As we work together to slow the spread of COVID-19, state insurance commissions and insurance providers are constantly changing regulations and practices surrounding monthly payments, claim payouts, and more. To stay up to date with the latest on auto insurance reimbursements in your area, be sure to check with your state’s insurance commission and your current auto insurance provider.
If your driving habits have changed due to COVID-19, find a new, cheaper, ready-to-buy auto insurance policy on Insurify by comparing dozens of quotes at once.
Mountaineers: don’t be blue because you paid too much gold on your car insurance.
White water rafting, fireflies dancing through summer nights, and picturesque county roads all give 1.8 million West Virginians a reason to jump in the car. Or maybe everything is closed for deer season, and it’s time for a drive. No matter where you go, you’re never too far from a neighbor’s porch, pepperoni rolls, or pawpaw.
Here’s our guide to the best and cheapest car insurance quotes in the Mountain State.
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in West Virginia
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in West Virginia for the following user profile: a single, 30-year-old male with a clean driving record who drives a 2012 Honda Accord and pays a $1,000 deductible for the state’s minimum liability insurance. We averaged auto insurance rates for the twenty most populous cities in West Virginia.
Best Car Insurance Quotes in West Virginia
The Insurify Composite Score is calculated by analyzing multiple factors that indicate the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company. Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch; J.D. Power ratings; Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys; mobile app reviews; and user-generated company reviews. The following are the top-rated companies that offer car insurance in West Virginia. For the complete list, see Insurify’s best car insurance companies.
Most Popular Car Insurance Companies in West Virginia
It seems like every other commercial is for car insurance, so you’ve probably seen your share from some of these providers. The Insurance Information Institute (III) says these are the top five most popular car insurance companies in West Virginia by market share:
- State Farm
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in West Virginia by City
The map may say that any two cities are close, but their insurance rates can be worlds apart. Crime rates, population density, and even weather differences can affect the price of your insurance policy. Here’s a look at how the same driver’s auto insurance quotes vary in each of the five most populated cities in West Virginia:
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in West Virginia by Profile
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in West Virginia based on averaged sample rates for four driver profiles that included varied gender, age, driving history, credit, marital status, prior insurance, higher education, employment, and military service
Cheap Car Insurance for Drivers with a DUI
It was a quick choice that has long-lasting consequences. A DWI or DUI is driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Drinking and driving may cause hefty fines, loss of license, jail sentences, and higher insurance prices for years. Here are the penalties for a first offense:
- A fine of $100 to $1,000, depending on blood alcohol content (BAC)
- A six-month license suspension can be reduced if you agree to an ignition interlock device (IID)
- A jail sentence up to six months
Cheap Car Insurance Drivers with a Speeding Ticket
You glance at the clock. It’s not wrong. You’re running late. Be careful. A speeding ticket can raise your insurance rates.
How can you lower your price? Let up on the gas and consider taking a defensive driving course or other driver discount programs to help your budget.
Cheap Car Insurance for Drivers with an At-Fault Accident
It was just a fender bender, but it’ll still bump up your rate. Think about paying a little extra for accident forgiveness. When you have an accident on your driving history, it’s best to shop around. You may find one company that only looks at the past three years while another goes back five.
Cheap Car Insurance for Young Drivers Under 40
There’s at least one benefit to more candles on your birthday cake—your insurance rates go down! Insurance providers charge new drivers more because they see them as a higher risk. Young drivers should look for every discount possible, including those for good students or completing driving courses.
West Virginia State Insurance Laws
State Minimum Car Insurance Coverage in West Virginia
The state of West Virginia requires all motor vehicle operators to have proof of insurance available in the car at all times.
The minimum bodily injury liability insurance requirements in West Virginia are:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
Bodily injury coverage protects you by paying for the injuries of anyone you harm in an accident. The minimum coverage limits West Virginia state law requires are $25,000 for the injury or death of a single person involved in a car accident and $50,000 for the injury or death of multiple persons. Insurance providers list this coverage at 25/50, stating the limitations of each minimum. In an accident, liability coverage protects you up to the policy limit. Damages above the policy limit of $50,000 are your responsibility.
The minimum property damage liability insurance requirements in West Virginia are:
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
Property damage liability coverage pays for any property that you damage in an accident. The state of West Virginia requires $25,000 for the minimum. You’ll see the collective state minimum listed at 25/50/25. The second 25 refers to the property damage liability. Once again, any damages above the $25,000 are your responsibility.
Optional Supplemental Coverage
Bodily injury and property damage liability coverage do not protect damages to your vehicle at all. To protect your car, you must add comprehensive insurance coverage and collision insurance coverage.
Both coverages require you to pay a deductible before the insurance company helps you repair it. Typical deductibles are $500 or $1,000. You can choose a higher deductible to lower your overall premium.
When drivers say they have “full coverage,” they’re saying they have the liability coverage along with comprehensive and collision. You’ll need full coverage if you have a car loan or lease. People who own their vehicle outright may go with “liability only,” skipping any protection for their car.
Comprehensive insurance coverage pays for physical damage to your vehicle for losses caused by events other than a collision. Sometimes insurance providers label comprehensive as “other than collision” coverage. It covers losses because of animals, falling objects, fire, flood, hail, theft, and vandalism.
Collision insurance coverage pays for physical damage to your vehicle that results from colliding with an object such as a light pole or other cars.
What happens if someone hits you, and they do not have insurance or enough insurance to pay for your damages? Consider that the Insurance Information Institute reports 17.4 percent or over one out of six West Virginia drivers has no insurance. You may want to add uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage to protect yourself.
Uninsured motorists bodily injury pays your medical expenses if you’re injured by a hit-and-run driver or one who has no insurance.
Underinsured motorist bodily injury pays your medical expenses if you’re hit by someone who does not have high enough policy limits to cover your costs. Medical Payments coverage, or Med Pay, covers you and your passengers’ medical expenses regardless of fault. Be careful—sometimes Med Pay duplicates benefits you already have through your health insurer.
Am I Liable if I Cause a Car Accident in West Virginia?
West Virginia is an at-fault state, meaning the driver who caused the accident pays damages.
The bodily injury liability insurance coverage of the at-fault driver pays for the medical expenses of the other injured parties in a car accident. The property damage liability coverage pays to repair the other driver’s vehicle. West Virginia works on a comparative fault system. That means that after the court determines the percentage of fault, the compensation will match. For example, say someone rear-ends you, and the court rules that the other driver is 90 percent at fault and you’re 10 percent at fault for not signaling. If the damages are $10,000, you’ll receive $9,000.
Texting and Driving and Distracted Driving in West Virginia
West Virginia law prohibits all vehicle operators from talking or texting on a cellphone while driving a vehicle unless using a wireless or hands-free device. The statute applies even when you stop at a red light or for traffic. If you want to text or talk without a hands-free device, then you must find a safe place to park and then use your device.
Exceptions allowed when you need to:
- Report an accident, medical, fire, or another emergency.
- Turn on or off hands-free equipment.
- Use most radios with push-to-talk or press-to-transmit functions such as voice, mobile, land mobile, two way, or commercial devices.
- Drive while on duty as part of emergency services personnel.
Penalties for texting while driving:
- $100 for the first violation
- $200 for the second violation
- $300 for a third or subsequent violation
SR-22 Insurance in West Virginia
Has the state suspended or revoked your license, and you now need an SR-22 filing? West Virginia may require an SR-22 if you’ve been convicted of a moving violation, driving without insurance, a DUI, DWI, or other serious offense.
Many insurance providers in the state will file the SR-22 on your behalf, including Ameriprise, Dairyland, Esurance, Farmers, Foremost, GEICO, The General, National General, Progressive, Safeco, Titan, and Victoria.
West Virginia Auto Insurance FAQs
What happens if I get caught driving uninsured in West Virginia?
The penalties can be harsh. It may be better to find some other form of transportation until you can afford insurance. If you get caught, you could face up to a $5,000 penalty, up to one year of jail time, a 30-day license suspension, $150 registration and license reinstatement fees, and the need for SR-22 filing for three years.
Is my friend covered by my insurance when borrowing my car?
It depends. Most policies will cover your friend under “permissive use,” but some companies only insure those who are named on the policy. If you’re planning to have your friend use the car for over 12 trips, then you may want to add them to your policy. Your premium will most likely increase, but you can always remove them later.
Who has the cheapest car insurance in West Virginia?
The best way to find the cheapest car insurance for West Virginia drivers is to compare quotes from the insurance providers available in your area. Find a car insurance quote comparison tool like Insurify to compare up to 10+ real quotes for your driver profile and unlock savings and car insurance discounts. Rates can vary based on your driving history and personal profile, but you should be able to find a competitive price. Insurify provides the cheapest car insurance quotes and companies in your area in just a few seconds.
West Virginia Driving Facts and Laws
Driving laws differ from state to state. Be sure to familiarize yourself with West Virginia’s laws before hitting the road.
Legal Alcohol Limits
In West Virginia, if you’re:
- The age of 21 or over, it’s against the law to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher.
- Under 21, it’s against the law to drive with a BAC of .02 or higher.
- Driving a commercial vehicle, it’s against the law to drive with a BAC of .04 or higher.
Refusing a chemical test results in one-year license revocation.
What Are the Seat Belt and Child Passenger Laws?
- The law requires every driver, passenger in the front seat, and person under 18 in a motor vehicle to wear a safety belt or child restraint.
- Adults in the back seat may not wear a seat belt.
- Children under eight years old and shorter than 57 inches tall must be in a booster seat or car seat.
- West Virginia’s seat belt laws are primary, which means law enforcement can stop you solely for violating the seat belt laws.
- The penalty for a violation is a $25 fine.
West Virginia DMV Information
West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has 24 regional offices and an exam center in Fairmont. You can check for the nearest location here. The DMV is walk-in friendly, but you must be in an office an hour before closing for driver’s license testing. The online portal lets you skip the drive and do several transactions. You can:
- Buy a personalized plate.
- Cancel your registration.
- Change your address.
- Check your driver’s license status or driving record.
- Pay property taxes or reinstatement fees for suspended licenses.
- Register as an organ and tissue donor.
- Request a duplicate registration card, decal, or plate.
- Renew your registration.
If you’re new to the state:
- Proof of insurance
- Proof of ownership (certificate of title or registration from the previous state, must be in the name of applicant)
- Proof of residency
- Correct payment
You can transfer your out-of-state license if it is not expired, suspended, or revoked. Before you make the trip, you’ll need (acceptable proof documents):
- One proof of identity
- One proof of social security
- Two proofs of West Virginia residency with name and physical address
- One proof of legal name change if applicable
How to Get the Cheapest Car Insurance in West Virginia
With all the green you’ll be saving on car insurance, you might start rooting for the Marshall Thundering Herd.
Insurify and savings go together like hot dogs and coleslaw. We let you compare the best rates, coverage options, and companies personalized for your price point. Get free quotes today on America’s best-rated auto insurance comparison site.
Browse, Compare, Discover with Insurify today!
Score savings on car insurance with Insurify