule a road test
- Sign up as an organ donor
Registering your car if you’re new to Delaware
New residents must register their vehicles within 60 days after becoming a Delaware resident. To register your vehicle, you must:
- Submit to the DMV your proof of insurance, such as an insurance ID card, policy, or binder
- Take your Certificate of Title and have your vehicle inspected at one of the DMV’s inspection lanes
- Then apply for registration at the DMV and have your lienholder’s name and address if applicable
- A title fee of $35 if your vehicle has no lien and $55 if it does
- A registration fee of $40
- A vehicle document fee of 4.25 percent of the value of the vehicle (but not less than $8.00)
You must get a new Delaware license within 60 days of taking up residency by going to a DMV office with:
- Your out-of-state license
- One proof of legal presence such as a birth certificate, passport, social security card
- If your name has been changed, provide supporting documents such as a marriage license, divorce decree, or court order
- Two proofs of residency, such as a utility bill, credit card statement, insurance policy, bank account record, employment record, rental agreement, US Postal service change of address confirmation, or other non-personal mail postmarked in the last 60 days
You then pay the fee of $40 for a Class D license.
How to Get the Cheapest Car Insurance in Delaware
It doesn’t matter if you’re zooming for a cheesesteak in upper Delaware or coasting in the Slower Lower; you can save green like all those banks headquartered in the state.
Insurify and savings go together like fries and vinegar. We let you compare the best car insurance rates, coverage options, and companies personalized for your price point. Get free, cheap car insurance quotes today on America’s best-rated auto insurance comparison site.
Browse, Compare, Discover with Insurify today!
Score savings on car insurance with Insurify