There will still be companies that will insure you and your vehicle after your DUI charge. It will just take some research on your part to find the lowest premium and best coverage. In New Hampshire, Liberty Mutual and Travelers are among the more recognizable companies with lower insurance rates for drivers with a DUI.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
Driving while you're intoxicated is never a good idea. First, it's illegal. Second, you're endangering yourself and others. In New Hampshire, getting behind the wheel while under the influence can land you in a world of trouble if a police officer pulls you over. You'll likely be charged with driving under the influence (DUI), which can be costly in a number of ways.
How expensive is a DUI charge in New Hampshire? Well, you'll have to pay legal fees and fines. Plus, you'll be looking at a higher car insurance premium. Whether your current insurer keeps you or you find a new car insurance company, they are going to see you as a higher-risk policyholder. Insurance companies offset that risk by charging higher premiums, which you'll have to pay. Car insurance rates only get higher with additional DUIs, so it's imperative to keep a clean driving record after you've been charged.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
A DUI charge will remain a constant presence in various aspects of your life, including your relationships, finances, and driving record. Additionally, you'll find that you're paying much more for your car insurance after a DUI.
You can keep your car insurance rates low by avoiding a DUI in the first place. New Hampshire drivers without a DUI on their record pay $225.58 less than those with a conviction. One mistake could raise your insurance rates more than 155 percent, to $370 a month. This price increase alone should be enough to make you reconsider getting behind the wheel after you've been drinking.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
There's no set car insurance rate for New Hampshire drivers with a DUI on their record. However, motorists pay an average of $370.58 a month to stay insured and on the road. This makes New Hampshire the 27th most expensive state for car insurance after receiving a DUI.
Your car insurance premium will likely be high following a DUI, regardless of the company you select. You should still take your time when you compare car insurance rates, however. Be sure to look at more than your monthly payment. Research each company's other insurance products and what discounts they offer that you might be eligible for.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
A lookback period is how long a DUI remains on a driver's record. New Hampshire's DUI lookback period is 10 years. This means if a driver is charged with DUI and receives another one in that 10-year span, they are considered a repeat offender. Subsequent DUI offenses result in harsher penalties than first-time offenders receive. However, if that driver is charged with a second DUI after the lookback period ends, it's considered a first offense, resulting in a less severe penalty. In regards to car insurance, companies typically look back three to five years for a DUI when determining your premium.
It's imperative to maintain a good driving record after you receive a DUI violation. This practice will help keep your car insurance rates down. In fact, you might even decrease your premium over time if you manage to avoid further traffic violations.
First-time DUI offenders in New Hampshire typically face a $500–$1,200 fine, but no jail time. A second offense could lead to 17 days to one year in jail, however. In New Hampshire, drivers could be charged with an "aggravated DWI" if their incident involved excessive speeding, a passenger under the age of 16, bodily injury, or a BAC of .16 or more. In this instance, the driver could face five days to one year in jail and a $750–$2,000 fine.
Drivers under the age of 21 charged with a DUI in New Hampshire could also face fines of $500–$1,200 and a minimum one-year loss of license. Loss of license could be increased to two years if there was a passenger 16 or younger in the car. Underage drivers charged with a DUI in New Hampshire also have to go through a substance use disorder evaluation. They might also be ordered to have an ignition interlock device in any vehicle they drive until they turn 21 or for no less than 12 months, whichever is longer.
Use Insurify for all of your car insurance comparison needs! Compare and connect directly with the top insurance companies to find the best rates as well as the most personalized discounts and coverage options.
Insurify’s network includes over 200 insurance companies throughout the U.S. who can work with you to get you the right auto insurance policy at the cheapest price.