As we work together to slow the spread of COVID-19, state insurance commissions and insurance providers are constantly changing regulations and practices surrounding monthly payments, claim payouts, and more. To stay up to date with the latest on auto insurance reimbursements in your area, be sure to check with your state’s insurance commission and your current auto insurance provider.
If your driving habits have changed due to COVID-19, find a new, cheaper, ready-to-buy auto insurance policy on Insurify by comparing dozens of quotes at once.
Utah Auto Insurance and COVID-19
Utah has requested that auto insurers work with customers by considering premium discounts and refunds and providing options for non-renewal and missed payments. They’ve also requested insurers remain sensitive to issues with expired licenses as the Governor issued an emergency order suspending Utah’s vehicle, vessel, and trailer registration laws.
Find the lowest car insurance rates in two minutes
Ten world-class ski resorts, seven national monuments, five national parks, three million people, and one very salty lake—there’s no room in Utah for high auto insurance premiums.
Utah is utterly massive. With nearly 100,000 miles of roadway through both arid desert and snow-capped mountains, the Beehive State has something for everyone. On the roadways of Utah, there are over two million registered vehicles, so a solid auto insurance policy is essential for every Utah driver. So, whether you’re setting off to hit the slopes in Park City or climb the walls of Moab, or you’re lucky enough to call Utah home, we’ve got you covered. Compare the cheapest and best auto insurance quotes in Utah here.
For city-specific car insurance details, see our in-depth overview of Provo.
Cheapest Car Insurance in Utah
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in Utah for the following user profile: a single, 30-year-old male with a clean driving record who drives a 2012 Honda Accord and pays a $1,000 deductible for the state’s minimum liability insurance. We averaged rates from the twenty most populous cities in Utah to calculate the cheapest rates in Utah.
Insurance Quotes Quotes
State Farm $98/month
The General $137/month
Liberty Mutual $142/month
Best Car Insurance in Utah
With billboards on the road, commercials on the radio, and every other ad on TV touting a loud insurance provider claiming to be the best, cheapest, or most reliable, how do you mute out the noise and find the best option for you and your lifestyle? Data scientists at Insurify did the hard work for you.
The Insurify Composite Score is calculated by analyzing multiple factors that indicate the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company. Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch; J.D. Power ratings; Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys; mobile app reviews; and user-generated company reviews. The following are the top-rated companies that offer car insurance in Utah. For the complete list, see Insurify’s best car insurance companies.
Insurance Company Score Quotes
American Family 88 $158/month
Allstate 86 $80/month
State Farm 83 $98/month
Liberty Mutual 80 $142/month
Progressive 78 $24/month
Most Popular Car Insurance Companies in Utah
The American car insurance market is lead by a few key players. According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), these are the most popular car insurance companies in Utah by market share:
- State Farm
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Utah by City
Prices of auto insurance may fluctuate from company to company and city to city. Factors like driving history and age will also contribute to the price of your monthly premium. Auto insurance costs may vary greatly between locations and insurance companies. Just because one company offers the best rates for your driver profile in Salt Lake doesn’t mean it’ll do the same in Sandy.
Insurify analyzed the latest data for five of the most populous cities in Utah to find you the cheapest quotes in each of these metropolitan areas.
|Salt Lake City||Progressive||$48/month|
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Utah by Profile
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in Utah based on averaged sample rates for four driver profiles that included varied gender, age, driving history, credit, marital status, prior insurance, higher education, employment, and military service.
USAA will frequently offer Utah residents some of the most competitive and cheapest auto insurance options but is only available to retired or current personnel of the U.S. military and their family members.
Cheap Car Insurance for Good Drivers
For Utah drivers with a clean record free of any moving violations, auto insurance rates may be significantly lower. Progressive offers the best options for good drivers in Utah, at $24 a month. With both cheaper premiums and safe driving discounts, it can really pay to have a record free of accidents or traffic tickets.
Cheap Car Insurance for High-Risk Drivers
High-risk drivers in Utah, including those with one or more traffic violations, may have to pay more for their car insurance premiums. High-risk drivers tend to have higher monthly premiums than the national average. Bear River offers the best deal for drivers with a DUI, speeding tickets, or at-fault accidents on their record at $30-$32 per month. Average rates for high-risk drivers tend to be higher than other drivers.
Cheap Car Insurance for Drivers with DUI in Utah
If you’re convicted of a DUI in Utah, you may be paying the price for years to come. For a decade after a DUI offense, drivers can be penalized on their insurance premiums. First time DUI offenses in Utah can lead to jail time, court and reinstatement fees, SR-22 filings and license suspensions. It’s no secret that DUIs have major repercussions. Here are the best rates we could find for Utah drivers with a DUI:
Finding affordable rates on car insurance with a DUI can be challenging, but it isn’t impossible. You should consider using an insurance quote comparison website like Insurify to help you find the lowest quote from the best company!
Cheap Car Insurance for Drivers with an At-Fault Accident in Utah
When even a small fender-bender causes a spike in your car insurance costs, its best to choose the right policy before it’s too late. If you’ve opted into accident forgiveness, you may have caught a break. But if you haven’t, finding the right discounts may save your budget.
If you have an at-fault accident on your driving record, it’s important to shop for a new policy every chance you get to renew. Insurance companies look at different time windows for driving history. For example, one company might look at the last five years while another looks at the last three.
Here are the best rates we could find for drivers with one at-fault accident:
Cheap Car Insurance for Speeding Drivers in Utah
Getting to your destination a few minutes ahead of schedule may not be worth the years of increased insurance premiums that result from a speeding ticket. The more demerits a driver has on their driving record, the more demerits they may get on their driver’s license. More demerits means higher premiums.
To recover from the effect of speeding tickets on your driving record, search for discount programs you may be eligible for, or a defensive driving course.
Cheap Car Insurance for Young Drivers
If you’re under 40 years old in the state of Utah, you will likely pay more for auto insurance coverage than the average driver. Inexperienced drivers often pose a higher risk for insurance providers, so their rates are often increased accordingly. USAA Insurance offers the cheapest car insurance rates for young drivers, averaging $31 a month. New drivers must abide by special driving restrictions, including curfews, electronic device limitations, and passenger age restrictions. Be sure to familiarize yourself with these rules before hitting the road.
Insurance Company Quotes
Bear River $33/month
Auto Owners $42/month
Insurance policies for 21-year-olds generally run higher than the national average by a significant margin. Even though they’re no longer considered teen-drivers, 21-year-olds are still regarded as high-risk to insurers. To find the cheapest car insurance for 21-year-olds, use a car insurance quotes comparison site like Insurify.
Car Insurance for Drivers with Poor Credit
Unfortunately, it can be challenging to find cheap car insurance in Utah if you have a poor credit score.
Utah car insurers are permitted to use credit score as a factor when calculating the risk of any given policyholder, meaning they can increase your insurance rates if you have bad credit.
Insurers have found that drivers with poor credit histories are more likely to file auto insurance claims. To account for the increased risk, insurers raise insurance premiums for bad drivers. Car insurance premiums fluctuate based on many factors, not just credit score, depending on where you live in Utah. Having good credit can save you a whole lot of cash in the long run.
Utah Auto Insurance Laws
Requirements and laws vary from state to state. Be sure to familiarize yourself with Utah’s minimum
State Minimum Coverage Requirements in Utah
All motor vehicles operated or parked on Utah roadways are required to be insured. Proof of insurance must be carried in your car at all times and must available when:
- Requested by law enforcement
- Renewing vehicle registration
- The vehicle is involved in a car accident
Though coverage options vary between insurance companies, some are not optional. The minimum liability car insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in Utah are as follows:
- $25,000 per person/$65,000 per accident for Bodily Injury (BI)
Bodily injury liability coverage protects drivers if their car is involved in an accident that harms another individual. The minimum limits required by Utah state law are $25,000 for the death or injury of a single victim as a result of a car accident and $65,000 for the deaths or injuries of multiple victims. Insurance companies list this type of coverage as 25/65, referring to the dollar limitations of each minimum. If you’re in an accident, liability coverage will cover the cost of a legal proceeding as a result of a crash. Bodily injury coverage is part of the minimum coverage required by Utah law.
- $15,000 per accident for Property Damage (PD)
The state minimum amount of property damage liability coverage required in the state of Utah is $15,000. If an insured driver is determined to be at fault and held liable in a motor vehicle accident, this coverage pays for damage repair to another individual’s property. Property damage coverage will also pay for legal costs if an insured driver is involved in a lawsuit following an accident.
- $3,000/person Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) provides coverage for medical costs that drivers and their passengers may face after an accident. PIP coverage protects drivers even if they are found at-fault. Medical expenses are covered by this type of protection, and a minimum of $3,000 is required for minimum coverage in Utah.
Optional Supplemental Coverage
Comprehensive coverage and collision coverage pay for repairs to your car when it’s involved in an accident or stolen. Comprehensive coverage and collision coverage are two of the three basics that make up what’s commonly called a “full coverage” auto policy (liability, collision, and comprehensive). Coverage limits will differ from policy to policy.
Comprehensive insurance coverage covers “Acts of God” and things out of a person’s control, like fire or flood, but does not cover medical expenses or auto damage due to a collision.
Collision insurance coverage covers damage to objects (not animals or people) and vehicles as a result of a collision regardless of fault, including hit-and-run accidents, but doesn’t cover damage due to “Acts of God.”
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage are not required in Utah but can be a lifesaver in the event of an accident with an uninsured motorist. If involved in an accident with an individual without sufficient coverage, insured drivers will still be covered.
Medical Payments, or simply Med Pay, covers reasonable medical costs for you or your passengers in the case of injury from an accident. If a car accident results in serious bodily injury, Med Pay can help ease the stress of high medical bills after a hospital visit.
Am I liable if I cause a car accident in Utah?
Utah abides by a no-fault insurance system.
This means that if a driver is injured in a car accident, their car insurance coverage will help cover their medical bills and lost earnings, regardless of fault.
No-fault car insurance laws require drivers to file claims through compulsory Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. Damages collected from PIP claims may go towards medical expenses as a result of injuries from an accident, lost wages due to time away from work, substitute services if domestic help is needed, and funeral expenses.
AAA Car Insurance and Roadside Assistance In Utah
Locked your keys in the car? Battery dead? Flat tire? If you’ve ever found yourself in this situation, you’ve probably relied on the American Automobile Association (AAA) for roadside assistance. But did you know that AAA also offers automobile insurance for Utah drivers?
Divided into regional clubs, AAA insurance and roadside assistance operate throughout Utah. To find out which independent agents operate AAA insurance in your region, visit AAA’s website and search using your ZIP code.
Distracted Driving in Utah
Driving while using electronic devices is incredibly dangerous, and the cause of nearly 6,000 fatal crashes in Utah annually. Texting is forbidden for all drivers. Additionally, all cell phone use is banned for drivers under 18 years old and for bus drivers.
SR-22 Insurance in Utah
If your license has been suspended or revoked, these auto insurance companies will file an SR-22 with the state of Utah on your behalf. Utah‘s state licensing authority will inform drivers if they require SR-22 insurance. If you’ve been convicted of a DWI, moving violation, or other serious offense, you may be required to file for an SR-22.
Drivers who are found guilty of a DWI can face penalties of up to six months in jail, hundreds in fines and court fees, license suspension, and mandated installation of ignition interlocking devices for first-time offenders. Punishment worsens for subsequent offenses.
The lookback period in Utah is an entire decade, which means you’ll be paying the price for years after breaking the law. Lookback periods allow car insurance companies to penalize you by increasing premiums if you have demerits on your driving record.
In Utah, many insurance companies offer to file an SR-22 on your behalf, including Ameriprise, Dairyland, Esurance, Farmers, Foremost, GEICO, Good2Go, Mendota, National General, Progressive, Safeco, Stillwater, The General, United Auto, and Victoria.
Utah Auto Insurance FAQs
What does no-fault insurance mean?
One of just a handful of states, Utah abides by a no-fault auto insurance system. These laws mandate that every driver carry their own protection. Regardless of fault, after an accident, each driver’s own insurance policy covers damages. The logic of a no-fault state like Utah is that it will decrease litigation over culpability following an accident.
What is the penalty for driving uninsured in Utah?
Driving uninsured puts yourself and cars around you in great danger—never drive uninsured. If you’re caught driving uninsured in Utah, you face a Class B misdemeanor, which could put you in jail for up to six months and cost you thousands in fines, and reinstatement fees. For additional offenses, punishments worsen.
Who has the cheapest car insurance in Utah?
The best way to get the cheapest car insurance in Utah and save on your auto insurance premium is to compare quotes from all companies in your area. Use a car insurance quotes comparison site like Insurify to compare up to 10+ real quotes for your specific driver profile and unlock savings and discounts. Rates can fluctuate greatly based on whether you're a safe driver or a high risk one, but you should never overpay. Insurify provides the cheapest car insurance quotes and companies in your area in just a few seconds.
It Pays to Go Green in Utah
The state of Utah offers many green driver incentives including emissions test exemptions, tax breaks, and insurance discounts.
Federal income tax credits, Utah excise tax credits, equipment repair rebates, and special electricity rates may be granted to buyers of eco-friendly vehicles including electric cars, hybrids, plug-ins, diesel-powered, or alternative fuel vehicles.
If you’re thinking about your next big car purchase, consider a fuel-efficient vehicle—it’s good for both your wallet and the planet in the long run.
Utah Driver Services Information
The Utah Department of Motor Vehicles has dozens of outposts around the state, operating from 9 to 5 PM, with some special early morning, evening, and Saturday hours.
At the DMV, Utah residents can access services like driver’s license and ID card registration and renewal, vehicle registration, and license plate pick-up, as well as insurance information and services. For the shortest wait times, avoid planning your visit on Mondays and Fridays, or during lunch hours.
Regardless of where you live in Utah, a DMV shouldn’t be too far. Utah residents may be able to skip their visit altogether and get what they need through their online portal. Visitors may also utilize the services provided by the Utah Department of Insurance while visiting their local Department of Motor Vehicles.
Utah drivers can save big on their car insurance policies.
To find the best rates, companies, and coverage based on your personal metrics, get a free quote by using an auto insurance quotes comparison site like Insurify. From the Logan to Bluff, Utah drivers deserve to find the cheapest car insurance available.
Compare Utah car insurance companies today on Insurify.
Score savings on car insurance with Insurify