Getting out from underneath a DUI isn't easy, even after you've paid all your state-issued penalties. While you may have spent hundreds of dollars in fines and surcharges to get your license reinstated, you'll lose even more money due to changes in your car insurance policy.
When you engage in risky behavior, car insurance companies take notice. They can't afford not to raise your rates, since risk is associated with insurance claims losses. In Connecticut, a DUI is a costly mistake. Only 11 states are more costly when it comes to finding insurance after a DUI.
You can find the best rates by not only understanding what the average insurance rate should be but by shopping around with different insurance carriers as well. Using an online insurance comparison engine like Insurify removes the time and struggle from the task and returns you the best rates.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
No one anticipates the vast and varied impacts a DUI can bring. One financial implication is that your car insurance rates can increase by more than 97 percent. To get your head around that figure, compare monthly insurance costs for someone with and without a DUI. After a DUI, average monthly car insurance rates climb from $258 to $509.
And you'll be paying that difference of $251 for a very long time. Most insurance companies elevate rates for an average of three to five years. With time and sound driving, lower rates will follow.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
Finding insurance after a DUI in Connecticut isn't impossible. However, you may have to consider some companies you haven't heard of yet. Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company, Plymouth Rock, and Liberty Mutual are among the carriers you should consider.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company||$227|
|American Family Insurance||$322|
If you have a DUI in Connecticut, you'll pay dearly for car insurance. Rates, of course, always go up after an impaired driving decision. But Connecticut is particularly expensive for post-DUI insurance. It ranks 12th in the country.
Though car insurance prices ultimately are based on the individual, the average for drivers in Connecticut with a DUI charge on their record is $509.81 a month. This estimate is approximately $251 higher than rates for motorists with a clean driving record.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
Once they have a DUI, many people want to know how long it stays on their record. For penalty purposes, the lookback period for a DUI in Connecticut is 10 years. This means that if you have one or more DUIs within 10 years, they all count toward the penalties you'll face.
By participating in a pretrial alcohol education program, Connecticut drivers can have a DUI charge dismissed. But this can happen only once.
Besides considering car insurance increases, you'll have a range of state penalties to contend with in Connecticut after a DUI. These range from jail time to fees to the loss of your license. The severity of the punishment can depend on age, blood alcohol content, and the number of previous DUI convictions you have.
First-time offenders face up to $1,000 in fines and a one-year license suspension. They can decrease suspension time by installing an ignition interlock device on their car. Those who have three DUIs or more may find themselves in jail for three years, owing up to $8,000 in fines, and having their license permanently revoked.