Companies will still be willing to insure you following a DUI—for a price. Liberty Mutual, American Family Insurance, Dairyland Insurance, and The General are some of the companies that may cover you and your vehicle despite the DUI on your driving record.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
American Family Insurance
There are no good reasons to drive while you are intoxicated, only bad ones. Driving under the influence (DUI) is not only against the law—it's dangerous. You put your life and other people's lives at risk if you drive drunk. What constitutes drunk? In West Virginia, a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 means you are too drunk to drive.
In addition to being dangerous, driving under the influence in West Virginia can be expensive if you are charged. DUI costs include legal fees, potential jail time, license suspension, and increased car insurance rates. Once an insurance company sees a DUI on your driving record, it will consider you a higher coverage risk. The company will charge you a higher insurance premium to offset the risk it is taking by insuring you. West Virginia falls in the top half of the United States in terms of insurance rate increases after a DUI, so it's best not to get behind the wheel if you've been drinking.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
The short answer is a lot. A DUI charge impacts every aspect of your life—your driving record, finances, relationships, job status, and insurance rates, regardless of where you live. The insurance rate increase is especially noteworthy in West Virginia, however.
Do everything you can to avoid getting a DUI in West Virginia. Drivers without a DUI pay an average of $196 a month for their car insurance. West Virginia drivers with a DUI on their record pay an average of $217.38 more per month; that's almost a 111 percent increase, to $413.38. Remember, all of these increases can be avoided by not drinking and driving. Hopefully, these figures will make you think twice about getting behind the wheel after you've been drinking.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
Car insurance prices are variable under standard circumstances. The same goes for motorists with a DUI. In West Virginia, drivers who have a DUI on their record pay an average of $413.38 a month to stay on the road. West Virginia is the 20th most expensive state for car insurance after a DUI.
Given West Virginia's high car insurance rates following a DUI, it's wise to take your time to compare prices when looking for coverage. Your search should also include other insurance products the companies offer and what discounts you might be eligible for.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
A lookback period is how long a DUI remains on a driver's record. The lookback period in West Virginia for a DUI is 10 years. This means if you were charged with another DUI during that 10-year span, it would be considered a second offense, which would yield a harsher punishment. A subsequent DUI outside of the 10-year lookback period would be viewed as a first offense.
Keeping your car insurance rates low should be more than enough motivation to keep your driving record clean after a DUI. You can still find coverage after a first offense, but premiums will only get higher after subsequent offenses. Meanwhile, you could see those rates fall each year that you avoid any more negative marks on your driving record.
DUI penalties in West Virginia can vary based on factors such as the driver's age, license, and other circumstances, but typically first-time offenders face oneday to six months in jail and a six-month license revocation. The penalties are more severe if another person is involved, however. A person who commits a DUI and injures another person could face one day to one year in jail and be subject to a fine of $200 to $1,000. Meanwhile, their driver's license would be revoked for two years. If a DUI results in a death, the guilty party faces 90 days to one year in prison and has to pay a fine of $500 to $1,000. Their license would be revoked for five years.
Underage (under 21 years of age) drivers who have a BAC of .02 but less than .08 are subject to a fine of $25 to $100 for the first offense. Their driver's license would be suspended for 60 days.
Use Insurify for all of your car insurance comparison needs! Compare and connect directly with the top insurance companies to find the best rates as well as the most personalized discounts and coverage options.
Insurify’s network includes over 200 insurance companies throughout the U.S. who can work with you to get you the right auto insurance policy at the cheapest price.