If you have a DUI, you already know you face a long road to recovery. Even after you have served time, paid penalties, and gotten back on the road, unforeseen consequences are everywhere—including increased car insurance rates.
Why do rates go up after a DUI? A DUI tells the insurance company that your risk status has changed. High-risk drivers tend to make more claims. To make up for claims you have made or will make in the future, auto insurance companies raise rates.
Though Iowa has some of the lowest car insurance rates in the nation for drivers with a DUI on their record, rates stay elevated for three to five years. In Iowa, this means paying upwards of $6,900 more for your insurance over time. The best way to take control financially after a DUI is to shop multiple carriers who can give you an individualized rate. The easiest way to do this is to leverage online insurance comparison websites like Insurify.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
Although the $1,250 fine for first-time offenders seems steep, the amount of money you'll spend on car insurance after a DUI in Iowa hurts even more. Car insurance rates increase by more than 76 percent for folks with a DUI on their record.
How does that compare to rates for a person with no DUI? Premiums for clean-record drivers average out to $150 per month. That's $115 less than the DUI driver who now pays $265.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
Don't consider only the most prominent names when shopping for car insurance. Although they are the most familiar, there are other options out there you may never have heard of. Dairyland Insurance and Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company are among the best auto insurance options after a DUI in Iowa.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|American Family Insurance||$123|
|Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company||$171|
When shopping for new insurance after a DUI, it helps to be aware of the average price car insurance companies will expect you to pay. Luckily, Iowa is low in the list of state rankings for the cost of insurance with a DUI. At 47th, drivers can find cheaper insurance after a DUI in only a handful of other states.
Iowa drivers with a DUI pay on average $265.43 per month. Drivers without a DUI on their record pay roughly $115 less. Though the rate you will pay may be close to the above average, it won't be exactly the same. Insurance rates are very personalized. The only way to know what prices are available for you is to explore all the options yourself.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
Though you may be paid up in terms of fines and penalties, you're not off the hook yet with a DUI. The state looks back in your driving record at any DUI you have had over a 12-year period. During this "lookback period" any DUI offenses you have (whether misdemeanor or not) count.
If you are able to keep a clean driving record for 12 years, any DUIs that have been on your record for that long will not count if you're sentenced for a subsequent DUI.
Driving while intoxicated in Iowa is penalized according to the number of offenses you have. While a first offense is a misdemeanor in this state, the third time you get caught is a felony. Consequences for DUI drivers include jail time, fines, and license suspension.
While each offense has different consequences, even penalties for a first DUI in Iowa are steep. First-time DUI drivers face 48 hours to a year in jail , probation, a fine of up to $1,250, loss of license for 180 days, and substance abuse evaluation and treatment.