As we work together to slow the spread of COVID-19, state insurance commissions and insurance providers are constantly changing regulations and practices surrounding monthly payments, claim payouts, and more. To stay up to date with the latest on auto insurance reimbursements in your area, be sure to check with your state’s insurance commission and your current auto insurance provider.
If your driving habits have changed due to COVID-19, find a new, cheaper, ready-to-buy auto insurance policy on Insurify by comparing dozens of quotes at once.
New Hampshire Auto Insurance and COVID-19
The state of New Hampshire has issued guidance on expedited reviews and application of certain Unfair Insurance Trade Practices laws for all lines of insurance, including car coverage.
Find the lowest car insurance rates in two minutes
Add “Wicked Good Car Insurance” right next to your “This Car Climbed Mount Washington” bumper sticker.
Live Free or Die. Nearly 1.4 million people are free to ski, hike, and stare at the breathtaking beauty of the New Hampshire sunrises. All the outdoor activities might leave you hungry for pancakes, steak bombs, or American chop suey. If you can’t take the snowmobile to get something to eat, then you’ve got to take the car.
Here’s our guide to the best and cheapest car insurance quotes in the Granite State.
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in New Hampshire
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in New Hampshire for the following user profile: a single, 30-year-old male with a clean driving record who drives a 2012 Honda Accord and pays a $1,000 deductible for the state’s minimum liability insurance. We averaged car insurance rates for the twenty most populous cities in New Hampshire.
Best Car Insurance Quotes in New Hampshire
The Insurify Composite Score is calculated by analyzing multiple factors that indicate the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company. Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch; J.D. Power ratings; Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys; mobile app reviews; and user-generated company reviews. The following are the top-rated companies that offer car insurance in New Hampshire. For the complete list, see Insurify’s best car insurance companies.
Most Popular Car Insurance Companies in New Hampshire
With all those insurance commercials on the tube, have you memorized some of these providers’ slogans? The Insurance Information Institute (III) says these are the top five most popular car insurance companies in New Hampshire by market share:
- State Farm
- Liberty Mutual
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in New Hampshire by City
It might be a short distance on the map, but rates can be a long way apart. Crime rates, population density, and even weather differences can affect the price of your car insurance policy. Here’s a look at how the same driver’s auto insurance quotes vary in each of the five most populated cities in New Hampshire:
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in New Hampshire by Profile
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in New Hampshire based on averaged sample rates for four driver profiles that included varied gender, age, driving history, credit, marital status, prior insurance, higher education, employment, and military service
Cheap Car Insurance for Drivers with a DUI
One quick choice can follow you for a long time. A DUI or DWI is driving with the influence of alcohol or drugs. Drinking and driving may cause hefty fines, loss of license, jail sentences, and higher insurance prices for years. Here are the penalties for a first offense:
- A fine of $500 to $1,200
- A nine-month license suspension
- May require you to complete the Impaired Driver Care Management Program, which may include random testing, substance treatment, and alcohol and drug monitoring
Insurance Company Quotes
Concord Group $40/month
MMG Insurance $47/month
Cheap Car Insurance Drivers with a Speeding Ticket
That clock can’t be right. It is, and you’re running late. Be careful. A speeding ticket can raise your insurance rates.
How can you lower your price? Leave the speeding to the Bay Staters and consider taking a defensive driving course or other driver discount programs to help your budget.
Cheap Car Insurance for Drivers with an At-Fault Accident
Yes, that fender bender can bump up your rate. Think about paying a little extra for accident forgiveness. When you have an accident on your driving history, it’s best to shop around. You may find one company that only looks at the past three years while another goes back five.
Cheap Car Insurance for Young Drivers Under 40
Is that one more candle on your birthday cake? As you get older, your insurance rates go down. Insurance providers charge new drivers more because they see them as a higher risk. Young drivers should look for every discount possible, including those for good students or completing driving courses.
New Hampshire State Insurance Laws
State Minimum Car Insurance Coverage in New Hampshire
The state of New Hampshire does not have mandatory insurance or proof of financial responsibility, but proof of insurance may be required after a crash, conviction, or administrative action.
The minimum bodily injury liability insurance requirements in New Hampshire are:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
Bodily injury coverage protects you by paying for the injuries of anyone you harm in an accident. The minimum coverage limits New Hampshire state law requires are $25,000 for the injury or death of a single person involved in a car accident and $50,000 for the injury or death of multiple persons. Insurance providers list this coverage at 25/50, stating the limitations of each minimum. In an accident, liability coverage protects you up to the policy limit. Damages above the policy limit of $50,000 are your responsibility.
The minimum property damage liability insurance requirements in New Hampshire are:
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
Property damage liability coverage pays for any property that you damage in an accident. The state of New Hampshire requires $25,000 for the minimum. You’ll see the collective state minimum listed at 25/50/25. The second 25 refers to the property damage liability. Once again, any damages above the $25,000 are your responsibility.
What happens if someone hits you, and they do not have insurance or enough insurance to pay for your damages? Consider that the Insurance Information Institute reports 9.9 percent or just under one out of ten New Hampshire drivers has no insurance. That’s why the state requires minimum uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage at:
- $25,000 per person
- $50,000 per accident
Uninsured motorist bodily injury pays your medical expenses if you’re injured by a hit-and-run driver or one who has no insurance.
Underinsured motorist bodily injury pays your medical expenses if you’re hit by someone who does not have high enough policy limits to cover your costs.Medical Payments coverage, or Med Pay, covers you and your passengers’ medical expenses regardless of fault. The state minimum requirement for this coverage:
- $1,000 per person per accident
Optional Supplemental Coverage
Bodily injury and property damage liability coverage do not protect damages to your vehicle at all. To protect your car, you must add comprehensive insurance coverage and collision insurance coverage.
Both coverages require you to pay a deductible before the insurance company helps you repair it. Typical deductibles are $500 or $1,000. You can choose a higher deductible to lower your overall insurance premiums.
When drivers say they have “full coverage,” they’re saying they have liability coverage along with comprehensive coverage and collision coverage. You’ll need full coverage if you have a car loan or lease. People who own their vehicle outright may go with “liability only,” skipping any protection for their car.
Comprehensive insurance coverage pays for physical damage to your vehicle for losses caused by events other than a collision. Sometimes insurance providers label comprehensive as “other than collision” coverage. It covers losses because of animals, falling objects, fire, flood, hail, theft, and vandalism.
Collision insurance coverage pays for physical damage to your vehicle that results from colliding with an object such as a light pole or other cars.
Am I Liable if I Cause a Car Accident in New Hampshire?
New Hampshire is an at-fault state, meaning the driver who caused the accident pays damages.
The bodily injury liability insurance coverage of the at-fault driver pays for the medical expenses of the other injured parties in a car accident. The property damage liability coverage pays to repair the other driver’s vehicle.
New Hampshire works on a comparative fault system. That means that after the court determines the percentage of fault, the compensation will match. For example, say someone rear-ends you, and the court rules that the other driver is 80 percent at fault and you’re 20 percent at fault for not signaling. If the damages are $10,000, you’ll receive $8,000.
Texting and Driving and Distracted Driving in New Hampshire
New Hampshire law prohibits all vehicle operators from talking or texting on a cellphone while driving a vehicle unless using a wireless or hands-free device. The statute applies even when you stop at a red light, stop sign, or for traffic. If you want to text or talk without a hands-free device, then you must find a safe place to park and then use your device.
The law applies to drivers who use a handheld mobile electronic device to:
- Compose, read, post, or view an electronic message.
- Conduct, initiate, or receive a call.
- Input information into a GPS or navigation system.
- Request or initiate Internet access.
- Type data manually.
Exceptions allowed when you need to:
- Report an accident, medical, fire, or another emergency.
- Use a hands-free technology or one hand for a non-cellular, two-way radio.
- Blow into or comply with an ignition interlock device (IID).
Penalties for texting while driving:
- $100 for the first violation
- $250 for the second violation within 24 months
- $500 for a third or subsequent violation within 24 months
Please note that drivers under 18 are prohibited from cell phone and electronic device use, even if it’s hands-free. The state may also suspend or revoke the licenses of underage drivers.
SR-22 Insurance in New Hampshire
Has the state suspended or revoked your license, and you now need an SR-22 filing? New Hampshire may require an SR-22 if you’ve been convicted of a moving violation, driving without insurance, a DUI, DWI, or other serious offense.
Many insurance providers in the state will file the SR-22 on your behalf, including Dairyland, Esurance, Farmers, Foremost, GEICO, The General, National General, Merchants, Patriot, Progressive, Safeco, and Safety Insurance.
Legal Alcohol Limits in New Hampshire
In New Hampshire, if you’re:
- The age of 21 or over, it’s against the law to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher.
- Under 21, it’s against the law to drive with a BAC of .02 or higher.
- Driving a commercial vehicle, it’s against the law to drive with a BAC of .04 or higher.
Refusing a chemical test results in 180-day license revocation.
What Are the Seat Belt and Child Passenger Laws in New Hampshire?
- New Hampshire is the only state that has no seat belt law that covers drivers and passengers 18 and older.
- Children under 18 must be in a seat belt or child restraint.
- Children under seven years old must be in a booster seat or car seat.
- New Hampshire’s child passenger law is primary, which means law enforcement can stop you solely for violating the child passenger law.
- The penalty for a violation is a $50 fine for a first offense and $100 for a second offense.
New Hampshire DMV Information
The New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has 15 locations open from 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM. The DMV is walk-in friendly, but you must schedule an appointment for driver license road tests. The online portal lets you skip the drive if you need to renew your driver’s license or pay a ticket.
If you’re new to the state:
New residents must register their vehicles and get a license within 60 days of establishing residency. To register your vehicle, you must take the following to the town or city clerk’s office:
- If you own your car:
- Proof of residency
- If your car is leased or has a lienholder:
- Out-of-state registration
- Lease agreement, if applicable
- Lienholder’s name and address
- Proof of residency
You can transfer your out-of-state license if it is not expired, suspended, or revoked. You must go to any DMV office with the following:
- Two proofs of identity
- One proof of New Hampshire residency with name and physical address dated within the last 60 days.
- One proof of a legal name change, if applicable
You then must pass a vision test, pay your license fee, and have your picture taken.
How to Get the Cheapest Car Insurance in New Hampshire
You can save big on insurance even if you’re driving a car full of “Flatlandahs” from the Kanc to Cardigan Mountain or anywhere else in the Granite State.
Insurify and savings go together like the Marshmallow and peanut butter on your “Fluffa nuttah.” We let you compare the best car insurance rates, coverage options, and companies personalized for your price point. Get free quotes today on America’s best-rated auto insurance comparison site.
Browse, Compare, Discover with Insurify today!
Score savings on car insurance with Insurify