Every year, over 25,000 drivers are arrested for a DUI in Oregon. That means over 25,000 people wake up to realize their insurance is going to increase dramatically. Oregon isn't one of the most expensive states to get a DUI in, but it isn't cheap, either.
On top of all the state's financial penalties, Oregon insurance rates increase by 73 percent after a DUI. Now is as good a time as any to begin shopping for a new insurance policy the smart way. Ditch the phone calls if you can—they're too slow. Refer instead to online insurance comparison engines that can sort through all of your options in a matter of minutes.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
Oregon insurance companies raise their rates every time a policy owner's risk factor increases. DUI drivers are assigned high risk automatically and pay over 73 percent more for their car insurance after their conviction. Though a difference of $137 a month may not seem like a lot, it can add up quickly. Car insurance companies often make the driver pay this elevated rate for five years.
The average premium that Oregon DUI drivers can hope for is $324.72 per month. In five years, that amounts to an additional $8,220 they will have paid due to one driving mistake.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
Though Oregon car insurance companies will fault you financially for your DUI, there are still plenty who want your business. That's why you should never settle on the first rate you find. Mile Auto, Kemper, and Travelers are some of the best options out there.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company||$167|
|American Family Insurance||$191|
DUI drivers would turn back the hands of time if they could, for many reasons. One is that insurance rates always climb after a DUI. What motorists can do going forward is shop multiple insurance companies for a more affordable rate than their current one.
How do you know if you have a reasonable rate? Drivers searching for rates after a DUI will find that their average premiums amount to $324.72. Though that's a 73 percent increase over the average rate for non-DUI drivers, it isn't as high as it could be. Insurance companies in other states charge hundreds more. For reference, Oregon ranks 38th in the list of states by insurance rates after a DUI.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
Penalties for DUIs are dependent on how many DUIs you already have and how long it's been between them. This length of time is called a lookback period. In Oregon, the lookback period for non-felony DUI offenses is 10 years. The state ignores any DUI offense that is not a felony and has been on your record for more than 10 years, in terms of sentencing subsequent DUIs.
If you have three DUIs within 10 years, that third DUI is considered a felony. Felony DUIs do not drop off of your record. The lookback period for felony DUIs in Oregon is a lifetime.
Jail, fines, community service, and license suspension are just some of the consequences DUI drivers in Oregon face. Spelling out how much and how long depends on just how many DUIs you have when convicted. While jail is a real consequence for first- and second-time offenders, they can commit to 80 hours of community service hours instead. Third-time offenders face up to five years in jail. Community service isn't an option.
Everyone with a DUI in Oregon faces license suspension. First- and second-time offenders lose their license for one and three years, respectively. Drivers with a third offense can lose their license forever.