4.8out of 3,000+ reviews
Why you can trust Insurify
Updated June 17, 2022
Montana law dictates the minimum requirements for insurance coverage that all drivers must carry. The state of Montana states that all drivers must hold 25/50/20 for their liability policy. While medical payments coverage and uninsured motorist coverage aren’t required, they are encouraged. Additionally, drivers can pick from a list of extra coverages for more protection.
Car insurance is required by law in Montana.
Drivers in Montana must carry 25/50/20 in liability insurance, which includes both bodily injury and property damage.
Uninsured motorist coverage is offered but can be rejected.
If caught driving uninsured, drivers face $250 to $500 in fines and potential jail time.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Montana
The minimum car insurance requirements in Montana are:
$25,000 for bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 for bodily injury liability per accident
$20,000 for property damage liability per accident
Each state has its own set of laws and Montana auto insurance is no different. Montana is an at-fault state, meaning that if you’re responsible for causing an accident, you and your insurance company are required to cover the costs of damages and injuries. For this reason, you might want to consider additional medical payments coverage (MedPay).
Why is car insurance required in Montana?
Auto insurance protects drivers from financial liability in the event of an accident. Depending on a policy’s specific coverage limitations, car insurance may cover everything from vehicle damage to medical bills.
Bodily Injury Liability
Bodily injury liability is part of your liability car insurance coverage. If you cause an accident, this coverage will help cover the other party’s medical expenses. This type of coverage will not cover your own medical expenses for injuries sustained in a car accident you caused. Bodily injury liability coverage is required in Montana.
Property Damage Liability
Property damage liability is the other half of your liability car insurance. It covers repair costs and damage expenses to the other cars involved in an accident you caused. This coverage does not cover damage to your own car in an accident you were at fault for. Property damage liability coverage is required in Montana.
See More: Cheap Car Insurance in Montana
Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly
Is state minimum car insurance enough in Montana?
The minimum required car insurance coverage in Montana provides drivers with a solid foundation of auto insurance coverage, but it may not be enough for everyone. If your driving record shows that you’re a bit more accident-prone, then the effects of coverage limits might be a little more significant for you. Consider increasing your insurance past the minimum amount.
In addition, Montana is an at-fault state, meaning that drivers who are found responsible for causing a collision need to cover all the payments for damages. Drivers might want to consider additional coverage, like medical payments coverage, which helps protect themselves or other passengers in their car who might be affected in an accident.
Optional Car Insurance Coverage for Montana
Montana drivers who want to be protected in any situation should consider bolstering the minimum car insurance coverage with the following supplemental car insurance coverages:
Collision coverage covers damages to your car after a collision with another vehicle or object. If your vehicle is a total loss, collision coverage will reimburse you for the actual cash value of your vehicle. This is a great addition to the required property damage liability coverage in Montana, which applies only to the damages to the other driver’s vehicle.
Complementing your collision coverage, comprehensive insurance covers damage to your vehicle that occurs during an event that is not a collision with another vehicle or object. This may apply in situations of vandalism, theft, weather damage, or a run-in with an animal. Adding comprehensive and collision coverage together creates a full-coverage car insurance policy.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
If an uninsured (or underinsured) driver causes an accident and you suffer bodily injury, uninsured motorist coverage will cover your medical expenses. If the at-fault driver surpasses their bodily injury liability coverage limits, your underinsured motorist coverage will cover the rest of your medical expenses.
Other Supplemental Coverage
Even though it’s not part of Montana car insurance requirements, getting extra coverage can help you feel more protected. You can customize your policy and tailor add-ons to fit your needs and unique driver profile. For example, if you’d like to know that you have support if you run into car trouble, roadside assistance might be of particular help.
Alternatively, if you run into more accidents and collisions than the average person, then maybe consider increasing your liability coverage past the minimum amount required. Getting a rental car reimbursed might also be of interest if you want support while your car is in the shop, or choose MedPay to make sure that your medical costs are covered in case you get in an accident.
See More: Average Cost of Car Insurance in Montana
Penalties for Driving Uninsured in Montana
It is illegal to drive in Montana without the minimum car insurance coverage. State law requires anyone who operates a motor vehicle to carry proof of insurance with them and present it if law enforcement asks to see it. While getting caught without insurance is a misdemeanor, making the same mistake beyond a first offense can have some serious consequences.
First offense: fine between $250 and $500 or up to 10 days of jail time
Second offense: fine of at least $350 or up 10 days of jail time, license revoked for 90 days
Third offense: fine of $500 or up to six months of jail time, or both
For repeat offenders, on top of your driver’s license being revoked for at least 90 days, you also risk adding points to your driving record. A second offense leads to five points on your record, which can have significant implications in the long run, like higher insurance premiums or a harder time getting a lender to trust you. A total of 30 points gets your driver’s license revoked entirely.
See More: High-Risk Car Insurance in Montana
Minimum Requirements for High-Risk Drivers in Montana
Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol, drugs, or both is illegal in all 50 states, and doing so can seriously hurt your driving record, in addition to endangering people’s lives. High-risk drivers who want to get back on the road need to provide specific documentation to prove to insurance providers that they’re on track to becoming more responsible and careful on the road.
You may be asked to present an SR-22. This is a certificate that acts as proof of financial responsibility, similar to an FR-44 in Florida or Virginia. An insurance agent needs to purchase this for you and can help add it to your policy. In addition, Montana auto insurance companies tend to weigh credit scores heavily when figuring how much your coverage costs with an SR-22.
More Information for High-Risk Drivers in Montana
Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Montana
Car insurance companies weigh different factors to determine what to quote drivers on their car insurance policies. Minimum coverage generally means lower car insurance rates. It also means low coverage limits, which may cost you if you’re ever involved in an accident. Here are the cheapest car insurance quotes for minimum coverage in Montana.
|Insurance Company||Monthly Quote for Minimum Coverage|
See More: Best Car Insurance in Montana
How to Find Cheap Car Insurance in Montana
Getting a high-quality car insurance policy shouldn’t cost you an arm and a leg. Shopping around first can help you get the coverage you need at a rate you can afford. Insurify lets you compare car insurance quotes side by side in a matter of minutes and all for free. Different insurance providers charge different prices, so do your research.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes, the state of Montana requires anyone who operates a motor vehicle to carry proof of insurance at all times. Drivers need 25/50/20 in liability insurance, which offers protection for both bodily injury and property damage. Uninsured drivers face significant penalties.
No, Montana is an at-fault state, meaning that if you cause damage or injury in an accident, the affected party is allowed to seek payment from you by law. You and your insurance company are then required to cover the costs, as you’re responsible for the accident. For this reason, you might want to consider additional MedPay.
No, uninsured motorist protection is not required but might be helpful to have. If someone without insurance hits your car, you might get stuck paying for expenses out of pocket. This coverage lets you make a claim for injuries or damages through your insurance company.
Yes, Montana law requires anyone registering their car to present proof of insurance at their local branch of the Montana Department of Motor Vehicles.
Finding cheap car insurance is easy when you shop around first and compare car insurance quotes. Insurify does all the hard work to sift through millions of quotes from hundreds of companies in the market. This way, you can go through a side-by-side comparison in just a few minutes to make sure you’re getting the best deal. Try it for free today.
Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly
Data scientists at Insurify analyzed over 40 million auto insurance rates across the United States to compile the car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations displayed on this page. The car insurance data includes coverage analysis and details on drivers' vehicles, driving records, and demographic information. With these insights, Insurify is able to offer drivers insight into how their car insurance premiums are priced by companies.