New Hampshire Car Insurance Information
Requirement : No
Car insurance is not required in New Hampshire .
Minimum Coverage Car Insurance Requirements:
- There are no minimum coverage requirements for New Hampshire.
- New Hampshire does require you to pay for costs of bodily injury or property damages resulting from an accident that you caused.
- Financial Responsibility:
- Bodily Injury
- $25,000 of medical payments to one person.
- $50,000 of medical payments per accident.
- Property Damage
- $25,000 per accident
Other Car Insurance Coverage Options:
There are several other types of coverage available to drivers:
- Collision – Covers damages to your vehicle due to an accident.
- Comprehensive – Covers damages due to your non-accident related damages to your car, such as inclement weather.
- Rental reimbursement – Reimburses you if you have to rent a car after an accident.
- Roadside assistance/towing coverage – Typically adds coverage for towing, tire changes, lockout services, and more.
- Note: Comprehensive and or collision coverage is optional, unless the vehicle is being financed or leased, the lending/leasing agency may require you to purchase comprehensive and collision coverage.
Other Forms of Financial Responsibility:
Other legal ways around buying car insurance include: New Hampshire does not require proof of insurance, however, financial responsibility is required:
- Surety Bond: 75,000.
- Real Estate Bond: $150,000 stock or equity.
- Certificate of Deposit: 15,000 in cash with the State Treasury.
Proof of Insurance: No
New Hampshire does not require proof of insurance unless:
- Your license has been suspended, or revoked.
- Suspension of your registration privileges.
Violations, Fines & Penalties:
- New Hampshire only requires financial responsibility, drivers need not be insured.
Credit Scores & Determining Your Insurance Premium :
The New Hampshire Insurance Department has programs that may help consumers find insurance.
Other factors that may be used to determine your premiums include:
- Credit history
- Driving history
Discounts : Yes
Discounts available in New Hampshire:
- Good driver discount
- Good student discount
- Safety device discount
- Safety-device discount
- Senior citizen discount
All drivers are prohibited from hand held cellphone use while driving. All drivers are prohibited from texting while driving. Cell phone and texting violations are considered primary offenses. Violators are subject to a $100 first offense fine, $250 second offense fine, $500 for all subsequent offenses.
New Hampshire Minimum Coverage Laws
Carriers in New Hampshire
Full Insurance Laws for New Hampshire