Coffee milk, calamari, and clam cakes—now you can add cheap car insurance to the menu.
Rhode Island offers delicious food, an active arts scene, tight-knit communities, and towns and cities that are perfect for a bike ride or stroll. No wonder almost none of its over one million residents want to leave. Not to mention that no two points are more than an hour’s drive away.
But before you pass that big blue bug on I-95, beaches too chilly to swim, or the farms off Route 102, are you getting the best rate on your car insurance?
Here’s our guide to the best and cheapest car insurance quotes in the Ocean State.
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Rhode Island
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in Rhode Island for the following user profile: a single, 30-year-old male with a clean driving record who drives a 2012 Honda Accord and pays a $1,000 deductible for the state’s minimum liability insurance. We averaged car insurance rates for the twenty most populous cities in Rhode Island.
Best Car Insurance Quotes in Rhode Island
The Insurify Composite Score is calculated by analyzing multiple factors that indicate the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company. Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch; J.D. Power ratings; Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys; mobile app reviews; and user-generated company reviews. The following are the top-rated companies that offer car insurance in Rhode Island. For the complete list, see Insurify’s best car insurance companies.
Most Popular Car Insurance Companies in Rhode Island
It’s easy to memorize their slogans when every other commercial is about car insurance. The Insurance Information Institute (III) says these are the top five most popular car insurance companies in Rhode Island by market share:
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Rhode Island by City
Yes, those two towns might be a Mr. Potato Head Statue apart. But crime rates, population density, and even weather differences can affect the price of your car insurance policy. Here’s a look at how the same driver’s auto insurance quotes vary in each of the five most populated cities in Rhode Island:
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Rhode Island by Profile
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in Rhode Island-based on averaged sample rates for four driver profiles that included varied gender, age, driving history, credit, marital status, prior insurance, higher education, employment, and military service
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Drivers with a DUI
It’s one small decision with lasting consequences. A DUI or DWI is driving while intoxicated. Drinking and driving may cause hefty fines, loss of license, jail sentences, and higher insurance prices for years. Here are the penalties for a first offense:
- A fine of $100 to $2,000
- A 30 day to 18-month license suspension depending on blood alcohol content (BAC)
- A jail sentence up to one year
- A community service requirement of 10 to 60 hours
- A DWI rehabilitation and education class
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Drivers with a Speeding Ticket
Hit the snooze one too many times? Be careful. A speeding ticket can raise your auto insurance rates.
How can you lower your price? Lay off the gas pedal and consider taking a defensive driving course or other driver discount programs to help your budget.
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Drivers with an At-Fault Accident
Fender bender or not, your rates will rise. Think about paying a little extra for accident forgiveness. When you have an accident on your driving history, it’s best to shop around. You may find one company that only looks at the past three years while another goes back five.
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Young Drivers Under 40
How about another candle for your birthday cake? Surprise. One benefit of growing older is your insurance rates go down. Insurance providers charge new drivers more because they see them as a higher risk. Young drivers should look for every discount possible, including those for good students or completing driving courses.
Insurance Company Quotes
State Farm $34/month
Rhode Island State Insurance Laws
State Minimum Auto Insurance Coverage in Rhode Island
The state of Rhode Island requires all motor vehicle operators to have proof of insurance available in the car at all times.
The minimum bodily injury liability insurance requirements in Rhode Island are:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
Bodily injury coverage protects you by paying for the injuries of anyone you harm in an accident. The minimum coverage limits that Rhode Island state law requires are $25,000 for the injury or death of a single person involved in a car accident and $50,000 for the injury or death of multiple persons. Insurance providers list this coverage at 25/50, stating the limitations of each minimum. In an accident, liability coverage protects you up to the policy limit. Damages above the policy limit of $50,000 are your responsibility.
The minimum property damage liability insurance requirements in Rhode Island are:
- $25,000 property damage liability per accident
Property damage liability coverage pays for any property that you damage in an accident. The state of Rhode Island requires $25,000 for the minimum. You’ll see the collective state minimum listed at 25/50/25. The second 25 refers to the property damage liability. Once again, any damages above the $25,000 are your responsibility.
Optional Supplemental Coverage
Bodily injury and property damage liability coverage do not protect damages to your vehicle at all. To protect your car, you must add comprehensive insurance coverage and collision insurance coverage.
Both coverages require you to pay a deductible before the insurance company helps you repair it. Typical deductibles are $500 or $1,000. You can choose a higher deductible to lower your overall insurance premiums.
When drivers say they have “full coverage,” they’re saying they have liability coverage along with comprehensive coverage and collision coverage. You’ll need full coverage if you have a car loan or lease. People who own their vehicle outright may go with “liability only,” skipping any protection for their car.
Comprehensive insurance coverage pays for physical damage to your vehicle for losses caused by events other than a collision. Sometimes insurance providers label comprehensive as “other than collision” coverage. It covers losses because of animals, falling objects, fire, flood, hail, theft, and vandalism.
Collision insurance coverage pays for physical damage to your vehicle that results from colliding with an object such as a light pole or other cars.
What happens if someone hits you, and they do not have insurance or enough insurance to pay for your damages? Consider that the Insurance Information Institute reports 15.2 percent, or just over one out of seven, Rhode Island drivers has no insurance. You may want to add uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage to protect yourself.
Uninsured motorist bodily injury pays your medical expenses if you’re injured by a hit-and-run driver or one who has no insurance.
Underinsured motorist bodily injury pays your medical expenses if you’re hit by someone who does not have high enough policy limits to cover your costs.
Medical Payments coverage, or Med Pay, covers you and your passengers’ medical expenses regardless of fault. Be careful. Sometimes Med Pay duplicates benefits you already have through your health insurer.
Am I Liable if I Cause a Car Accident in Rhode Island?
Rhode Island is an at-fault state, meaning the driver who caused the accident pays damages.
The bodily injury liability insurance coverage of the at-fault driver pays for the medical expenses of the other injured parties in a car accident. The property damage liability coverage pays to repair the other driver’s vehicle.
Rhode Island works on a comparative fault system. That means that after the court determines the percentage of fault, the compensation will match. For example, say someone rear-ends you, and the court rules that the other driver is 85 percent at fault and you’re 15 percent at fault for not signaling. If the damages are $10,000, you’ll receive $8,500.
Texting and Driving and Distracted Driving in Rhode Island
Rhode Island law prohibits all vehicle operators from talking or texting on a cellphone while driving a vehicle unless using a wireless or hands-free device. If you want to text or talk without a hands-free device, then you must find a safe place to park outside the flow of traffic.
Texting While Driving:
- The law says you may not read, send, or compose a text message on any wireless communication device, including both cellphones and tablets.
- For a first offense, there’s a maximum $100 fine and/or a 30-day license suspension.
- For a second offense, there’s a maximum $150 fine and/or a 3-month license suspension.
- For a third or subsequent offense, there’s a maximum $250 fine and/or a 6-month license suspension.
Cell Phone Usage While Driving:
- Wireless communication devices must not be used to engage in calling while vehicles are in motion.
- The penalty for a first offense is a maximum of a $100 fine, which can be waived upon purchase of hands-free accessory.
- On-duty public drivers, emergency personnel, taxi drivers, and truck and bus drivers without passengers
- Drivers who use the phone in case of emergency
- Drivers who use hands-free technology
SR-22 Insurance in Rhode Island
Has the state suspended or revoked your license, and you now need an SR-22 filing? Rhode Island may require an SR-22 if you’ve been convicted of a moving violation, driving without insurance, a DWI, DUI, or other serious offense.
Many insurance providers in the state will file the SR-22 on your behalf, including Dairyland, Esurance, Farmers, Foremost, GEICO, The General, National General, Merchants, Progressive, Safeco, and Stillwater.
Legal Alcohol Limits in Rhode Island
In Rhode Island, if you’re:
- The age of 21 or over, it’s against the law to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher.
- Under 21, it’s against the law to drive with a BAC of .02 or higher.
- Driving a commercial vehicle, it’s against the law to drive with a BAC of .04 or higher.
If you refuse a chemical test, the state could suspend your license between six and 12 months.
What Are the Seat Belt and Child Passenger Laws in Rhode Island?
- Rhode Island law states that all persons eight years of age or older as an operator or passenger must be properly secured in a seat belt.
- Rhode Island’s seat belt laws are primary, which means law enforcement can stop you solely for violating the seat belt law.
- The penalty for a violation is a $40 fine plus court costs.
- Children Passenger Safety Law:
- Children under age eight, who are less than 57 inches tall, and who weigh less than 80 lbs. must ride in a child restraint system in the rear seating of the vehicle.
- All infants and toddlers age two and under or weighing less than 30 lbs. shall be in a rear-facing car seat.
- Children over age two that have outgrown the rear-facing child seat should be in a forward-facing car seat.
- The penalty for a violation is $85.
Rhode Island DMV Information
The Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has six branch offices, has four road test sites, and partners with seven AAA offices throughout the state. DMVs are walk-in-friendly, and you can schedule a road test anytime online.
The online lets you skip the drive and amongst other services you can:
- Change your address
- Check driver’s license status
- Download your driving record
- Purchase vanity plates
- Renew your driver’s license or registration
Registering your car if you’re new to Rhode Island
New residents must get a new title and registration within 30 days of moving to Rhode Island. To register your vehicle, you must take the following to the Rhode Island branch office:
- Application for Registration
- If two owners both must both be present unless you have a notarized TR-1 form
- Original title
- Power of Attorney (if the vehicle is leased)
- Proof of Insurance
- RI license or ID (if you have your out-of-state license, you’ll need proof of residency)
- Tax-exempt card, if applicable
- Tax questionnaire (Bill of Sale, if applicable)
- VIN Check (received from the police department)
You’ll then pay your DMV fee and have your vehicle inspected.
You must get a new Rhode Island license within 30 days of establishing residency by going to a DMV office with:
- One proof of identity, such as a birth certificate or passport (if your name has been changed, provide supporting documents such as a marriage license, divorce decree, or court order.)
- One proof of a social security number such as the card, a W-2, 1099, or paystub
- Two proofs of residency, such as a paycheck stub, utility bill, or tax bill
- Your current license
You then must pay your DMV fee.
How to Get the Cheapest Car Insurance in Rhode Island
Scary good savings that would make H. P. Lovecraft proud but still nowhere near as creepy as Friar Dom.
Insurify and savings go together like meat sauce and New York System wieners. We let you compare the best car insurance rates, coverage options, and companies personalized for your price point. Get free, cheap car insurance quotes today on America’s best-rated auto insurance comparison site.
Browse, Compare, Discover with Insurify today!
Score savings on car insurance with Insurify