4.8out of 3,000+ reviews

Utah Car Insurance Laws and Requirements (2022)

Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
auto insurance

Why you can trust Insurify

Insurify is America's highest-rated insurance comparison platform. We partner with the nation's top insurance companies and are licensed as an agent in all 50 states. However, the insurance experts writing our content operate independently of our partners, and you can learn more about how we make money by viewing our advertising disclosures. Also check out reviews from over 3,000 satisfied customers, our data methodology, and our editorial standards.

Why you can trust Insurify

Insurify is America's highest-rated insurance comparison platform. We partner with the nation's top insurance companies and are licensed as an agent in all 50 states. However, the insurance experts writing our content operate independently of our partners, and you can learn more about how we make money by viewing our advertising disclosures. Also check out reviews from over 3,000 satisfied customers, our data methodology, and our editorial standards.
Maria Sanchez
Written by
Maria Sanchez
Photo of an Insurify author
Written by
Maria Sanchez
Insurance Writer
Maria Sanchez is a personal finance writer specializing in auto, home, and renters insurance. With a special interest in educational content, Maria distills complex financial information to be more accessible to the greater public. She holds degrees from the University of Massachusetts and the London School of Economics.
Jackie Cohen
Edited by
Jackie Cohen
Photo of an Insurify author
Edited by
Jackie Cohen
Editorial Manager
Jackie Cohen is an editorial manager at Insurify specializing in property & casualty insurance educational content. She has years of experience analyzing insurance trends and helping consumers better understand their insurance coverage to make informed decisions about their finances.Jackie's work has been cited in USA Today, The Balance, and The Washington Times.

Updated June 17, 2022

Utah law dictates the minimum requirements for insurance coverage that all drivers must carry. All drivers in Utah must hold 25/65/15 in liability insurance, as well as $3,000 in personal injury protection. While uninsured motorist coverage is not required by law, buying it is encouraged. Additionally, drivers can pick from a long list of extra coverages for added protection.

Quick Facts

  • Car insurance is required by law in Utah.

  • Drivers in Utah must carry 25/65/15 in liability and 3,000 in PIP coverage.

  • If caught driving uninsured, drivers face at least $400 in fines for a first offense.

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Utah

The minimum car insurance requirements in Utah[1] are:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person

  • $65,000 for bodily injury liability per accident

  • $15,000 for property damage liability per accident

  • $3,000 for personal injury protection per accident

Uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UI) coverage isn’t part of Utah’s minimum auto insurance requirements, but it is suggested. Insurance companies will offer it for your policy, but it can be rejected in writing. Also, know that Utah is a no-fault state. This means that your PIP will help pay for any losses that you or other passengers in your car suffer, like injuries or other damage.

Why is car insurance required in Utah?

Auto insurance protects drivers from financial liability in the event of an accident. Depending on a policy’s specific coverage limitations, car insurance may cover everything from vehicle damage to medical bills.

Bodily Injury Liability

Bodily injury liability is part of your liability car insurance coverage. If you cause an accident, this coverage will help cover the other party’s medical expenses. This type of coverage will not cover your own medical expenses for injuries sustained in a car accident you caused. Bodily injury liability coverage is required in Utah.

Property Damage Liability

Property damage liability is the other half of your liability car insurance. It covers repair costs and damage expenses to the other cars involved in an accident you caused. This coverage does not cover damage to your own car in an accident you were at fault for. Property damage liability coverage is required in Utah.

Personal Injury Protection

Personal injury protection, also known as PIP, covers medical bills, lost wages, and replacement services for you and other members of your household if you’re injured in a car accident. PIP provides coverage regardless of who is at fault for an accident. Personal injury protection is required in Utah, making it a no-fault state.

See More: Cheap Car Insurance in Utah

Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly

Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.

Is state minimum car insurance enough in Utah?

The minimum required car insurance coverage in Utah provides drivers with a solid foundation of auto insurance coverage, but it may not be enough for everyone. For example, the minimum amount only requires $15,000 in property damage, but car repairs can often cost much more than that. You might want to consider adding extra coverage so you’re not stuck paying big bills.

In addition, Utah auto insurance law only mandates $3,000 in personal injury protection. While that amount is definitely useful, it will probably only cover the bare minimum for you and other passengers in your car who suffer injuries or losses in an auto accident. If you’re able to afford more insurance, it could be worth adding more coverage to your auto insurance policy.

Optional Car Insurance Coverage for Utah

Utah drivers who want to be protected in any situation should consider bolstering the minimum car insurance coverage with the following supplemental car insurance coverages:

Collision Coverage

Collision coverage covers damages to your car after a collision with another vehicle or object. If your vehicle is a total loss, collision coverage will reimburse you for the actual cash value of your vehicle. This is a great addition to the required property damage liability coverage in Utah, which applies only to the damages to the other driver’s vehicle.

Comprehensive Coverage

Complementing your collision coverage, comprehensive insurance covers damage to your vehicle that occurs during an event that is not a collision with another vehicle or object. This may apply in situations of vandalism, theft, weather damage, or a run-in with an animal. Adding comprehensive and collision coverage together creates a full-coverage car insurance policy.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

If an uninsured or underinsured (UM/UI) driver causes an accident and you suffer bodily injury, uninsured motorist coverage will cover your medical expenses. If the at-fault driver surpasses their bodily injury liability coverage limits, your underinsured motorist coverage will cover the rest of your medical expenses. It can also be useful in a hit-and-run accident.

Other Supplemental Coverage

Insurance companies offer plenty of add-ons that allow you to customize your policy to your own needs and driver profile. For example, if you want support for when your car needs to be taken to the shop for repairs after an accident, consider getting rental car reimbursement. This helps pay for a rental while yours is getting fixed. It could be worth it if you’re at a higher risk of accidents.

Roadside assistance is another add-on that offers support in case you encounter any car troubles. For example, services usually include an on-call tow truck, help changing a flat tire, jump-starting a dead battery, help if you lock yourself out of your car, and delivering gasoline to your car if you run out while on the road. A few extra dollars can help give you peace of mind.

See More: Average Cost of Car Insurance in Utah

Penalties for Driving Uninsured in Utah

It is illegal to drive in Utah without the minimum car insurance coverage. Failing to show a law enforcement officer your proof of insurance when they ask counts as a misdemeanor and can significantly impact your driving record. Not only that, but you could face some serious penalties if you become a repeat offender. Always carry insurance any time you operate a motor vehicle[2].

  • First offense: a fine of $400 minimum

  • Second offense within three years of a previous conviction: a fine of $1,000

If you’re convicted for failing to show proof of insurance, the Utah Department of Public Safety (DPS) is required to suspend your driver’s license. You are not allowed to renew or reinstate your license until you can provide proof of the owner’s or operator’s security and pay the reinstatement fee. Then, the DPS will notify the department of motor vehicles to reinstate it.

See More: High-Risk Car Insurance in Utah

Minimum Requirements for High-Risk Drivers in Utah

Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is illegal everywhere. Getting caught can severely hurt your driving history, cause your auto insurance rates to jump, make it less likely for a lender to give you a car lease or loan, and add extra steps to get your driving rights back. High-risk drivers need to provide more documents to get back on the road.

For example, to reinstate their registration, high-risk drivers need to present a list of items. One of these is an SR-22, which is a form that provides proof of financial responsibility. An insurance agent needs to help you purchase an SR-22 and add it to your policy. On top of that, they must also show evidence of ownership, a form of identification, and more.

More Information for High-Risk Drivers in Utah

DUI Insurance in Utah

SR-22 Insurance in Utah

Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Utah

Car insurance companies weigh different factors to determine what to quote drivers on their car insurance policies. Minimum coverage generally means lower car insurance rates. It also means low coverage limits, which may cost you if you’re ever involved in an accident. Here are the cheapest car insurance quotes for minimum coverage in Utah.

Insurance CompanyMonthly Quote for Minimum Coverage
Travelers$77
Progressive$103
Dairyland$128
Liberty Mutual$135
Nationwide$149
Bristol West$151
Disclaimer: actual quotes may vary based on the policyholder's unique driver profile.

See More: Best Car Insurance in Utah

How to Find Cheap Car Insurance in Utah

Whether you’re looking to get the minimum required coverage or customize your policy to fit your needs, getting a car insurance policy shouldn’t break the bank. Drivers can get a cheap rate by shopping around first. Insurify makes it easy to compare car insurance quotes from hundreds of companies. All it takes is a few minutes to get started to get your free quote today.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Yes, Utah drivers are required to carry 25/65/15 in liability insurance, which covers both bodily injury and property damage caused to the other party, as well as $3,000 in personal injury protection for yourself and your passengers. Anyone who fails to show law enforcement proof of insurance can face some severe penalties that only get worse if you’re a repeat offender.

  • Yes, Utah is a no-fault insurance state. Usually enforced by including personal injury protection as a requirement in the minimum amount of car insurance, this means that you and other passengers in your car are protected in the case of an accident, no matter who caused it.

  • No, Utah doesn’t require uninsured motorist protection, but it is required. While carrying the minimum amount of auto insurance is a state law, some drivers might still be able to find ways around it. Carrying this type of coverage will make sure you’re not stuck paying out of pocket if you get into a collision with an uninsured driver or worse, a hit-and-run.

  • Yes, drivers need to show proof of car insurance at registration, in addition to a number of other documents and paying a fee.

  • There are always ways to save on your car insurance, like bundling auto with an existing renters or homeowners policy or looking for discounts. But the easiest way to get a great deal is by shopping around for rates first. Use Insurify to compare car insurance quotes side by side to ensure you’re getting the most bang for your buck.

Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly

Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
  • Data scientists at Insurify analyzed over 40 million auto insurance rates across the United States to compile the car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations displayed on this page. The car insurance data includes coverage analysis and details on drivers' vehicles, driving records, and demographic information. With these insights, Insurify is able to offer drivers insight into how their car insurance premiums are priced by companies.

Sources

  1. Rocky Mountain Insurance Information Association. "State Minimum Car Insurance Requirements." Accessed June 15, 2022
  2. Department of Motor Vehicles. "Penalties for Driving Uninsured." Accessed June 16, 2022
Maria Sanchez
Written by
Maria Sanchez

Insurance Writer

Maria Sanchez is a personal finance writer specializing in auto, home, and renters insurance. With a special interest in educational content, Maria distills complex financial information to be more accessible to the greater public. She holds degrees from the University of Massachusetts and the London School of Economics.

Learn More
Jackie Cohen
Edited by
Jackie Cohen
Linkedin

Editorial Manager

Photo of an Insurify author
Edited by
Jackie Cohen
Editorial Manager
Jackie Cohen is an editorial manager at Insurify specializing in property & casualty insurance educational content. She has years of experience analyzing insurance trends and helping consumers better understand their insurance coverage to make informed decisions about their finances.Jackie's work has been cited in USA Today, The Balance, and The Washington Times.