How to Find Cheap DUI Car Insurance in New York

Browse. Compare. Discover. Let Insurify find the best car insurance deals for drivers with a DUI in New York

Compare all car insurance quotes in one place

Compare Quotes

Personalized quotes in less than 2 minutes.

No signup required

DUI Car Insurance in New York

Experiencing a DUI in New York is tough. Think you've made right on the immediate financial burdens caused by jail time, fines, and DUI classes? Think again. More unexpected economic consequences await in the form of higher car insurance premiums.

While it's hard to get insurance as a high-risk driver, it isn't impossible. But insurers will take note of your new high-risk status before proposing a rate. Your current provider will change pricing on you as well. Now's a good time to begin shopping for other auto insurance options.

As disappointed as you are because of your new financial burden, good news is out there. First, you can decide to drive better for the next several years and see rates decline. Second, you can shop online right now with Insurify and easily sort through dozens of insurance options before you select a new premium.

$349
Avg. Monthly Cost - No Violation
$667
Avg. Monthly Cost - After DUI
$318 Monthly Impact of DUI on Rates
91.12% Percent Bad DUI Impact Rates

Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.

How Much Does a DUI Impact Car Insurance Rates in New York?

New York is the third most expensive state for car insurance after a DUI. If that has your head spinning, just look at the numbers. Drivers with no DUI on their record pay $349 a month on average. After a DUI, they pay 91 percent more.

What does an actual insurance premium look like? On average, insurance companies hike up payments for DUI drivers by $318 monthly. The bottom line when it comes to monthly insurance costs after a DUI? You're looking at $667 per month on average.

No Violation - Avg. Monthly RateAfter DUI - Avg. Monthly RateAverage Percent Increase After DUI
$349$66791.12%

What Are the Best Car Insurance Companies After a DUI in New York?

Your best choice for car insurance may be different from your neighbor's because no two people are the same. What's essential in your search is to include as many companies as possible. The best car insurance companies after a DUI in New York include Plymouth Rock, Travelers, and Liberty Mutual.

CarrierAvg. Monthly Cost
Plymouth Rock$187
Travelers$205
Liberty Mutual$294
American Family Insurance$339

What Are the Average Car Insurance Prices After a DUI in New York?

While car insurance prices vary from person to person, familiarizing yourself with averages can help you evaluate your premium. Your policy may be higher or lower based on factors like the kind of car you drive, your complete driving history, and any discounts you qualify for.

In New York, premiums for drivers after a DUI average out to $667.46. Why so high? Location, location, location. Only two states are more expensive than New York for car insurance after a DUI—Michigan and Rhode Island.

California After DUI Avg. Monthly RateMost Expensive State for DUI (1-50)
$6673rd

How Long Is the Lookback Period for a DUI in New York?

How long does the DUI you get in New York today count alongside any future offenses? The lookback period for most DUI offenses in New York is 10 years. If you have a DUI today and can go 10 years without getting another one, the first one becomes irrelevant to any future DUIs you receive.

New York has separate penalties and lookback periods for combination offenses (referred to as DWAIs or Driving While Ability Impaired by a Combination of Alcohol/Drugs).

New York DUI Penalties

New York's DUI laws have gotten increasingly stringent over the last 10 years. Get pulled over twice for this offense, and you'll find yourself facing a felony. While the official blood alcohol content for a DUI in this state is .08 and above, New York's zero-tolerance laws mean the courts can penalize even blood alcohol content as low as .02.

DUI offenders face penalties that vary based on the number of times the courts have convicted them. First-time offenders face up to a year in jail, $1,000 in fines, and the loss of their license for at least six months. All DUI drivers must pay an annual assessment fine of $250 for three years.