What can one more drink hurt? If it pushes your blood alcohol content (BAC) to .08 or higher, putting the keys in the ignition becomes drunk driving, also called operating a vehicle impaired (OVI). For all too many, there's not even a second thought for the other people on the road. That's why there were 12,985 DUI-related crashes in Ohio in 2020, according to the Ohio State Highway Patrol.
Even when DUIs aren't deadly, they do all kinds of damage. You could be looking at felonies, jail time, and hefty fines. The consequences spill over into car insurance prices, too. Even a first offense causes the insurance companies to kick up your premiums to match your new level of risk. But it's not all bad news, because Ohio's DUI rates are less than those in over half the nation.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
Every DUI journey is different, and you might traverse a few personal, professional, and financial pitfalls. Just how big of a difference does it make on car insurance?
First, the state average is $172, and those with a clean record beat that, at $156. But after drunk driving, that rate pumps up by a breathtaking 129 percent, to $357 per month. When you do the math, the difference amounts to $201 more per month, or over $2,400 per year. Stare at that number long enough, and you realize it could pay for a whole lot of Ubers.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
In the Buckeye State, some companies will swear they''re just trying to deal with the risk, but the premium is a not-so-subtle way of saying, "We don''t want to carry your policy." Unlike others, Liberty Mutual surprises with a rate of $100 per month. Nationwide and Travelers also deserve a look.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|American Family Insurance||$136|
Of course, every driver's situation is unique, and your record, profile, and vehicle will decide your premium. On average, drivers with DUIs spend $357 per month to legally stay on the road. How does Ohio compare to the rest of the country? It has the 29th most expensive DUI car insurance in the U.S.
One way to score a lower rate is to opt for liability only on older vehicles, dropping comprehensive and collision coverage. You may also consider coverage levels right around the state minimum.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
Ohio''s prosecutors can "look back" 10 years when deciding to charge you as a repeat offender. If you have a second DUI beyond that period, it will count as a first offense. Luckily, most car insurance companies only check the past three years, but a few go as high as five.
Patience and defensive driving become two keys to getting your price down to normal. Obviously, an added accident or ticket only makes the situation worse. While you''re doing your best on the road, you can also get quotes every six months to see if a better rate pops up.
For Ohioans, the severity of the punishment changes based on the BAC and whether a test was refused. If you're a first-time offender, you're looking at jail time between three days and six months, a fine between $375 and $1,075, and a license suspension of one to three years. Suspended drivers can ask for a limited license, allowing them to drive with an ignition interlock device.
People under the age of 21 could be found guilty for a BAC of .02 or higher. A conviction could spell jail time of 30 days, fines of $250, and a license suspension of three months to two years.