One in seven Minnesota drivers has a DUI on their record. That means one in seven has struggled with the lingering financial consequences of a single bad decision. Though a lot of time and money is lost up front to address state-related DUI penalties, the financial fallout of a DUI is even more miserable when considering increased monthly insurance rates.
In Minnesota, expect to pay more per month for insurance premiums, as insurance companies don't look kindly on drivers who take risks. Though good driving can get you back to pre-DUI rates after three to five years, you may be in a pinch for the time being. The best way to ensure you're getting the cheapest rates—even after a DUI—is to shop around on Insurify.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
All risky driving behavior can impact insurance rates. However, motorists with DUIs experience greater insurance premium increases than any other drivers. While a first, second, or third offense impacts rates a little differently, on average, DUIs increase rates by as much as 111 percent.
What does 111 percent look like in terms of actual insurance premiums? The average rate for a motorist with a history of a DUI in Minnesota is $340. That's $179 more a month than they would have paid previously.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
Interviewing one car insurance company at a time can be painful. What do you ask? Where does the data go? How do you get to them all? Our AI algorithms have done the work for you. We've found that the cheapest car insurance companies in Minnesota after a DUI include Liberty Mutual, Travelers, and American Family Insurance.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|American Family Insurance||$154|
|Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company||$277|
As you know, car insurance pricing is very personal. Your driving record is just one variable that makes your insurance premium different from your neighbor's. On average, motorists with a DUI in Minnesota can expect to pay $340 for their car insurance.
While where you live does influence rates, Minnesota ranks 32nd in most expensive car insurance after a DUI relative to the rest of the county. That puts it somewhere in the middle and means that there's ultimately more influencing your insurance pricing than just the state you live in.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
A DUI remains on your record in Minnesota long after you pay all your penalties. The length of time a DUI stays on your driving record is called a lookback period. In Minnesota, the lookback period is 10 years. First-offense DUI drivers who can keep a clean record for 10 years will see their offense drop off.
Not only does the lookback period determine how many DUI offenses are counted (first, second, third, etc.), lookback periods are critical because they affect the kind of penalties that drivers face. A second DUI offense has steeper penalties than a first offense. Note : In Minnesota, lookback language does not apply to felony DUIs.
Penalties for a DUI in Minnesota get increasingly steep with each offense. While a first offense will get you up to 90 days in jail, a fine of $1,000, and a suspended license for up to 90 days, third offenders lose a lot more. Motorists with their third DUI receive up to a year in jail, a $3,000 fine, license cancellation, and vehicle forfeiture.
There are also enhanced penalties if a child is in the vehicle or if you refuse to test, regardless of how many DUIs you may have. Motorists with three or more DUI offenses in 10 years are required to use an ignition interlock device for a period of three to six years.