Cheap DUI Car Insurance in Montana:
Costs and Quotes (2021)

Browse. Compare. Discover. Let Insurify find the best car insurance deals for drivers with a DUI in Montana

Enter your zipcode to get started

Facebook following

24,000

Followers

Shopper Approved

4.8 Rating

2,700 Reviews

12 Million

Quotes


Best DUI Insurance Companies in Montana (2021)

For drivers with a DUI or DWI offense in Montana, it’s important that you evaluate all of your potential insurance options to ensure you are finding the best rate. Comparing the right insurance companies after this incident will allow you to get the best possible insurance rate after a DUI.

To simplify comparing companies, Insurify has analyzed rates from top insurance providers in Montana. The following are the best insurance rates from carriers that offer car insurance for drivers with a DUI in Montana.

DUI Car Insurance Costs in Montana

In Montana, a DUI or DWI offense will on average have drivers paying $278 per month and $3,336 per year for their car insurance rates.

Compared to drivers with a clean driving record, that is on average an 66% increase on car insurance rates for drivers with a DUI. So in order, to find an affordable monthly rate after a DUI, comparison tools like Insurify become essential to finding the best rate.

$167
$278
Avg. Monthly Cost - No ViolationAvg. Monthly Cost - After DUI
$111 ▴Monthly Impact of DUI on Rates
66.47% ▴Percent Bad DUI Impact Rates

Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.

How Much Does a DUI Impact Car Insurance Rates in Montana?

There is no shielding parts of your life from a DUI. The charge will impact your finances, driving record, relationships, and maybe even future job prospects. Your car insurance rates are not immune to the damage a DUI causes, either.

A clean driving record is the best way to keep your car insurance rates low. Drivers without a DUI on their record pay $111.43 less per month in car insurance premiums than those with a conviction in Montana. A DUI can increase your insurance payments almost 67 percent, to $278.43 a month. A rate hike like that should make you find an alternate way home if you've been drinking.

Average Percent Increase After DUI
$167$27866.47%

What Are the Average Car Insurance Prices After a DUI in Montana?

Your car insurance rate will vary based on your individual circumstances, but most drivers in Montana with a DUI on their record pay $287.43 to keep their vehicle insured. That makes Montana the 44th most expensive state for car insurance after a DUI.

Even though your car insurance premium will be higher than you're used to, take your time when you compare car insurance companies. Remember, price is just one factor to look at. You should also review each company's other insurance products to see if there are any discounts available that could help you save.

Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)
$27844th

How Long Is the Lookback Period for a DUI in Montana?

A lookback period is how long a DUI remains on a driver's record. Montana's DUI lookback period is 10 years. That means any subsequent DUIs that occur within 10 years of the initial one will be viewed as repeat offenses and come with a more severe penalty. A DUI in Montana after the 10-year lookback period is viewed as a first offense. Car insurance companies typically look back three to five years when pricing your premium.

Of course, if you avoid getting a DUI in the first place, there's no lookback period to worry about. If you're charged with a DUI in Montana, however, be sure to keep your driving record clean going forward. It's the easiest way to keep your rates from getting any higher. In fact, your insurance premium may go down over time if you continue to make good driving decisions.

Montana DUI Penalties

DUI penalties in Montana vary depending on the offender's age, license type, circumstances, and more. Typically, a first-time DUI offender in Montana could face up to six months in jail and have to pay a fine of $600 to $1,000. Additionally, first-time DUI offenders in Montana have to get an alcohol and drug evaluation and might have to take a chemical dependency education course. First-time offenders who had a passenger under the age of 16 in the vehicle could face 48 hours to one year in jail and $1,200 to $2,000 in fines.

A first-time DUI offender under the age of 21 with a BAC of .02 or more could face a fine of $100 to $500 in Montana. Their driver's license will be suspended for 90 days, and the offender is required to take a chemical dependency education course.

Top Auto Insurance Companies

Compare Top Auto Insurance Companies

Use Insurify for all of your car insurance comparison needs! Compare and connect directly with the top insurance companies to find the best rates as well as the most personalized discounts and coverage options.

Insurify’s network includes over 200 insurance companies throughout the U.S. who can work with you to get you the right auto insurance policy at the cheapest price.

See All Auto Insurance Companies

Insurify Rate Comparison Methodology

The car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations on this page are derived from Insurify’s proprietary database of over 4 million car insurance applications from ZIP codes across the United States. Insurify’s data science team performs a comprehensive analysis of the various factors car insurance providers take into account while setting rates to provide readers insight into how car insurance quotes are priced.