As "The Green Mountain State", Vermont is the second healthiest state in the U.S. Not a suprise when you consider that state's 272 miles of hiking trails. Kind of surprising when you consider it's also the home of Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream.
Requirement : Yes
Car insurance is required in Vermont . Drivers must have a minimum of liability, and uninsured motorist coverage.
Minimum Coverage Car Insurance Requirements:
A minimum liability, and uninsured motorist coverage is required:
Other Car Insurance Coverage Options:
Liability, and uninsured coverage is the only requirements for Vermont motorist to have, there are several other types of coverage available to drivers:
Other Forms of Financial Responsibility:
Other legal ways around buying car insurance include:
Proof of Insurance: Yes
You must carry proof of insurance and registration with your vehicle at all times.
Valid forms of proof of financial responsibility include:
Violations, Fines & Penalties:
A SR-22 may be required after a suspension in order to get your driver’s license reinstated. An SR-22 certificate only certifies proof of insurance of minimum requirements, it is not insurance.
Credit Scores & Determining Your Insurance Premium :
All Vermont drivers are required to have car insurance, however, insurance providers are reserved the right to deny coverage to high-risk drivers. High-risk drivers should try to find a provider that specializes in high-risk, non-standard drivers.
Other factors that may be used to determine your premiums include:
Discounts : Yes
Discounts available in Vermont:
Drivers under the age of 18 are banned from using their cell phones while driving. All drivers are prohibited from texting while driving. Texting violations are considered primary offenses. Violators face a $100 fine for first offense, $250 fine for subsequent offenses.