Getting behind the wheel while you're intoxicated is a bad idea. It's against the law. You could hurt yourself, or worse, you could hurt others. There's no upside to driving drunk; the best-case scenario is you're pulled over before hitting anything or anyone. The legal blood alcohol level in Nebraska is .08, so if you've been drinking, find another way to get to your next destination.
Your financial well-being is another reason to avoid a DUI in Nebraska. If charged, you're looking at a pile of legal fees and fines. Your car insurance rates are almost certain to go up, too, even if you're a first-time offender. Car insurance companies base a lot of their pricing on risk. If a company sees you have a DUI on your driving record, it is going to consider you a greater risk to insure, and your premium will reflect that. And if you were to ever get another DUI? Your car insurance rates will only get higher.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
A DUI charge will have a negative impact on your life for some time. It will be a mark on your driving record; it might affect your ability to get a job (or cost you your current one); and from a financial standpoint, a lot of your money will go toward fines, legal fees, and a higher car insurance premium.
Maintaining a clean driving record is a good way to keep your car insurance rates low. In Nebraska, drivers without a DUI pay $148.52 less a month on their car insurance than those with a conviction. One lapse in judgment could raise your insurance costs almost 80 percent, to $334.52 a month. Hopefully this significant rate hike will make you think twice about getting behind the wheel after you've been drinking.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
You should still be able to find a company to insure you and your vehicle, even after a DUI charge in Nebraska. You might recognize some companies, like Liberty Mutual and Travelers. You may have to look into others, such as Dairyland Insurance. Travelers ($117) and Liberty Mutual ($140.23) offer some of the lower monthly insurance rates in Nebraska after a DUI.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|American Family Insurance||$160|
Your individual circumstances will dictate your car insurance rate after a DUI. However, most Nebraska drivers with a DUI on their record pay $334.52 a month to remain insured.This makes Nebraska the 35th most expensive state for car insurance after a DUI.
Choosing car insurance is a big decision for someone with a clean driving record. Having a DUI charge makes the decision an even bigger one. Take your time when comparing insurance companies' prices. Also, be sure to see what other insurance products they cover and what types of discounts you might be eligible for. Insuring your vehicle after a DUI will be expensive—every dollar you can save helps.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
A lookback period is how long a DUI remains on a driver's record. Nebraska's DUI lookback period is 15 years. That means if you were charged with another DUI within 15 years of the first one, it would be deemed a second offense and result in a harsher penalty. One the other hand, if a subsequent DUI came after the lookback period expired, it would be considered a first offense. Car insurance companies typically only look back three to five years regarding your DUI when determining your premium price.
Hopefully, you'll never have to deal with the fallout from a subsequent DUI. The first is damaging enough to your life and wallet. Maintain a clean driving record after your DUI charge to keep your insurance rates from increasing too much higher. Over time, your insurance premium should decrease as long as you avoid any more traffic violations.
First-time offenders typically face 7–60 days in jail, a $500 fine, and a six-month license revocation (one year if BAC is .15 or more) and could be eligible for an ignition interlock permit rather than having their vehicle(s) immobilized.
Nebraska DUI penalties for underage drivers are similar to what an adult DUI offender would face. The underage driver could also face criminal penalties if they're convicted in court and go through an alcohol assessment and treatment. Probationary penalties for underage, first-time DUI offenders include up to 60 days in jail with a minimum of two days or 120 hours of community service (if BAC is .15 or more), a $500 fine, license revocation of 60 days to a year, and alcohol assessment and treatment.