From Tree-Planters to Cornhuskers: how all Nebraskans can save on car insurance.
With population growth down across the country, it may surprise some coastal folks to know that Nebraska is growing—about as fast as California and much faster than New York. The state overall has a lot of promise, like low crime rates, low cost of living, and growing job opportunities (Nebraska has one of the lowest unemployment rates in the country).
If you’re moving to the state or a lifetime Cornhusker, inexpensive insurance compared to the national average is in your future. Read on to learn the many ways to save big when it comes to buying car insurance in Nebraska.
Insurify’s rate comparison tool makes things even easier by helping you compare 6+ personalized car insurance quotes in less than two minutes. Browse, compare, discover with Insurify today!
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Nebraska
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in Nebraska for the following user profile: a single, 30-year-old male with a clean driving record who drives a 2012 Honda Accord and pays a $1,000 deductible for the state’s minimum liability insurance. We averaged rates for the twenty most populous cities in Nebraska.
Best Car Insurance Quotes in Nebraska
The Insurify Composite Score is calculated by analyzing multiple factors that indicate the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company. Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch; J.D. Power ratings; Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys; mobile app reviews; and user-generated company reviews. The following are the top-rated companies that offer car insurance in Nebraska. For the complete list, see Insurify’s best car insurance companies.
Most Popular Car Insurance Companies in Nebraska
Popularity in life can be hard to measure, but popularity in car insurance is, thankfully, easier to gauge. We used data provided by the Insurance Information Institute (III) to determine which companies have the largest market share in Nebraska. Auto insurance companies that wrote the largest amounts of direct premiums are considered to have a larger market share.
According to the III, these are the most popular car insurance companies in Nebraska by market share:
- State Farm
- Farmers Mutual of Nebraska
- American Family
- Farm Bureau Financial
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Nebraska by City
In real estate, the saying goes, “location, location, location.” The same is true for car insurance. Where you live has one of the largest impacts on your premium’s bottom line. Geographical location affects premium prices based on a few factors, including:
- Claim rates in the area
- Population density
- Traffic patterns
- Crime rates
- Weather patterns
Below are the cheapest auto insurance quotes we could find for each of the five most populous cities in Nebraska.
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Nebraska by Profile
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in Nebraska based on averaged sample rates for four driver profiles that included varied gender, age, driving history, credit, marital status, prior insurance, higher education, employment, and military service
Cheap Car Insurance for Nebraska Drivers with a DUI
If you’re caught driving under the influence of alcohol—legal limits are set at .08 percent or more blood alcohol content (BAC)—you’ll be arrested for a DUI in Nebraska. Life after a DUI is very, very expensive. The penalties for a DUI include:
- Seven to 60 days in jail
- Court fines up to $500
- Six-month to one-year possible driver’s license revocation
- Monthly probation costs of $25-35 for the duration of probation
- Possible ignition interlock device requirement plus monthly monitoring fees
- Possible substance abuse class
Not only are fines and court costs high, but SR-22 car insurance (more on this below) is also typically much higher than the average and increases remain for at least three years. This makes it difficult to save on car insurance, but it is still possible. Cost-saving tactics for drivers with a DUI to explore include:
- Comparison shop as different companies will calculate your risk differently
- Low mileage programs
- Removing comprehensive and/or collision coverage if possible
- Downsizing to a vehicle less expensive to insure
If you still can’t find an affordable rate, there are many drivers who forgo driving privileges for the duration of their probation. Those who can do so typically rely on public transportation or a relative for help getting around. While drastic, it can be a great option for some.
Here are the least expensive insurance premiums we found for drivers with a DUI:
Cheap Car Insurance for Nebraska Drivers with Speeding Tickets
A speeding ticket may not seem like much at the time, but it can still add up, especially for drivers with multiple speeding offenses. As speeding tickets will affect your driving record for at least two years in Nebraska, it’s important to slow down. Obeying speed limits not only avoids costly tickets and insurance prices, but it also saves on gas use and makes it less likely for you to be involved in a car accident.
After slowing down, and thus starting a clean driving record, drivers with speeding tickets can utilize a few other tricks to lower costs:
- Enroll in a telematics program that monitors driving habits and encourages safer driving practices
- Traffic school participation and defensive driving courses may lower rates depending on your insurance company
- Paperless and pay-in-full discounts
Cheap Car Insurance for Nebraska Drivers with an At-Fault Accident
An at-fault accident is one of the most common ways to increase premium rates. While the increase is likely to shock you, don’t despair for too long: there are many ways to nickel-and-dime some savings. For example,
- Combining other insurance, like renters and homeowners, for a multi-policy discount
- Automatic payment, paying in full, and paperless discounts
- Employer-based discounts
- Removing collision and/or comprehensive coverage if possible
- Downsizing to a less expensive vehicle
Comparison shopping often is a very good idea for drivers with an at-fault accident. Not only will different companies treat at-fault accidents differently, but different companies will also use different lengths of driving history.
The cheapest car insurance we could find for drivers with an at-fault accident in Nebraska are:
Cheap Car Insurance for Young Nebraska Drivers
Unfortunately, drivers with less experience are also more likely to get into a car accident. This, and other statistical evidence, is why car insurance premiums tend to be more expensive for young drivers. Luckily, so long as young drivers keep a clean driving record (and good credit!) premium costs will go down over time.
Until then, there are some excellent discount opportunities and other ways to save for young drivers:
- Good student discount
- Sharing a car and premium with a sibling or trusted friend
- Complete an insurer-approved defensive driving program
- Low mileage programs
Below are the cheapest rates we could find for young drivers in Nebraska.
Insurance Company Quotes
American National $14/month
EMC Insurance $20/month
Nebraska State Insurance Laws
State Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Nebraska
Minimum car insurance laws are as varied as the U.S. states. With each state enforcing different rules and regulations, it can be confusing to know what’s required from what’s recommended from what’s only going to make your premium more expensive. Let us help you with that.
In Nebraska, drivers are required to purchase car insurance coverage meeting at least the following minimums:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident
- $25,000 property damage liability coverage
- $25,000/$50,000 uninsured and underinsured motorist bodily injury protection
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage cannot be waived. Its minimums can be increased for drivers with families or those looking for added peace of mind. For increases, drivers typically need to notify their insurance company in writing.
What are the penalties for driving without insurance in Nebraska?
Drivers caught without insurance receive a $500 fine for a first offense. Additionally, the driver’s license and registration will be suspended until the driver can show proof of insurance—this is also true for drivers failing to carry proof even when they do have minimum insurance. Fees for reinstating license and registration is at least $100. Lastly, drivers caught without insurance will be required to file proof of insurance in the form of an SR-22 for at least three years.
Multiple offenders can pay as much as $7,500 in fines, so if you’re caught once, be sure to carry insurance continually afterward. Even a small lapse in coverage can cost you big time.
Is Nebraska a no-fault state?
No, Nebraska is not a no-fault state. Nebraska is what’s known as a tort state.
In a tort state, the driver found to be at fault for an accident is required to pay for all medical expenses, up to and including expenses that fall under “pain and suffering.” For this reason, it is likely in every Nebraska driver’s best interest to carry more than minimum coverage.
While $50,000 may sound like a lot of coverage, it can easily run out for when a car carrying more than one passenger is hit. And seeing as that limit includes anyone in the at-fault driver’s vehicle, well, $50,000 starts to look like peanuts.
Is electronic proof of insurance legal in Nebraska?
Yes, drivers are allowed to use a cellphone or other electronic device to show proof of insurance in Nebraska. However, a hard copy of proof is highly recommended as electronic devices can break, run out of battery, or be lost in the midst of travel. Failure to show proof of insurance will cost Nebraskans a minimum of $100 and quite a few headaches.
What are the child passenger laws in Nebraska?
Children under the age of eight must ride in the backseat and be secured in a child safety seat. For infants under the age of two, a rear-facing car seat must be used unless the child weighs more than the limit of the car seat. Children over the age of two must ride in front-facing car seats with a five-point harness and, later, booster seats until the age of eight.
What is the penalty for driving without a seatbelt in Nebraska?
Drivers, front-seat passengers, and any passenger under the age of 18 must be wearing a safety belt or other safety restraint if applicable when riding in a vehicle. Violating this rule results in a $25 fine to the driver no matter who is unbuckled.
In addition to the fine, one point will be assessed to the driver if the safety belt violation involves a passenger under the age of 18.
What are the cell phone laws and penalties in Nebraska?
Handheld cell phone use to send, write or read communications is prohibited in Nebraska. Additionally, the use of a cell phone for other purposes beyond navigation, like to play a game, is also prohibited.
Cell phone violations are treated as secondary offenses, meaning drivers must be cited for another violation in order to be given a cell phone ticket. However, the offense is not cheap. For first-timers, the fine is $200, $300 for a second, and $500 for a third. Three points are also added against the driver’s license of any offense.
Novice drivers have even stricter restrictions as they are prohibited from using any wireless communication device while operating a vehicle in Nebraska.
Which companies offer SR-22 insurance in Nebraska?
Sometimes drivers are required to submit proof of insurance through their insurance companies. Typically this happens when drivers are caught driving without insurance or under the influence of alcohol. Proof of insurance is filed by the insurance company directly with a document called an SR-22.
Here is a list of insurance companies that will file an SR-22 on your behalf: Ameriprise, Dairyland, Esurance, Farmers, GEICO, The General, Grinnell Mutual, National General, North Star, Progressive, Safeco, Stillwater, Victoria, and West Bend Mutual.
Nebraska Auto Insurance FAQs
What’s the cheapest car insurance in Nebraska?
It depends. What is cheaper for you may not be cheaper for your neighbor next door, even if you drive the same vehicle. This is because many factors influence the price you pay, including: -Driving history -Credit score -Marital status -Profession -Additionally, eligibility for discounts will be different for each driver. Be sure to research what discounts are available to you.
How do I find affordable car insurance in Nebraska?
There are three easy steps to buying affordable car insurance no matter who you are. First: begin with what you need. Your situation may call for higher-than-minimum coverage limits, collision coverage, or other riders to protect you from loss. It’s important to be honest about what you can reasonably afford should you cause an accident or damage your vehicle. For example, for people with older vehicles, replacing the vehicle without insurance may be less expensive than paying for coverage. Second: make a list of all your eligible discounts. Some are more lucrative than others, and it is usually in your best interest to choose a company that offers you the most lucrative discounts. Finally: shop around and shop often, at least every six months. Prices vary greatly company to company, and what’s cheapest now may not be the cheapest option for long. Seeing as switching your car insurance company is easy and typically won’t incur any added fees, it's a good idea to keep your eye out for new deals.
What’s the best cheap car insurance in Nebraska?
Just as the cost of premiums can be vastly different between neighbors, so can needs and preferences. For example, one driver may prefer to have a user-friendly mobile application to access insurance information. This driver is likely willing to pay a little more to have that app over a driver who doesn’t need one. On the other hand, a driver who likes to meet with an insurance agent in person would be willing to pay a little more for that level of service. The key is to know what’s right for you and make your decision based on your preferences and budget.
Nebraska DMV Information
If you’re moving to Nebraska, there are a few things you’ll need to know. You’ll have 60 days to surrender your out-of-state license and exchange it for a Nebraska license. While you cannot do this online, you can set an appointment online for completing these errands. On another positive note, you won’t be required to take a driving test so long as you have your license and it hasn’t expired longer than one year ago.
Within 30 days, you will need to retitle and register your vehicle, the fees for which vary. This can be done easily through the mail. You won’t be required to get an emission test, but you will be required to get a vehicle inspection at the cost of $10. Lastly, you’ll be required to provide proof of liability insurance.
Once you’ve transferred your title and license, you will be able to do many things through the online system. This includes:
- Change of address
- License and registration renewal or replacement
- Pay tickets
- Apply for permits
- Access your driving record
Cheap car insurance, no husking necessary.
Whether you’re new to the state or a Nebraska native, it’s possible to save on car insurance. Taking a little time to organize and plan beforehand can save you big time year over year. The key to getting a cheap car insurance policy in Nebraska, or anywhere for that matter, is comparison shopping and comparison shopping often—at least every six months. Using a resource like Insurify’s quote comparison tool will help you unlock your best rate quickly.
Uncover the best rates for the best coverage today!
Score savings on car insurance with Insurify