After the dust settles, drivers with DUIs have a multitude of questions. What happens next? What do I do now? How do I get out from under this mess? You can bet the state will have a lot to say about penalties and repayment. And you may have to get lawyers involved. While much is out of your hands, you can control how you go about finding the best insurance rates and coverage.
As an Alabama resident, your rates will go up after a DUI, no question. But the state increases are relatively average compared to the rest of the county. You may have some trouble getting insurance as cheap as your neighbor, but you don't have to take the first premium you find either. You can't possibly call every auto insurance provider in Alabama to talk pricing, but you can lean on an insurance comparison shopping site like Insurify. They'll sort through hundreds of carriers for you and find you the best rates based on your individual insurance profile.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
DUIs bring enough trouble in terms of fines, reinstatement fees, and charges for everything from court-ordered classes to ignition interlock devices. However, the impact of one lousy driving decision carries far beyond just the penalties handed down by the state. Car insurance pricing takes a critical hit, one you should consider before renewing your policy.
Once the insurance company discovers your DUI, rates increase by 86 percent (on average) in Alabama. You'll pay an average premium of $335—that's $155 more than you spent before your conviction. Remember, these are averages. The best way to find the most individualized rate is to shop around.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
Insurance rates jump significantly after a DUI in Alabama. While risky drivers won't necessarily get a break with great rates, they can do better if they shop around. Cost cutters will like to know that National General, GAINSCO, and SafeAuto offer you the cheapest rates in the state.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
Alabama ranks as the 34th most expensive state in which to buy auto insurance with a DUI. Premiums for drivers in this state average out to $335 a month. If that sounds high, that's because it is. Your new insurance cost is an 86 percent increase over what non-DUI drivers have to pay.
Residents in neighboring Georgia pay even more monthly for the same coverage. In this 11th most expensive state, motorists are looking at a rate that is hundreds of dollars more than Alabama drivers pay.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
Wondering how long that DUI will haunt you? Alabama motorists should know that the lookback period for a DUI in this state is 10 years. While DUI always remains on your record, the states only look back for that length of time when handing down penalties for future DUIs.
For example, if you get two DUIs within five years of each other, these are counted as your first and second offense. However, the same DUIs 10 years apart are not viewed in that manner. The state disregards the first DUI because it happened at least 10 years ago.
The state bases penalties for DUIs on prior convictions, blood alcohol content, and age (among other things). In general, DUI penalties include fines, imprisonment, license suspension, community service, having an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, and participation in a substance abuse program. The maximum penalties for a third DUI offense include fines of up to $10,000, a year in jail (including hard labor), and a three-year license suspension.
Alabama hands down double the minimum sentence in the following situations : having a blood alcohol content greater than .14 and having a child in your vehicle at the time of your arrest.