Updated June 17, 2022
Kentucky law dictates the minimum requirements for insurance coverage that all drivers must carry. All drivers in Kentucky must hold $25,000/$50,0000/$25,000/$10,000 in liability insurance for bodily injury per person and per accident, property damage liability, and PIP coverage. Additionally, drivers can pick from a long list of additional coverages for added protection.
Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly
Car insurance is required by law in Kentucky.
Drivers in Kentucky must carry $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability, as well as $25,000 per accident for property damage liability.
Kentucky law requires basic PIP coverage covering up to $10,000 per person per accident.
If caught driving without insurance, drivers face $500–$1,000 in fines and potential jail time.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Kentucky
The minimum car insurance requirements in Kentucky are:
$25,000 for bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 for bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 for property damage liability per accident
$10,000 for personal injury protection per accident
Note that each state has its own set of rules when it comes to car insurance. For folks moving to Kentucky, the law requires all drivers to change their vehicle registration within 15 days of moving. Students and military personnel on active duty are exempt from in-state insurance and can use a policy from out of the state as long as they carry proof of identification and status with them.
Why is car insurance required in Kentucky?
Auto insurance protects drivers from financial liability in the event of an accident. Depending on a policy’s specific coverage limitations, car insurance may cover everything from vehicle damage to medical bills.
Bodily Injury Liability
Bodily injury liability is part of your required liability car insurance coverage for the state of Kentucky. If you cause an accident, this coverage will help cover the other party’s medical expenses, but this type of coverage will not cover your own medical expenses for injuries sustained in a car accident you caused. Bodily injury liability coverage is required in Kentucky.
Property Damage Liability
Property damage liability is the other half of your minimum liability coverage. It covers repair costs and damage expenses to the other cars involved in an accident you caused. However, there are liability limits. This coverage does not cover damage to your own car in an accident you were at fault for. Property damage liability coverage is required for Kentucky auto insurance.
Personal Injury Protection
Personal injury protection, also known as PIP, covers medical bills, replacement services, and lost wages for you and other members of your household if you’re injured in a car accident. PIP provides coverage regardless of who is at fault for an accident. Personal injury protection is part of Kentucky’s coverage requirements for all motor vehicles, with the exception of motorcycles.
Registering Your Car in Kentucky
Anyone who operates a vehicle in Kentucky must carry proof of insurance. If you’re moving to Kentucky, the law requires all drivers to register their car within 15 days and to enroll in an in-state auto insurance policy. All drivers must be insured by an insurance company authorized to do business in the state, with the exception of students and military personnel on active duty.
See More: Cheap Car Insurance in Kentucky
Is state minimum car insurance enough in Kentucky?
The minimum required car insurance coverage in Kentucky should be enough to provide drivers with a solid foundation of auto insurance coverage, but it may not be enough for everyone. The state also allows a policy with a single limit of $60,000, as long as it provides basic reparations benefits, but this still might not provide the full amount of coverage that some drivers need.
For example, the minimum required car insurance policy only protects you up to $10,000 for PIP after an accident. This amount might not be enough to cover ambulance costs, hospital bills, lost wages, and more after a significant car accident. Medical bills can add up quickly, so it might be worth it to you to see what your options are with your insurance provider.
Optional Car Insurance Coverage for Kentucky
Kentucky drivers who want to be protected in any situation should consider bolstering the minimum car insurance coverage with the following supplemental car insurance coverages:
Collision coverage covers damages to your car after a collision with another vehicle or object. If your vehicle is a total loss, collision coverage will reimburse you for the actual cash value of your vehicle. This is a great addition to the required property damage liability coverage in Kentucky, which applies only to the damages to the other driver’s vehicle.
Complementing your collision coverage, comprehensive insurance covers damage to your vehicle that occurs during an event that is not a collision with another vehicle or object. This may apply in situations of vandalism, theft, weather damage, or a run-in with an animal. Adding comprehensive and collision coverage together creates a full-coverage car insurance policy.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
If an uninsured (or underinsured) driver causes an accident and you suffer bodily injury, uninsured motorist coverage will cover your medical expenses. If the at-fault driver surpasses their bodily injury liability coverage limits, your underinsured motorist coverage will cover the rest of your medical expenses.
Other Supplemental Coverage
There are other add-ons you can choose for your own insurance policy to customize it to your exact needs. For example, if you’re accident-prone, getting rental car reimbursement might be helpful. If you get into a collision and can’t drive your car while it’s in the shop, this coverage helps cover the cost of a rental car.
If you want peace of mind knowing that there’s someone to help you with car trouble, consider roadside assistance. More than an on-call tow truck, it can also help with changing a flat tire, jump-starting a dead battery, helping if you lock yourself out of your car, or delivering gasoline to your car if you run out. This might be especially helpful for people who live alone.
Penalties for Driving Uninsured in Kentucky
It’s illegal to drive in Kentucky without the minimum car insurance coverage. Anyone who operates a vehicle without proof of insurance risks having their car registration revoked. In addition, the vehicle owner and potentially also the driver are subject to a fine of $500 to $1,000, up to 90 days in jail, or a combination of both.
Revoked car registration
A fine of $500 to $1,000
Up to 90 days in jail
A combination of both
See More: High-Risk Car Insurance in Kentucky
Minimum Requirements for High-Risk Drivers in Kentucky
In order for high-risk drivers to get back on the road, they may need to provide extra documents to prove that they’re more responsible or on track to improving their driving record. For example, some state departments of motor vehicle (DMVs) might ask for an SR-22, which is a certificate of financial responsibility, similar to an FR-44 in Florida or Virginia.
More Information for High-Risk Drivers in Kentucky
Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Kentucky
Car insurance companies weigh different factors to determine what to quote drivers on their car insurance policies. Minimum coverage generally means lower car insurance rates. It also means low coverage limits, which may cost you if you’re ever involved in an accident. Here are the cheapest car insurance quotes for minimum coverage in Kentucky.
|Insurance Company||Monthly Quote for Minimum Coverage|
See More: Best Car Insurance in Kentucky
How to Find Cheap Car Insurance in Kentucky
If cost is an issue when trying to get the coverage you need, be sure to do some research and shop around before committing to a policy. You can still get the minimum coverage plus extra add-ons at a price you can afford by comparing auto insurance rates first. Insurify can help you find cheap policies without any of the hassle. All it takes is a few minutes to get started.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes, Kentucky law requires that all drivers in Kentucky carry $25,000 in liability insurance for bodily injury per person and $50,0000 per accident, $25,000 in property damage liability, and $10,000 in PIP coverage.
Yes. This means that Kentucky law requires all vehicle owners (with the exception of motorcycles) to carry PIP coverage, which is also known as no-fault insurance.
No, this isn’t a state requirement for Kentucky drivers.
Yes, proof of insurance is required at the time of registration.
Getting a quality car insurance policy shouldn’t mean breaking the bank. No matter what your age, location, credit score, driving history, or any other factor that helps determine your rates, Insurify can help you get a great deal by shopping around first. All it takes is a few minutes to start comparing car insurance quotes and finding a price you can afford.
Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly
Data scientists at Insurify analyzed over 40 million auto insurance rates across the United States to compile the car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations displayed on this page. The car insurance data includes coverage analysis and details on drivers' vehicles, driving records, and demographic information. With these insights, Insurify is able to offer drivers insight into how their car insurance premiums are priced by companies.