Advertiser Disclosure

At Insurify, our goal is to help customers compare insurance products and find the best policy for them. We strive to provide open, honest, and unbiased information about the insurance products and services we review. Our hard-working team of data analysts, insurance experts, insurance agents, editors and writers, has put in thousands of hours of research to create the content found on our site.

We do receive compensation when a sale or referral occurs from many of the insurance providers and marketing partners on our site. That may impact which products we display and where they appear on our site. But it does not influence our meticulously researched editorial content, what we write about, or any reviews or recommendations we may make. We do not guarantee favorable reviews or any coverage at all in exchange for compensation.

Why you can trust Insurify: As an independent agent and insurance comparison website, Insurify makes money through commissions from insurance companies. However, our expert insurance writers and editors operate independently of our insurance partners. Learn more.

New Hampshire law doesn’t require proof of insurance, but you have to be able to demonstrate that you can provide enough funding to meet the state’s financial responsibility requirements. If you do buy insurance in New Hampshire, it must have at least 25/50/25 in liability coverage, along with medical payments coverage and uninsured motorist coverage. Additionally, drivers can pick from a long list of additional coverages for added protection.

Quick Facts
  • Car insurance is not required by law in New Hampshire.

  • Insured drivers in New Hampshire must carry 25/50/25 in liability coverage, along with medical payments and uninsured motorist coverage.

  • Without insurance, drivers may lose privileges if they are unable to pay for damages after an accident

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in New Hampshire

The minimum car insurance requirements in New Hampshire[1] are:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person

  • $50,000 for bodily injury liability for two or more people

  • Up to $25,000 for property damage liability per accident

  • $1,000 for medical payments coverage per accident

  • Uninsured motorists coverage is also required

New Hampshire is an at-fault state when it comes to financial responsibility for an auto accident. That means that whoever caused the accident bears responsibility for the damages. Without insurance, you can be held personally liable for paying those damages.

Why are car insurance laws in New Hampshire different from other states?

Auto insurance protects drivers from financial liability in the event of an accident. Depending on a policy’s specific coverage limitations, car insurance may cover everything from vehicle damage to medical bills.

Bodily Injury Liability

Bodily injury liability is part of your liability car insurance coverage. If you cause an accident, this coverage will help cover the other party’s medical expenses. This type of coverage will not cover your own medical expenses for injuries sustained in a car accident you caused. Bodily injury liability coverage is required in New Hampshire for anyone buying auto insurance.

Property Damage Liability

Property damage liability is the other half of your liability car insurance. It covers repair costs and damage expenses to the other cars involved in an accident you caused. This coverage does not cover damage to your own car in an accident you were at fault for. Property damage liability coverage is required in New Hampshire if you purchase auto insurance.

Personal Injury Protection

Personal injury protection, also known as PIP, covers medical bills, lost wages, and replacement services for you and other members of your household if you’re injured in a car accident. PIP provides coverage regardless of who is at fault for an accident.

Personal injury protection is not required in New Hampshire, but a small amount of medical payments coverage, which is similar to PIP, is required if you buy auto insurance. Medical payments coverage pays for medical expenses incurred as a result of an accident regardless of who is at fault.

Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly

Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
Based on 3,806+ reviews
Shopper Approved
ProgressiveLiberty MutualTravelers

Is state minimum car insurance enough in New Hampshire?

The minimum required car insurance coverage in New Hampshire provides drivers with a solid foundation of auto insurance coverage, but it may not be enough for everyone. For example, the minimum liability insurance required for bodily injury coverage for one person is only $25,000.

A serious car accident could easily result in more than $25,000 of medical costs for one person. Carrying the minimum amounts permissible in a New Hampshire auto insurance policy could leave you vulnerable to a lawsuit.

Optional Car Insurance Coverage for New Hampshire

New Hampshire drivers who want to be protected in any situation should consider bolstering the minimum car insurance coverage with the following supplemental car insurance coverages:

Collision Coverage

Collision coverage covers damages to your car after a collision with another vehicle or object. If your vehicle is a total loss, collision coverage will reimburse you for the actual cash value of your vehicle. This is a great addition to the required property damage liability coverage in New Hampshire, which applies only to the damages to the other driver’s vehicle.

Comprehensive Coverage

Complementing your collision coverage, comprehensive insurance covers damage to your vehicle that occurs during an event that is not a collision with another vehicle or object. This may apply in situations of vandalism, theft, weather damage, or a run-in with an animal. Adding comprehensive and collision coverage together creates a full-coverage car insurance policy.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

If an uninsured (or underinsured) driver causes an accident and you suffer bodily injury, uninsured motorist coverage will cover your medical expenses. If the at-fault driver surpasses their bodily injury liability coverage limits, your underinsured motorist coverage will cover the rest of your medical expenses.

Other Supplemental Coverage

Many car insurance companies offer add-on coverage that you can choose to add to a policy. For example, roadside assistance can come in handy if you’re ever in an accident—it pays for a tow truck to take your vehicle to a repair shop.

Also consider rental car reimbursement, which pays for you to drive a rental car while your regular vehicle is being repaired.

Average Cost of Car Insurance in New Hampshire

Average Cost of Car Insurance in New Hampshire

Penalties for Driving Uninsured in New Hampshire

It is illegal to drive in New Hampshire without proving you’re financially responsible, either by carrying car insurance or by being able to prove you have enough funding to cover yourself if you’re at fault for an accident. If you can’t meet these requirements, your driving privileges may be suspended.

High-Risk Car Insurance in New Hampshire

High-Risk Car Insurance in New Hampshire

Minimum Requirements for High-Risk Drivers in New Hampshire

Even though New Hampshire doesn’t require car insurance, some high-risk drivers will be required to prove financial responsibility in order to have their driving privileges restored. This is done by filing an SR-22 certificate.

Proof of financial responsibility through an SR-22 is required for three years for people convicted of DWI or people who are habitual offenders. Anyone found at fault for an uninsured accident must also file an SR-22 for three years.

More Information for High-Risk Drivers in New Hampshire

DUI Insurance in New Hampshire

SR-22 Insurance in New Hampshire

Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in New Hampshire

Car insurance companies weigh different factors to determine what to quote drivers on their car insurance policies. Minimum coverage generally means lower car insurance rates. It also means low coverage limits, which may cost you if you’re ever involved in an accident. Here are the cheapest car insurance quotes for minimum coverage in New Hampshire.

Insurance CompanyMonthly Quote for Minimum Coverage
Liberty Mutual$108
The General$128
Disclaimer: Table data sourced from real-time quotes from Insurify's 50-plus partner insurance providers. Actual quotes may vary based on the policy buyer's unique driver profile.
Best Car Insurance in New Hampshire

Best Car Insurance in New Hampshire

How to Find Cheap Car Insurance in New Hampshire

Finding affordable car insurance in New Hampshire doesn’t have to be hard. Compare car insurance quotes with Insurify to see what different companies are charging for coverage and pick the policy that fits your lifestyle.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Is car insurance mandatory in New Hampshire?

    No. However, you do have to be able to prove financial responsibility. If you do choose to buy insurance, it must meet limits of at least 25/50/25—that’s $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 for bodily injury of two or more people, and $25,000 for property damage liability. Medical payments coverage and uninsured motorist coverage should also be included.

  • Is New Hampshire a no-fault state?

    No. New Hampshire is an at-fault state. The person who causes an accident is responsible for the damages of other people involved.

  • Does New Hampshire require uninsured motorist protection?

    Yes. If you choose to buy auto insurance as a way to prove financial responsibility, it must include uninsured motorist protection.

  • Do you need car insurance to register a car in New Hampshire?

    No. You do not need to prove you have insurance at the time you register a car.

  • How can I find cheap car insurance in New Hampshire?

    You can find cheap car insurance in New Hampshire by comparing car insurance quotes with Insurify’s easy-to-use online tool. Comparing quotes helps you make sure you’re getting the best deal possible.

Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly

Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
Based on 3,806+ reviews
Shopper Approved
ProgressiveLiberty MutualTravelers


Data scientists at Insurify analyzed more than 40 million real-time auto insurance rates from our partner providers across the United States to compile the car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations displayed on this page. The car insurance data includes coverage analysis and details on drivers' vehicles, driving records, and demographic information. Quotes for Allstate, Farmers, GEICO, State Farm, and USAA are estimates based on Quadrant Information Service's database of auto insurance rates. With these insights, Insurify is able to offer drivers insight into how companies price their car insurance premiums.


  1. State of New Hampshire Insurance Department. "State Minimum Car Insurance Requirements." Accessed June 15, 2022
Jennifer Pendell
Jennifer PendellInsurance Writer

Jennifer Pendell is a personal finance expert. She specializes in breaking down dense subjects to make them easier for consumers to understand, with a particular interest in homeowners, renters, and auto insurance concepts. She studied at the University of Iowa.

Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly

Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
Based on 3,806+ reviews
Shopper Approved
ProgressiveLiberty MutualTravelers