For drivers with a DUI or DWI offense in New Mexico, it’s important that you evaluate all of your potential insurance options to ensure you are finding the best rate. Comparing the right insurance companies after this incident will allow you to get the best possible insurance rate after a DUI.
To simplify comparing companies, Insurify has analyzed rates from top insurance providers in New Mexico. The following are the best insurance rates from carriers that offer car insurance for drivers with a DUI in New Mexico.
In New Mexico, a DUI or DWI offense will on average have drivers paying $330 per month and $3,960 per year for their car insurance rates.
Compared to drivers with a clean driving record, that is on average an 100% increase on car insurance rates for drivers with a DUI. So in order, to find an affordable monthly rate after a DUI, comparison tools like Insurify become essential to finding the best rate.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
If you have a DUI, expect an immediate increase in your car insurance premiums. Though the amount of increase can vary from person to person, averages can guide you in your shopping experience.
The average premium for a DUI driver in New Mexico increases by over 100 percent, to $330.50. That means these motorists shell out $165.50 more per month. Clean-record drivers only pay $165 per month on average.
|Average Percent Increase After DUI|
New Mexico is low on the list of state rankings for insurance costs with a DUI. It ranks 36th. In fact, it's cheaper than every state it borders except Oklahoma.
Drivers with DUIs in New Mexico can expect a monthly premium that averages $330.50. While your cost may be more or less, keeping the average in mind helps insurance shoppers know whether they are in the ballpark when it comes to new quotes.
|Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
The length of time that a drunk driving offense stays on a driver's record is called the lookback period. Lookback periods are established to aid in determining DUI consequences both criminally and administratively.
When you get a DUI in New Mexico, courts look back over your lifetime to see if you have any other DUIs on record. If you do, they can be taken into consideration when courts determine your penalties for the current DUI. This lifetime lookback period is one of the longest in the country. Some states only look back 10 years.
Drivers who get behind the wheel intoxicated in New Mexico will find themselves swamped with consequences. On top of other penalties, DUI drivers face 90 days in jail and $500 in fines.
Though first, second, and third DUI offenses in New Mexico are misdemeanors, a fourth DUI is considered a felony. These drivers face up to a year in jail and $5,000 in fines.
Use Insurify for all of your car insurance comparison needs! Compare and connect directly with the top insurance companies to find the best rates as well as the most personalized discounts and coverage options.
Insurify’s network includes over 200 insurance companies throughout the U.S. who can work with you to get you the right auto insurance policy at the cheapest price.
The car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations on this page are derived from Insurify’s proprietary database of over 4 million car insurance applications from ZIP codes across the United States. Insurify’s data science team performs a comprehensive analysis of the various factors car insurance providers take into account while setting rates to provide readers insight into how car insurance quotes are priced.