"It'll never happen." That's the thought before that last drink and jumping in the driver's seat. A sudden flash of red and blue and the sound of sirens change the whole picture. If your blood alcohol content is found to be .08 or higher, the cop will hand you a ticket for a DUI, also called operating while intoxicated (OWI). The cop won't be surprised because there were 23,244 arrests for DUI in 2019 alone.
Given a multiple-choice test, everyone picks "Uber," "designated driver," or "taxi" before "drive drunk." But when the alcohol's flowing, rationality goes bye-bye. Maybe criminal charges, jail time, or hefty fines could snap a person back to reality. After the lawyer fees and court costs, the financial hurt bleeds over to car insurance. With a DUI, you're seen as an elevated risk, and insurance companies set the amount accordingly. But it's not all sad news; with a little finesse, you can find an affordable rate.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
When you're in a courtroom staring at a judge, car insurance may be the furthest thing from your mind. Just like the sentencing, you can guarantee it'll cost you, but just how much?
Well, the general state average is $162, and Hoosiers with a perfect record slide below that, at $150. One wrong decision later, and your rate jumps up by 87 percent, to $281. After a little math, you'll see that's an added $131 per month, or over $1,500 per year. Just stare at that number long enough, and that's all the motivation some people need to control what's in their cup.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
DUI prices from the wrong companies can look like house payments. But a few of them offer deals that make even DUI drivers feel at home. Travelers rolls out the welcome mat with a rate of $113. USH&C and First Chicago also deserve to land somewhere on your list.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|First Chicago Insurance Company||$135|
Insurance companies base your rate on your unique driver profile, vehicle, and location. With that in mind, it shouldn't be surprising that DUI drivers shell out $281 to keep their driving privileges. That price tag means Indiana ranks 42nd for most expensive DUI car insurance in the country. And you can still save by reducing your coverage to the state minimum. If you have an older car, consider trading out comprehensive and collision coverage for liability only.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
The Hoosier State has a relatively lenient lookback period compared to the 10 years or lifetime periods in other states. So what's the number? Five years, meaning a second DUI within that time will count as a repeat offense. But most car insurance companies only look back three years, while a few check up to five.
If you must wait, what can you do to save? In Indiana, three strategies have helped countless people in similar situations. You should compare coverages and quotes, use defensive driving to avoid tickets and accidents, and shop around at your renewal every six months.
The severity of the punishment depends on your BAC and the number of DUIs. For the first offense, you're looking at jail time of up to one year, fines between $500 and $5,000, a license suspension of 180 days, and an ignition interlock device requirement for up to one year. If you refuse a blood or breath test, the state will automatically suspend your license for one year.
For drivers under the age of 21, a BAC of .02 or higher results in a DUI. The penalty carries the same punishment as above for those 21 and older, but the ignition interlock device may be required for up to two and a half years.