4.8out of 3,000+ reviews

Hawaii Car Insurance Laws and Requirements (Updated August 2022)

Secure. Free. Easy-to-use.
Advertising disclosures
auto insurance

Why you can trust Insurify

Insurify partners with top insurance companies and is a licensed agent in all 50 states. However, the insurance experts writing our content operate independently of our partners. Check out reviews from over 3,000 satisfied customers, how we make money, our data methodology, and our editorial standards.
JJ Starr

By: JJ Starr

Edited by Jackie Cohen

Last Updated June 17, 2022

Why you can trust Insurify

Insurify partners with top insurance companies and is a licensed agent in all 50 states. However, the insurance experts writing our content operate independently of our partners. Check out reviews from over 3,000 satisfied customers, how we make money, our data methodology, and our editorial standards.

Hawaii law dictates the minimum requirements for insurance coverage that all drivers must carry. All drivers in Hawaii must hold 20/40/10 in liability coverage and personal injury protection (PIP). Uninsured motorist coverage is included but can be rejected in writing. Additionally, drivers can pick from a long list of additional coverages for added protection.

Quick Facts

  • Car insurance is required by law in Hawaii.
  • Drivers in Hawaii must carry 20/40/10 in liability, PIP, and, unless rejected in writing, uninsured motorist coverages.
  • If caught driving uninsured, drivers face $5,000 in fines and potential jail time.

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Hawaii

The minimum car insurance requirements in Hawaii[1] are:

  • $20,000 for bodily injury liability per person
  • $40,000 for bodily injury liability per accident
  • $15,000 for property damage liability per accident
  • $20,000 for personal injury protection per accident

Why is car insurance required in Hawaii?

Auto insurance protects drivers from financial liability in the event of an accident. Depending on a policy’s specific coverage limitations, car insurance may cover everything from vehicle damage to medical bills.

Bodily Injury Liability

Bodily injury liability is part of your liability car insurance coverage. If you cause an accident, this coverage will help cover the other party’s medical expenses. This type of coverage will not cover your own medical expenses for injuries sustained in a car accident you caused. Bodily injury liability coverage is required in Hawaii.

Property Damage Liability

Property damage liability is the other half of your liability car insurance. It covers repair costs and damage expenses to the other cars involved in an accident you caused. This coverage does not cover damage to your own car in an accident you were at fault for. Property damage liability coverage is required in Hawaii.

Personal Injury Protection

Personal injury protection, also known as PIP, covers medical bills, lost wages, and replacement services for you and other members of your household if you’re injured in a car accident. PIP provides coverage regardless of who is at fault for an accident. Personal injury protection is required in Hawaii.

See More: Cheap Car Insurance in Hawaii

Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly

  • Personalized quotes in 5 minutes or less
  • No signup required

Is state minimum car insurance enough in Hawaii?

The minimum required car insurance coverage in Hawaii provides drivers with a solid foundation of auto insurance coverage, but it may not be enough for everyone.

The average cost of medical care after a car accident is $57,000 per person, according to the CDC. Considering this, you can see how easy it is to max out minimum coverage limits in the event of an at-fault accident.

Optional Car Insurance Coverage for Hawaii

Hawaii drivers who want to be protected in any situation should consider bolstering the minimum car insurance coverage with the following supplemental car insurance coverages:

Collision Coverage

Collision coverage covers damages to your car after a collision with another vehicle or object. If your vehicle is a total loss, collision coverage will reimburse you for the actual cash value of your vehicle. This is a great addition to the required property damage liability coverage in Hawaii, which applies only to the damages to the other driver’s vehicle.

Comprehensive Coverage

Complementing your collision coverage, comprehensive insurance covers damage to your vehicle that occurs during an event that is not a collision with another vehicle or object. This may apply in situations of vandalism, theft, weather damage, or a run-in with an animal. Adding comprehensive and collision coverage together creates a full-coverage car insurance policy.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

If an uninsured (or underinsured) driver causes an accident and you suffer bodily injury, uninsured motorist coverage will cover your medical expenses. If the at-fault driver surpasses their bodily injury liability coverage limits, your underinsured motorist coverage will cover the rest of your medical expenses.

Other Supplemental Coverage

There are many supplemental coverage options in Hawaii. The most popular options include wage loss insurance, alternative care insurance (covers acupuncture, faith healing, and naturopathy care), death benefit coverage, funeral benefits, PIP deductible, and PIP managed care.

See More: Average Cost of Car Insurance in Hawaii

Penalties for Driving Uninsured in Hawaii

It is illegal to drive in Hawaii without the minimum car insurance coverage. If you are caught driving without insurance, you will face the following penalties[2].

  • Fine of at least $100 and up to $5,000
  • Community service in lieu of or in addition to paying your fine
  • License suspension of up to three months on your first offense
  • License suspension of up to one year on your subsequent offenses
  • Requirements to purchase nonrefundable car insurance for six months at a time

If you failed to show proof of insurance but were legally insured at the time of your citation, you must produce proof that you were legally insured at that time before you are convicted (i.e., before you go to court or at the time of your hearing).

See More: High-Risk Car Insurance in Hawaii

Minimum Requirements for High-Risk Drivers in Hawaii

If you are convicted of reckless driving, DUI, or another major offense, you will likely be required to file an SR-22 form with the DMV. You may also be required to file an SR-22 if you get too many points on your license. The SR-22 form must be filed on your behalf by your car insurance provider. And the SR-22 requirement is usually just one part of your penalty.

Drivers convicted of DUI in Hawaii must also face substance abuse rehabilitation, up to one year of license revocation, community service, and up to $1,000 in fines. A reckless driving penalty can include up to $1,000 in fines, up to 30 days of jail time, and possible license suspension.

More Information for High-Risk Drivers in Hawaii

DUI Insurance in Hawaii

SR-22 Insurance in Hawaii

Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Hawaii

Car insurance companies weigh different factors to determine what to quote drivers on their car insurance policies. Minimum coverage generally means lower car insurance rates. It also means low coverage limits, which may cost you if you’re ever involved in an accident. Here are the cheapest car insurance quotes for minimum coverage in Hawaii.

Insurance CompanyMonthly Quote for Minimum Coverage
Farmers$66
Midvale Home & Auto$67
Disclaimer: actual quotes may vary based on the policyholder's unique driver profile.

How to Find Cheap Car Insurance in Hawaii

Getting cheap car insurance is easier than you think. When you compare car insurance quotes before you buy a policy, you’re much more likely to save money on car insurance. You can compare real quotes from multiple companies with one form when you compare using Insurify’s free tools.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Yes. You are required to carry at least 20/40/10 in liability and personal injury protection in the state of Hawaii for as long as your vehicle is registered with the DMV. If your car is financed or leased, your lender or lessor may have additional car insurance requirements as part of your lending or leasing agreement.

  • Yes, Hawaii is a no-fault state. That means that your medical bills are paid for by your car insurance company up to your personal injury protection limits, no matter who is found at fault for the accident. Victims of severe injuries can sue for additional damages. At-fault drivers are still on the hook for damages to property that result from the collision.

  • No, Hawaii drivers are not required to carry uninsured motorist coverage. Your car insurance company must offer it to you, however. And, if you do not want the coverage, you must reject it in writing. Generally speaking, it is a good idea to carry uninsured motorist protection.

  • Yes. You are required to have car insurance at the time that you register your vehicle in Hawaii. State law also requires you to carry insurance throughout the registration period. If you decide to no longer carry car insurance on the vehicle, you are required to surrender your registration certificate for the vehicle and are prohibited from driving the vehicle unless you re-register it.

  • The best way to know you’re getting the lowest price for your car insurance policy is by comparing car insurance quotes before you buy. You can do so quickly and confidentially when you use Insurify.

Related Articles

Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly

  • Personalized quotes in 5 minutes or less
  • No signup required
  • Data scientists at Insurify analyzed over 40 million auto insurance rates across the United States to compile the car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations displayed on this page. The car insurance data includes coverage analysis and details on drivers' vehicles, driving records, and demographic information. With these insights, Insurify is able to offer drivers insight into how their car insurance premiums are priced by companies.

JJ Starr
JJ Starr
Linkedin

Insurance Writer

J.J. Starr is a health and finance writer with a background in banking, lending, and financial advising. She holds a Series 6, FINRA, and life insurance licensure and a master's degree from New York University. Through her writing, she strives to use her decade of experience to help consumers make sound financial choices. Connect with J.J. on LinkedIn.

Learn More

Sources

  1. Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs. "State Minimum Car Insurance Requirements." Accessed June 15, 2022
  2. Hawaii State Legislature. "Penalties for Driving Uninsured." Accessed June 16, 2022