Driving without auto insurance is illegal under Kentucky law. And doing so has serious consequences. In addition to having to cover any car accident damages and medical bills out of pocket, you’d also face high legal fines and potential jail time if you are caught driving uninsured.

Getting Kentucky car insurance doesn’t have to take hours of your time or break the bank. Use Insurify to compare real-life car insurance quotes from dozens of insurance companies in just a few clicks and unlock big savings. 

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Kentucky 

You can’t drive a car in Kentucky without carrying the minimum required coverage. 

When you’re registering your vehicle with the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet or renewing your registration, you will be asked to verify your insurance status. And if you’re pulled over, you will need to show proof of insurance

So remember to carry a paper copy or an electronic version of your insurance ID with you when you’re driving. 

The Kentucky Motor Vehicle Reparations Act requires all drivers to carry bodily injury liability, personal injury protection (PIP), and property damage liability insurance policies to drive legally in the state of Kentucky

  • Bodily injury liability: This coverage is a part of your liability coverage. If you cause an accident, this auto insurance policy covers the other party’s medical expenses. It does not apply to your medical expenses for the injuries sustained during an accident if you were at fault.
  • Property damage liability: This coverage is also a part of your liability coverage. It covers repair bills and other damage expenses to the other driver’s car if you are at fault in an accident. It does not apply to the damage your car sustains during the accident.
  • Personal injury protection (PIP): If you’re injured during an accident, PIP covers your medical bills, lost wages, and replacement services for you and your household members. PIP provides coverage regardless of who caused the accident. 

To satisfy coverage requirements, your Kentucky auto insurance needs to cover certain amounts in damages. The minimum coverage amounts to drive legally under Kentucky state law are the following:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person 
  • $50,000 for bodily injury liability per accident 
  • $25,000 for property damage liability per accident 
  • $10,000 for personal injury protection per accident

Keep in mind that if you’re leasing or financing your car, your lender may require you to carry collision, comprehensive, and/or gap insurance in addition to the minimum auto insurance requirements

Technically, Kentucky is a “choice no-fault” state, and you can decline the personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. This means that you’d have to sue the at-fault driver to get compensation for personal injury sustained during an accident, and your liability premiums may be higher. 

If you carry personal injury protection (PIP) coverage, then you are practically driving in a no-fault state and are entitled to personal injury protection regardless of who caused the accident. 

Score savings on car insurance with Insurify

Compare Quotes

Is state minimum car insurance enough in Kentucky?

The required minimum coverage in Kentucky provides you with an auto insurance coverage foundation, but it doesn’t mean that it’s enough for most drivers. In fact, it probably isn’t. 

The required car insurance policy only protects you (and not the other driver) in case of personal injury, and only up to $10,000 in damages. This is a relatively small minimum amount, not to mention that it doesn’t cover any damages to your car. 

If you want to feel more confident behind the wheel and drive knowing that you will be protected in any situation, consider adding more coverage to your policy. 

  • Collision coverage: This policy covers damages to your car after a collision with another vehicle or object. If your vehicle is totaled, this policy will also reimburse you for the actual cash value of your vehicle. It’s a great addition to the required property damage liability coverage, which applies to the damages to the other driver’s vehicle.
  • Comprehensive coverage: Complementing your collision coverage, this policy applies to damage to your vehicle that occurs during an event that is not a collision with another vehicle or object. It covers vandalism, theft, weather damage, and having a run-in with an animal.
  • Underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage: If an uninsured driver causes an accident and you sustain bodily injury, uninsured motorist coverage will cover your medical expenses. If the at-fault driver runs out of their bodily injury liability, the underinsured motorist coverage will cover the rest of your medical expenses.

Supplementing your required insurance policy with additional coverage will make your insurance premiums go up, but it will also protect you against high out-of-pocket expenses in the future. 

According to the Insurance Information Institute, you should get at least three quotes from different insurance companies to find the best deal. Use a comparison tool like Insurify to get 10+ car insurance quotes from insurers in Kentucky in one place and keep your insurance premiums down. 

What is the penalty for driving without car insurance in Kentucky?

It is illegal to drive uninsured in Kentucky, and you are required to carry at least the minimum insurance. And, of course, you can always choose to get more coverage. 

If a traffic official asks you to pull over and catches you driving without car insurance, you will face serious consequences. Additionally, if you allow your policy to lapse, the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet regularly monitors all registered vehicles in the state to make sure that they have the minimum required coverage. 

If it is your first offense for driving uninsured, you can expect the following penalties: 

  • Vehicle registration suspension for one year (or until proof of insurance is submitted to the court) 
  • A fine of up to $1,000 
  • Up to 90 days in jail

If the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet finds out that you are uninsured or that your policy has lapsed, they will send you an Uninsured Notice. You have to show proof of insurance within 30 days or the same penalties will apply to you. 

Fines and penalties increase dramatically after your first offense. For your second and subsequent offenses, you can expect the following consequences: 

  • Vehicle registration suspension for one year for your second offense and two years for every offense thereafter 
  • A fine of up to $2,500 (but at least $1,000) 
  • Up to 180 days in jail 
  • Revoked license for at least a year 

If you show proof of insurance after you’ve been convicted, the court may grant you a conditional discharge or penalty reduction, but there is no guarantee. You will also be responsible for all the reinstatement and court fees. 

Minimum Requirements in Kentucky for SR-22 and FR-44 Policies

The state of Kentucky does not require an SR-22 or an FR-44 to reinstate your insurance. In other states, these forms prove that you carry the minimum auto insurance coverage required by state law and are necessary to get back on the road. 

To reinstate your insurance in Kentucky, you need to appear in court and show that you’ve purchased an insurance policy that adheres to the minimum coverage requirements and will be valid for at least six months. 

You will also need to pay the $40 reinstatement fee and any outstanding administrative/court fines and retake your driving exams if your license has been suspended for over a year. 

Once driving uninsured is on your driving record, it can become challenging to get insured. You will likely see higher car insurance rates, and some insurance companies may even refuse to sell you an insurance policy

Instead of spending hours researching insurance companies and answering the same questions to check your eligibility and get a quote over and over again, use Insurify to easily compare dozens of personalized quotes in one place fast. 

Score savings on car insurance with Insurify

Compare Quotes

Additional Coverage Kentucky Drivers Should Consider

There are also optional add-ons to your car insurance policy that you may consider if you want fuller protection. 

  • Roadside assistance: If you find yourself stranded on the road with a dead battery or an empty gas tank, this optional coverage will give you access to the services you need to get up and running again. It also covers expenses from unpleasant accidents, such as locking your keys in your car.
  • Gap insurance: After an accident that results in a total loss, this add-on covers the difference between the amount you owe on your car and its actual cash value. Also known as “guaranteed asset protection,” consider this coverage if your car is worth less than what you owe on it, which is common if you’re financing your vehicle. Keep in mind that some lenders may require you to have gap insurance.
  • Additional PIP: Kentucky state law only requires you to carry $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP), which can be exceeded pretty quickly. You may consider adding more PIP coverage to make sure you have enough to cover your medical bills and lost wages in case of an accident. 

Being safe on the road does not have to cost too much of your money and time. Use AI-powered Insurify to get side-by-side real-life quotes from 10+ companies to find the best coverage at the lowest price in just a few minutes. 

Kentucky Minimum Car Insurance FAQ

Is car insurance mandatory in Kentucky?

Yes. As a Kentucky driver, you are required to carry the minimum liability and PIP coverage. Driving uninsured can result in serious penalties and even jail time. You will also have to pay much higher insurance rates when you try to get insured later. Use Insurify to compare live, personalized quotes and get all discounts in one place. 

In what situations do drivers in Kentucky have the right to sue?

Technically, Kentucky is a “choice no-fault” state, which means that you can decline PIP coverage and carry only liability coverage instead. In this case, you will be able to sue the at-fault driver for your personal injury damages. Keep in mind that if you reject the no-fault coverage, other drivers will be able to sue you as well, and your liability premiums may be higher. 

Are there alternative proofs of financial responsibility in Kentucky?

To drive legally in Kentucky, you must show proof of financial responsibility. In other words, you need to show that you have enough funds to cover the damages if you cause an accident. Getting the required car insurance coverage is the easiest and cheapest way to do that. Use Insurify to compare dozens of car insurance quotes in one place and unlock an average of $489 a year in savings. 

Updated November 1, 2021

Polina Solovyeva is a freelance copywriter for mission-driven brands and entrepreneurs. When she's not writing, you can find her on a long-distance run or dancing bachata. To learn more, visit her copywriting agency Deeper than Copy at deeperthancopy.com.