As we work together to slow the spread of COVID-19, state insurance commissions and insurance providers are constantly changing regulations and practices surrounding monthly payments, claim payouts, and more. To stay up to date with the latest on auto insurance reimbursements in your area, be sure to check with your state’s insurance commission and your current auto insurance provider.
If your driving habits have changed due to COVID-19, find a new, cheaper, ready-to-buy auto insurance policy on Insurify by comparing dozens of quotes at once.
From captivating Carlsbad Caverns to the White Sands or even the International UFO Museum and Research Center, parts of New Mexico have out-of-this-world views.
It may surprise you that 75 percent of the roads are unpaved in New Mexico. Each passageway tempts you to explore the Land of Enchantment. But before you jump in the car, are you curious about just how low your insurance rates can be?
Here’s our guide to the best and cheapest car insurance quotes in New Mexico.
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in New Mexico
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in New Mexico for the following user profile: a single, 30-year-old male with a clean driving record who drives a 2012 Honda Accord and pays a $1,000 deductible for the state’s minimum liability insurance. We averaged rates for the twenty most populous cities in New Mexico.
Best Car Insurance Companies in New Mexico
The Insurify Composite Score is calculated by analyzing multiple factors that indicate the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company. Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch; J.D. Power ratings, Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys, mobile app reviews, and user-generated company reviews. The following are the top-rated companies that offer car insurance in New Mexico. For the complete list, see Insurify’s best car insurance companies.
Most Popular Car Insurance Companies in New Mexico
You’ve seen and heard their commercials and can probably repeat some slogans. According to the Insurance Information Institute, these are the top 5 most popular car insurance companies in New Mexico by market share:
- State Farm
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in New Mexico by City
Every city is unique. Even towns that are a quick car ride apart can have drastically different auto insurance rates. Take a glance at how the same driver’s auto insurance quotes vary in each of the five most populated cities in New Mexico:
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in New Mexico by Profile
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in New Mexico based on averaged sample rates for four driver profiles that included varied gender, age, driving history, credit, marital status, prior insurance, higher education, employment, and military service. Average rates may vary depending on the profile and background of the policyholder
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Drivers with a DUI
Sometimes one mistake can cause unforeseen consequences. A DUI or DWI may lead to fines, SR-22 filing, reinstatement fees, and years of more costly car insurance. It’s challenging to find affordable rates for car insurance with a DUI. If you’re having a tough time finding an affordable price, then consider getting liability-only coverage.
Here are the cheapest rates we could track down for New Mexico drivers with a DUI:
Insurance Company Quotes
State Farm $40/month
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Drivers with a Speeding Ticket
We’ve all done it in efforts to avoid being late. But the one time you get caught earns you a ticket and tardiness. Speeding puts points on your license, especially when reckless or excessive. Clocking in early three minutes can cost you three years of paying more for car insurance.
How can you lower your cost? Start by easing off the gas pedal and maybe sign up for a defensive driving course or other discount programs to save money.
Insurance Company Quotes
State Farm $36/month
Central Mutual $44/month
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Drivers with an At-Fault Accident
A car accident happens every 12 minutes in New Mexico. Even a fender bender can raise your insurance rates. That’s why some people pay a little extra for accident forgiveness.
It’s a smart idea to shop around when it’s time for policy renewal. Some companies will only look at the last three years, while others go back five.
Take a look at the best rates we could find for drivers with one at-fault accident:
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Young Drivers Under 40
The adage is “age before beauty.” One benefit of getting older is that insurance rates go down. Insurance companies charge inexperienced drivers more because they see them as a higher risk. USAA offers a competitive car insurance rate for young drivers averaging at $18 per month.
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Foreign Drivers
If you plan to drive legally in New Mexico, then you’ll want to make sure you prepare before you hop on the plane. New Mexico requires a valid driver’s license from your home country.
The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Department (MVD) also suggests that you get an International Driving Permit (IDP). You get your IDP before leaving your home country. Both forms of ID make it easier for law enforcement and reduces your hassle if you’re ever pulled over.
Along with the driver’s license and IDP, you also need insurance to drive in New Mexico. If you’re planning to stay for the long term, then you want to buy traditional car insurance. To find the cheapest car insurance options, use Insurify to compare quotes today.
Car Insurance Coverage for Undocumented Immigrants in New Mexico
New Mexico is one of 14 states that issue driver licenses to undocumented immigrants, of which the state has 85,000. You or your undocumented family member can apply for a Standard Driver’s License from the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Department (MVD).
You must bring to any MVD Field Office:
New Mexico State Insurance Laws
Every state has unique car insurance laws and requirements. Familiarize yourself with New Mexico’s prior to hitting the road.
State Minimum Car Insurance Coverage in New Mexico
The state of New Mexico requires all motor vehicle operators to have proof of insurance available in the car at all times.
The minimum bodily injury liability insurance requirements in New Mexico are:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
Bodily injury liability coverage protects you by paying for the injuries of anyone you harm in an accident. The minimum limits New Mexico state law requires are $25,000 for the injury or death of a single person involved in a car accident and $50,000 for the injury or death of multiple persons. Insurance providers list this coverage at 25/50, stating the limitations of each minimum. In an accident, liability coverage protects you up to the policy limit. Damages above the policy limit of $50,000 are your responsibility.
The minimum property damage liability insurance requirements in New Mexico are:
- $10,000 property damage liability per accident
Property damage liability coverage pays for any property that you damage in an accident. The state of New Mexico requires $10,000 for the minimum. You’ll see the collective state minimum listed at 25/50/10. The 10 refers to the property damage liability. Once again, any damages above the $10,000 are your responsibility.
Optional Supplemental Coverage
The bodily injury and property damage liability coverage do not protect damages to your vehicle at all. To protect your car, you must add comprehensive insurance coverage and collision insurance coverage.
Both coverages require you to pay a deductible before the insurance company helps you repair it. Typical deductibles are $500 or $1,000. You can choose a higher deductible to lower your overall premium.
When drivers say they have “full coverage,” they’re saying they have the liability coverage along with comprehensive and collision. You’ll need full coverage if you have a car loan or lease. People who own their vehicle outright may go with “liability only” skipping any protection for their car.
Comprehensive insurance coverage pays for physical damage to your vehicle for losses caused by events other than a collision. Sometimes insurance providers label comprehensive as “other than collision” coverage. It covers losses due to animals, falling objects, fire, flood, hail, theft, and vandalism.
Collision insurance coverage pays for physical damage to your vehicle that results from colliding with an object such as a light pole or other cars.
What happens if someone hits you, and they do not have insurance or enough insurance to pay for your damages? Consider that the Insurance Information Institute reports 20.8 percent or over one out of five New Mexico drivers has no insurance. You may want to add uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage to protect yourself.
Uninsured motorists bodily injury pays your medical expenses if you’re injured by a hit-and-run driver or one who has no insurance.
Underinsured motorist bodily injury pays your medical expenses if you’re hit by someone who does not have high enough policy limits to cover your costs.
Medical Payments coverage, or Med Pay, covers you and your passengers’ medical expenses regardless of fault. Be careful sometimes Med Pay duplicates benefits you already have through your health insurer.
Am I liable if I cause a car accident in New Mexico?
New Mexico is an at-fault state, meaning the driver who caused the accident pays damages.
The bodily injury liability insurance coverage of the at-fault driver pays for the medical expenses of the other injured parties in a car accident. The property damage liability coverage pays to repair the other driver’s vehicle.
New Mexico works on a comparative fault system. That means that after the court determines the percentage of fault, the compensation will match. For example, say someone sideswipes you, and the court rules that the other driver is 80 percent at fault and you’re 20 percent at fault for not avoiding. If the damages are $10,000, you’ll receive $8,000.
Texting and Driving and Distracted Driving in New Mexico
Here’s an outline of the laws surrounding texting and driving in New Mexico:
- The state prohibits all vehicle operators from texting while driving.
- The law considers you to be driving even if you’re stopped for traffic, at a stop sign, or at a stoplight.
- New Mexico does not prohibit talking on the phone unless your commercial driver.
- Commercial drivers violate the law when they text or talk on the phone while driving.
- The law allows for the following exceptions:
- getting the help of a medical or emergency services
- working devices through voice operation or hands-free mode
- using navigation systems or GPS
- operating devices that are electronically or physically integrated into the vehicle
- It’s a $25 fine for the first violation and a $50 fine for the second or later violations
SR-22 Insurance in New Mexico
Do you need an SR-22 filing because the state has suspended or revoked your license? The law may require an SR-22 if you’ve been convicted of driving without insurance, a DUI, a DWI, a moving violation, or other serious offense.
In New Mexico, many insurance providers will file the SR-22 on your behalf, including Acceptance, Ameriprise, Dairyland, Esurance, Farmers, Foremost, Gainsco, GEICO, The General, National General, Hallmark, Mendota, Progressive, Safeco, Safeway, Stillwater Titan, and Victoria.
Special Insurance Programs
Most New Mexico drivers buy traditional insurance policies. But drivers with personal means may want to self-insure. To do so, you must provide evidence in the form of a surety bond or cash deposit for $60,000 to the New Mexico State Treasurer.
New Mexico Driving Facts
DWI and the Legal Alcohol Limits
- A DWI, or DUI, is driving with the influence of alcohol or drugs. Drinking and driving results in hefty fines, higher insurance rates, loss of license, and jail sentences.
- In New Mexico, If you’re:
- 21 or over, it’s against the law to drive with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or more.
- Under 21, it’s against the law to drive with a blood alcohol concentration of .02 or more.
- Driving a commercial vehicle, it’s against the law to drive with a blood alcohol concentration of .04 or more.
- You’ll most likely lose your license for a year if you refuse a test or have a blood test or breathalyzer that results above the legal limit.
- You can still be convicted of a DWI if your blood alcohol level is below the legal limit, but you’re proven to be impaired.
- A first-offense DWI penalty is up to 90 days of jail time, up to a $500 fine, and 24 hours of community service.
What are the child passenger laws?
- New Mexico law says all passengers, whether in the front or back of the vehicle, must wear a seatbelt.
- Children 6 and under or those weighing less than 60 pounds must be in a car seat.
- Children ages 7 to 12 must be in a booster seat until an adult seat fits them.
- Children must be in a rear-facing car seat until age 1 and 20 pounds. The state suggests that children stay rear-facing if possible until the child reaches 35 pounds.
- New Mexico is a primary enforcement seat belt law state, meaning law enforcement can stop you if they see any unrestrained passenger in a vehicle.
New Mexico Auto Insurance FAQs
What happens if I get caught driving uninsured in New Mexico?
The Mandatory Financial Responsibility Act requires all drivers to guarantee their financial responsibility in case of an accident. Violating this law is a misdemeanor in the state of New Mexico and can cause the suspension of your vehicle registration. Driving without insurance can result in a $300 fine or up to 90 days of jail time. The court has discretion and can require both. Failure to return your license plate and vehicle registration after a suspension can cause the fine to increase to $1,000. Along with the higher penalty, the court may also require up to six months of jail time.
How is fault assigned after a car accident in New Mexico?
New Mexico is an at-fault state, which means the person who is the cause, or “at fault,” for the accident pays for medical expenses and damages. In a no-fault insurance state, the insurance provider pays regardless of fault.
Who has the cheapest car insurance in New Mexico?
The best way to find the cheapest car insurance for New Mexico drivers is to compare quotes from the insurance providers available in your area. Find a car insurance quote comparison tool like Insurify to compare up to 10+ real quotes for your driver profile and unlock savings and discounts. Rates can vary based on your driving history and personal profile, but you should be able to find a competitive price. Insurify provides the cheapest car insurance quotes and companies in your area in just a few seconds.
New Mexico DMV Information
New Mexico MVD has 32 field offices and contracts with 39 municipalities to run their own offices. All offices are closed on federally observed holidays.
The MVD is walk-in friendly, but you may need to schedule an appointment for VIN inspection if you’re registering a vehicle from another state. Those new to the state must go down to a field office to transfer a license. New Mexicans can get a new ID card or driver’s license, register a vehicle, pick up a license plate, and perform other services.
You can verify your insurance through the New Mexico Insurance Identification Database here. And the MVD’s online portal allows you to renew your registration, change your address, pay tickets, replace your license or ID, order personalized plates, register to vote, and other services.
New Mexico has out-of-this-world wonders, but you can save big with down-to-earth insurance rates…even if you live in Roswell.
The best rates, coverage, and companies personalized for your price point is only a few moments away. Get a free quote with an auto insurance comparison site like Insurify.
Browse, Compare, Discover with Insurify today!
Score savings on car insurance with Insurify