Hawaii Car Insurance Information
Requirement : Yes
Financial responsibility is required in Hawaii . Drivers must have a minimum of liability insurance and Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. *Hawaii is a no-fault insurance state, your provider will pay your medical costs up to the policy limits, regardless of who caused the accident.
Minimum Coverage Car Insurance Requirements:
A minimum liability and Personal Injury Protection coverage is required:
- $20,000 for bodily injury to one person.
- $40,000 for bodily injury per accident.
- $10,000 for property damage liability per accident.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) – No-fault insurance helps with certain costs resulting from a car accident, no matter who’s at fault.
- $10,000 for bodily injury per accident.
Other Car Insurance Coverage Options:
Liability and PIP coverage are the only requirements for Hawaii motorist to have, there are several other types of coverage available to drivers:
- Collision – Covers damages to your vehicle due to an accident.
- Comprehensive – Covers damages due to your non-accident related damages to your car, such as inclement weather.
- Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage – Covers you in case you’re involved in an accident with an uninsured party, or they don’t have adequate coverage. *The provider must offer Uninsured/underinsured coverage, you may decline this option.
- Note: Comprehensive and or collision coverage is optional, unless the vehicle is being financed or leased, the lending/leasing agency may require you to purchase comprehensive and collision coverage.
Other Forms of Financial Responsibility:
Other legal ways around buying car insurance include: There are no alternative forms of financial responsibility. Hawaii requires all drivers to have minimum coverage.
Proof of Insurance: Yes
You must carry proof of financial responsibility with your vehicle at all times.
Valid forms of proof of financial responsibility include:
- Insurance card.
Getting Pulled Over:
Violations, Fines & Penalties:
- If you’re pulled over by a police officer, you must show your proof of insurance, along with your driver’s license and car registration.
Violations, Fines & Penalties:
- $500 fine for first offense.
- $1,500 minimum - $5,000 maximum fine for second offense within 5 years.
- Imprisonment of up to 30 days, revocation of registration plates, impoundment or sale of the motor vehicle for multiple convictions within 5 years.
Credit Scores & Determining Your Insurance Premium :
All Hawaii drivers are required to have car insurance, however, insurance providers are reserved the right to deny coverage to high-risk drivers. Drivers unable to get private coverage can purchase insurance through Hawaii’s joint underwriting plan.
Other factors that may be used to determine your premiums include:
- Driving history
- Make, model of car
- Neighborhood or city of residence
Discounts : Yes
Discounts available in Hawaii:
- Good driver discount
- Good student discount
- Anti-theft device discount
- Safety device discount
All drivers under the age of 18 are banned from cellphone use. All drivers are banned from texting while driving. Cellphone and texting violations are considered primary offenses. Violators face a $297 fine, or $307 if the driver is cited while in a school or construction zone.
Hawaii Minimum Coverage Laws
Carriers in Hawaii
Full Insurance Laws for Hawaii