For drivers with a DUI or DWI offense in Utah, it’s important that you evaluate all of your potential insurance options to ensure you are finding the best rate. Comparing the right insurance companies after this incident will allow you to get the best possible insurance rate after a DUI.
To simplify comparing companies, Insurify has analyzed rates from top insurance providers in Utah. The following are the best insurance rates from carriers that offer car insurance for drivers with a DUI in Utah.
In Utah, a DUI or DWI offense will on average have drivers paying $344 per month and $4,128 per year for their car insurance rates.
Compared to drivers with a clean driving record, that is on average an 91% increase on car insurance rates for drivers with a DUI. So in order, to find an affordable monthly rate after a DUI, comparison tools like Insurify become essential to finding the best rate.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
It may be years before you really understand how much a DUI impacts your life. But you can anticipate higher car insurance rates right away. By how much and for how long? DUI drivers experience a 91 percent increase in car insurance rates in Utah. They pay $164.44 more than non-DUI drivers, at a monthly average of $344.44.
Rates generally stay elevated for three to five years, over which time you will have paid nearly $10,000 more to insure your ride. Keeping a clean driving record from here on out is optimal. After several good driving years, rates can decrease considerably.
|Average Percent Increase After DUI|
Individual circumstances dictate how much someone will pay for car insurance. However, looking at averages gives us a very good idea of the range of rates you can expect both before and after a DUI. If you have a DUI in Utah, expect to pay an average of $344 for insurance. Averages also tell us that drivers without a DUI pay $164 less.
Utah ranks 30th for insurance costs after a DUI. This means that compared to the rest of the country, your insurance costs would be more in 29 other states.
|Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
In some states, DUIs are considered by the courts forever. In Utah, the lookback period is 10 years. This means that the courts recognize every impaired driving offense within 10 years for the purposes of handing down penalties and punishments.
For example, if you get pulled over a second time for a DUI in Utah and already have an offense on your record—and it's less than 10 years old—the court will hand down harsher penalties.
Utah has the nation's lowest drunken driving limit at .05 blood alcohol content (BAC). Going over this limit means subjecting yourself to fines, jail time, and loss of your driver's license, among other things.
If it's your first offense in Utah, you'll face up to six months in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, and 90 days without your license. You may also be required to use an ignition interlock device. Penalties increase with each subsequent DUI offense. They also increase if someone under 16 is in the vehicle at the time of your offense.
Use Insurify for all of your car insurance comparison needs! Compare and connect directly with the top insurance companies to find the best rates as well as the most personalized discounts and coverage options.
Insurify’s network includes over 200 insurance companies throughout the U.S. who can work with you to get you the right auto insurance policy at the cheapest price.
The car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations on this page are derived from Insurify’s proprietary database of over 4 million car insurance applications from ZIP codes across the United States. Insurify’s data science team performs a comprehensive analysis of the various factors car insurance providers take into account while setting rates to provide readers insight into how car insurance quotes are priced.