Though advocates in Wisconsin are calling for stricter drunk driving laws surrounding first-offense DUIs, penalties for DUIs (referred to as OWIs in this state) are pretty comprehensive. Though the state outlines fines, imprisonment, and license revocation should you operate a vehicle while intoxicated, they can't reveal how much your auto insurance premiums will go up after a DUI conviction.
Pinning down a single reliable price for insurance costs post-DUI isn't easy because there are many things to consider. How many DUIs do you have? What was your driving record before? One thing you can count on is that your auto insurance rates will rise. Though Wisconsin has relatively cheaper rates for drivers with a DUI conviction than many other states, insurance is very personal. It can vary on many factors, including (but not limited to) your driving record to date. For this reason, car insurance shopping sites that can provide you the cheapest, most personalized insurance options have become very popular.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
There's no avoiding it: risky behavior like driving under the influence is never rewarded. Some people experience life-changing consequences. At the very least, you'll see your insurance rates increase. Though car insurance costs after a DUI in Wisconsin are some of the lowest in the United States, a higher monthly premium still stings.
Relative to the rest of the country, Wisconsin ranks low when it comes to statewide insurance costs for drivers after a DUI conviction. That's little consolation when you are looking at a new average premium of $295—a cost increase of 98 percent over the average that motorists without a DUI pay.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
When comparing car insurance companies, don't feel obligated to analyze big names only. While many companies you'll recognize, some may be unfamiliar but can give you the same—or even a better—financial boost. The most cost-effective companies to consider in Wisconsin if you have a DUI on your record include Liberty Mutual, Travelers, and Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company||$125|
|First Chicago Insurance Company||$140|
|American Family Insurance||$160|
Only nine other states are cheaper than Wisconsin when it comes to buying insurance after a DUI. Though that's good news, the bottom line is that an insurance rate increase is still coming your way. The average car insurance premium for Wisconsin drivers with a prior DUI is $295.
Because car insurance rates rely on more than this one mistake (your age, the kind of car you drive, and your marital status are just a few variables aside from your driving record), you may shop around and find rates that are higher or lower than the average. The secret to finding the cheapest rates is the ability to pick among insurance providers that are as personalized as possible to the variables that describe you.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
You might be asking yourself how many years a DUI stays on your record in Wisconsin. As far as criminal records go, a DUI is on your record for life in this state. However, it can only be grouped with any subsequent DUIs for a period of 10 years. If you have only one DUI on your record for 10 years, the next DUI (should you get one again) is considered a first offense for penalty purposes.
Insurance companies don't necessarily abide by state lookback periods when deciding how long to consider a DUI violation. In general, rate increases for driving mistakes stick around for up to five years.
Age, number of offenses, and other details influence the penalty received if convicted of a DUI in the state of Wisconsin. Fines for a first offense range from $150 to $300, license suspension of up to nine months, and enrollment in a sobriety program.
In Wisconsin, the harm or damage you incur plays a significant role in what your penalty might be. For example, if you are convicted of homicide related to the DUI—even for a first offense—you could pay $100,000 in fines, add a felony to your record, and be imprisoned for five or more years.