Updated
An SR-22 form is proof of financial responsibility and shows you meet Washington’s minimum liability insurance requirements.
Washington drivers with an SR-22 pay average monthly rates of $117 for liability coverage and $226 for full coverage.
You may need SR-22 insurance in Washington if you receive a license suspension, have multiple driving infractions, or have a driving under the influence (DUI) conviction on your record.
SR-22 requirements in Washington
An SR-22 is a certificate of financial responsibility proving you meet the state’s minimum liability coverage requirements. Washington drivers must carry at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person, $50,000 per accident, and $10,000 in property damage liability coverage.[1]
If law enforcement catches you driving without insurance, you fail to pay accident damages, or you’re in an at-fault accident, you may need to provide proof of financial responsibility. Washington gives drivers three options to do this:[2]
SR-22 insurance: You can show an SR-22 filing written for Washington state or by an approved insurer.
Certificate of deposit: You can provide a certificate of deposit for at least $60,000 obtained from the Washington State Department of Licensing (DOL).
Liability bond: You can show a liability bond for at least $60,000 obtained from any Washington bonding company.
Additionally, you may have to pay a one-time SR-22 filing fee, which varies depending on your insurer. And if you cancel or let your SR-22 insurance lapse, your insurance company will notify the DOL, which will trigger an immediate license suspension.[3]
SR-22 Insurance | Washington Requirement |
|---|---|
| Minimum liability limit | 25/50/10 |
| Filing fee | Varies by insurer |
| Alternatives to SR-22 | A certificate of deposit or liability bond of at least $60,000 |
Find Cheap Car Insurance in Washington
Liability policies average $117/mo. for drivers with an SR-22
How much is SR-22 insurance in Washington?
The average cost of car insurance with an SR-22 in Washington is $117 per month for liability coverage and $226 for full coverage, according to Insurify data. This is more expensive than what drivers with a clean record pay in Washington.
The SR-22 itself doesn’t raise your car insurance rates, but the underlying violation can cause your premiums to go up. For example, if law enforcement catches you driving under the influence and you have to file an SR-22 certificate, the DUI is actually what causes your rates to increase.
Other factors can also affect your rates, including the severity of the violation, your driving history, location, vehicle, and the insurer you choose. Shopping around can help you find the cheapest rates in Washington for SR-22 insurance.
Driver Profile | Average Monthly Cost: Liability Only | Average Monthly Cost: Full Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| Clean record | $95 | $184 |
| With SR-22 | $117 | $226 |
Cheapest companies for SR-22 insurance in Washington
State Farm is the cheapest insurer for SR-22 insurance in Washington, with an average liability rate of $71 per month.
The following table shows the average monthly SR-22 insurance rates from different insurers in Washington.
Insurance Company | Liability Only | Full Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| State Farm | $71 | $143 |
| USAA | $74 | $145 |
| Root | $75 | $181 |
| Progressive | $101 | $186 |
| The General | $102 | $227 |
| National General | $107 | $197 |
| GEICO | $108 | $182 |
| American Family | $109 | $215 |
| Direct Auto | $114 | $213 |
| Allstate | $118 | $205 |
| Chubb | $120 | $239 |
| Safeco | $122 | $186 |
| Farmers | $127 | $250 |
| Bristol West | $145 | $332 |
| Dairyland | $145 | $343 |
| Travelers | $148 | $293 |
| Liberty Mutual | $204 | $311 |
When do you need SR-22 insurance in Washington?
The DOL may require an SR-22 filing after certain driving infractions or a license suspension. Common triggers can include a DUI conviction, reckless driving, or enough moving vehicle violations to warrant suspending your license.
For example, Washington will suspend your license for 60 days after three moving vehicle violations within 12 months or four within 24 months.[4] If that happens, you’ll need SR-22 insurance to reinstate it.
Driving without insurance can also lead to an SR-22 requirement if you’re in an accident that causes bodily injury or at least $1,000 in property damage. You may also need an SR-22 in Washington if you fail to pay a court judgment for collision damages.[5]
How to get SR-22 insurance in Washington
Follow these steps to get SR-22 insurance in Washington:
Check your requirements. Start by reading the suspension notice from the DOL. It should explain what you need to do to reinstate your license.
Talk to your insurer. Tell your insurer you need SR-22 insurance in Washington and ask if it can file it for you. If it can’t, shop around and compare quotes from at least three Washington car insurance companies that offer SR-22 filings.
Have your insurer file the form. Your insurance company can send the form directly to the DOL through its online portal. Confirm that your insurer submitted the form and that your SR-22 policy is active.
Allow time for processing. The DOL says processing may take seven to 10 business days after it receives your form, though incomplete requests could take longer. Follow up with the DOL if you haven’t received an update within 30 days.
Compare Washington Car Insurance Quotes
See quotes from top insurers in minutes
How long does Washington require SR-22 insurance?
In most cases, Washington requires drivers to keep SR-22 insurance for three years from the date you became eligible to reinstate your license. But an additional offense could create a separate requirement, so be sure to check your DOL reinstatement letter.
If your current insurance company doesn’t offer SR-22 filings, finding one that does can be a challenge. And if you cancel or let your car insurance policy lapse, this can put your driving privileges at risk.
Washington SR-22 insurance FAQs
High-risk drivers in Washington may need to file an SR-22 certificate with the DOL. Here are the answers to some additional questions about SR-22 insurance in Washington.
How much is SR-22 insurance in Washington?
In Washington, drivers with an SR-22 pay an average monthly rate of $117 for liability coverage and $226 for full coverage. But the exact rate you pay depends on your driving record and your insurer.
What are the requirements for having SR-22 insurance in Washington state?
If the Washington DOL requires an SR-22, you’ll need your insurer to file the certificate on your behalf. In most cases, you must keep the SR-22 filing for three years.
How long do you need to maintain SR-22 insurance in Washington state?
You’ll generally have to maintain SR-22 insurance in Washington for three years after the date you became eligible to reinstate your license. If you cancel the SR-22 insurance before the requirement is up, you’ll receive a license suspension.
Sources
- Washington State Department of Licensing. "Mandatory insurance."
- Washington State Department of Licensing. "Financial responsibility (SR-22)."
- Washington State Department of Licensing. "Canceled insurance."
- Washington State Department of Licensing. "Accumulation of traffic tickets."
- Washington State Department of Licensing. "Failure to pay accident damages: Financial Responsibility Law."
Methodology
Insurify data scientists analyzed more than 250 million quotes served to car insurance applicants in Insurify’s proprietary database to calculate the premium averages displayed on this page. These premiums are real quotes that come directly from Insurify’s 500+ partner insurance companies in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quote averages represent the median price for a quote across the given coverage level, driver subset, and geographic area.
Unless otherwise specified, quoted rates reflect the average cost for drivers between 20 and 70 years old with a clean driving record and average or better credit (a credit score of 600 or higher).
Liability-only premium averages correspond to policies with the following coverage limits:
- Bodily injury limits between state-minimum rates and $50,000 per person, $100,000 per accident
- Property damage limits between $10,000 and $50,000
- No additional coverage
- Comprehensive coverage with a $1,000 deductible
- Collision coverage with a $1,000 deductible
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)