Getting a DUI is pretty bad. But it isn't the end of the world. Though your insurance rates will climb, you still have options. First, shop around for rates. Though it may be tempting to jump at the first rate you see, it's easier now more than ever to shop hundreds of carriers quickly. Find an online insurance comparison website like Insurify to do the number crunching for you.
Second, think of yourself as an individual. There are many different insurance rates. Shop with a site that gets to know you in detail, not just where you live and the kind of car you drive.
Finally, commit to driving better. While your insurer has to charge you more, it's only for a little while. If you can keep your record clean for the next three to five years, lower rates will follow.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
Insuring a motorist with a DUI in Oklahoma is a high-risk endeavor. That's why your rates increase after a DUI conviction. Insurance companies have to make up for the claims you have already made or will possibly make in the future.
Oklahoma has some of the lowest rates in the country for car insurance after a DUI. That's not to say that things will be cheap. The difference between what you pay before and after a DUI in Oklahoma is $98.56. It's an increase of over 54 percent. Ultimately, the price you pay in insurance after a DUI in this state averages out to $280.56.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
Though you get harder to insure with each DUI, there's no shortage of carriers willing to do business with you in Oklahoma. Instead of calling them one by one for your best individual rate, consider having Insurify crunch the numbers for you. To date, Travelers, GAINSCO, and Jupiter Auto are the cheapest insurance options for the average driver who's had a DUI.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company||$211|
|Hallmark Insurance Company||$212|
No one expects to come home from a day on the road and see their insurance premiums increase. But, in the case of a DUI, that's precisely what happens. Though Oklahoma is relatively low on the list at 43rd most expensive state for DUI insurance, drivers will still experience elevated rates in this state.
Average premiums for drivers with a DUI in Oklahoma amount to $280.56. Drivers without a DUI pay an average of $182. Though the price you find post-DUI may be different, it's good to keep these averages in mind when you're shopping so you know when you hit on a good rate.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
Although "forgive and forget" is a popular mantra, it doesn't apply to having a DUI in this state. Oklahoma punishes DUIs according to how many you have and for how long. For courts to know how to penalize you, they established a lookback period. The lookback period in Oklahoma is 10 years.
Upon sentencing, any DUIs you've accrued within 10 years count. If you have a DUI today and another 11 years later, today's DUI doesn't count for sentencing purposes.
Though every state is different when it comes to punishing a DUI, jail time, fines, and license suspension are always included. The severity of the penalties increases with each offense.
First-time offenders face 10 days to one year in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, and a 180-day license suspension. Beginning in 2019, first-time offenders whose blood alcohol content exceeds .15 may be required to install an ignition interlock system in their vehicle.