When you see those flashing red and blue lights behind you, no matter how the night started, you know the party's over. If the breathalyzer says you have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher, the cop will hand you a ticket for drunk driving. You most likely won't be the only one; there were 25,619 DUI arrests in Washington in 2017 alone, the most recent year reported.
Every sober person knows driving while intoxicated is not a smart idea. But once the drinks are flowing, smart ideas go right out the window, and no one thinks about the possible criminal penalties, jail time, and pricey fines. After the lawyers and courts shake you down, the insurance companies get what's left over. With a DUI on your record, they see you as a much greater risk and therefore charge you a higher rate. But it's not all sad news, because even with a DUI, people in Washington can find an affordable premium.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
Freedom, family, finances—when do the DUI costs stop? In the Evergreen State, it's no surprise that the insurance bill also heads in the upward direction. Let's see how much.
First, the state average is $248, and drivers with a clean record pay less, at $238. One drink makes a stark difference because a DUI conviction kicks the price up 87percent to $444. That's an added $206 per month, or over $2,400 per year. Considering the cash, smart decisions include an Uber, a taxi, or even paying someone to play designated driver.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
DUI car insurance prices can almost make your heart stop. But a few companies offer shockingly low rates, even with a mishap on your record. Direct Auto is just what the doctor ordered at $113 per month. National General and Nationwide might also offer a premium you can enjoy.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|American Family Insurance||$228|
Each person gets a unique policy and price based on their driver profile, vehicle, and location. With that in mind, the average rate DUI drivers pay to stay legal on the road is $444. It's that number that makes Washington 13th for most expensive DUI car insurance in the nation.
Save money by reducing your coverage to the state minimum. If you have an older car, you may also think about opting for liability only and dropping comprehensive and collision coverage to lower your premium.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
For Washingtonians, the lookback period is seven years. This is comparatively lenient because many states go back 10 years. A second DUI within seven years would mean prosecutors could charge you as a repeat offender. Fortunately, insurance companies stop at just three years, although some go as high as five.
How can you lower your insurance price while you wait? There are three methods to help, regardless of your number of DUIs. You'll want to compare quotes and coverages, avoid tickets and accidents, and shop around every six months for the best deal.
In Washington, the severity of punishment goes up based on the number of DUIs, BAC, and whether children under age 16 were passengers in your vehicle. First offenders face a fine between $350 and $5,000, jail time of up to 364 days, a license suspension of 90 days to one year, and an ignition interlock device requirement for the suspension duration.
For drivers younger than 21 years old, a BAC of .02 or higher qualifies as a DUI. Penalties include jail time of 24 hours, a minimum fine of $941, possible probation, and a minimum license suspension of 180 days.