Cheap DUI Car Insurance in Rhode Island:
Costs and Quotes (2021)

Browse. Compare. Discover. Let Insurify find the best car insurance deals for drivers with a DUI in Rhode Island

Enter your zipcode to get started

Facebook following

24,000

Followers

Shopper Approved

4.8 Rating

2,700 Reviews

12 Million

Quotes


Best DUI Insurance Companies in Rhode Island (2021)

For drivers with a DUI or DWI offense in Rhode Island, it’s important that you evaluate all of your potential insurance options to ensure you are finding the best rate. Comparing the right insurance companies after this incident will allow you to get the best possible insurance rate after a DUI.

To simplify comparing companies, Insurify has analyzed rates from top insurance providers in Rhode Island. The following are the best insurance rates from carriers that offer car insurance for drivers with a DUI in Rhode Island.

DUI Car Insurance Costs in Rhode Island

In Rhode Island, a DUI or DWI offense will on average have drivers paying $720 per month and $8,640 per year for their car insurance rates.

Compared to drivers with a clean driving record, that is on average an 104% increase on car insurance rates for drivers with a DUI. So in order, to find an affordable monthly rate after a DUI, comparison tools like Insurify become essential to finding the best rate.

$353
$720
Avg. Monthly Cost - No ViolationAvg. Monthly Cost - After DUI
$367 ▴Monthly Impact of DUI on Rates
103.97% ▴Percent Bad DUI Impact Rates

Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.

How Much Does a DUI Impact Car Insurance Rates in Rhode Island?

Driving violations can have a negative impact on your car insurance rates and that is especially true for DUIs. In fact, DUI violations tend to cause the biggest premium rate spikes out of all single driving violations in Rhode Island. One occurrence results in a 104 percent increase in average insurance rates.

Typically, drivers with no incidents on their records will pay $353 in monthly premiums. However, a DUI can cause the average price of coverage to increase to about $720. The additional $367 a month isn't permanent but can cause financial hardship, which is another reason shopping for quotes is important.

Average Percent Increase After DUI
$353$720103.97%

What Are the Average Car Insurance Prices After a DUI in Rhode Island?

Rhode Island currently ranks as one of the most expensive states in the country for auto insurance with a DUI. As of right now, the state has the second-highest average cost of coverage, at $719.83. This is also 3.5 times higher than the lowest state on the list, Alaska, which costs drivers roughly $200 a month.

Once your DUI has aged, your rate will decline back toward the average price of coverage for drivers without a DUI. Until then, shopping around can help find affordable options.

Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)
$7202nd

How Long Is the Lookback Period for a DUI in Rhode Island?

If you have more than one DUI on your record during a short span of time, there could be additional penalties you face. One reason for that is due to DUI violations being considered priorable offenses. The good news is that there is a limit to how long DUIs will count against you for sentencing and penalty purposes in Rhode Island. This limited time frame is referred to as the lookback period.

In Rhode Island, the lookback period lasts for five years, one of the shortest periods of time before a DUI can be excluded from a driving record. Some states, like Massachusetts, have a lifetime lookback period. Multiple offenses can result in a longer lookback period of 10 years in some cases.

Rhode Island DUI Penalties

The penalties for a DUI in Rhode Island can range from forgiving to severe, depending on how many violations you have within the 10 year lookback period. For first-time offenders, the penalties typically include up to one year in jail, fines as high as $500, and the possibility of license revocation up to 18 months. Further instances of DUIs on your record can result in enhanced penalties.

The main difference between the first and second DUI, besides the increase in fines and jail time, is the requirement of an ignition interlock device. If a driver has three or more violations on their record, they could be sentenced to up to five years in jail and have to pay more than $5,000 in fines. License suspension for a minimum of two years is also common for motorists with multiple DUIs.

Top Auto Insurance Companies

Compare Top Auto Insurance Companies

Use Insurify for all of your car insurance comparison needs! Compare and connect directly with the top insurance companies to find the best rates as well as the most personalized discounts and coverage options.

Insurify’s network includes over 200 insurance companies throughout the U.S. who can work with you to get you the right auto insurance policy at the cheapest price.

See All Auto Insurance Companies

Insurify Rate Comparison Methodology

The car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations on this page are derived from Insurify’s proprietary database of over 4 million car insurance applications from ZIP codes across the United States. Insurify’s data science team performs a comprehensive analysis of the various factors car insurance providers take into account while setting rates to provide readers insight into how car insurance quotes are priced.