Marden’s isn’t the only place serving up deals—can you save money on your car insurance? Ayuh.
Lighthouses, lawn ornaments, and lobster rolls are nothing more than a car ride away for the 1.3 million residents of Maine. But before you put on your Bean Boots and head to the next bean supper, are you getting the best rate on car insurance?
Here’s our guide to the best and cheapest car insurance quotes in the Pine Tree State. Once you finish reading, you’ll want to celebrate by cracking open a can of Moxie or pouring a cup of the champagne of Maine.
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Maine
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in Maine for the following user profile: a single, 30-year-old male with a clean driving record who drives a 2012 Honda Accord and pays a $1,000 deductible for the state’s minimum liability insurance. We averaged car insurance rates for the twenty most populous cities in Maine.
Best Car Insurance Quotes in Maine
The Insurify Composite Score is calculated by analyzing multiple factors that indicate the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company. Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch; J.D. Power ratings; Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys; mobile app reviews; and user-generated company reviews. The following are the top-rated companies that offer car insurance in Maine. For the complete list, see Insurify’s best car insurance companies.
Most Popular Car Insurance Companies in Maine
Who hasn’t memorized at least a few of these providers’ slogans? The Insurance Information Institute (III) says these are the top five most popular car insurance companies in Maine by market share:
- State Farm
- Liberty Mutual
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Maine by City
Yes, those two towns might be a moose’s length apart. But crime rates, population density, and even weather differences can affect the price of your car insurance policy. Here’s a look at how the same driver’s auto insurance quotes vary in each of the five most populated cities in Maine:
City Insurance Company Quotes
Portland Progressive $32/month
Lewiston Progressive $28/month
Bangor Progressive $31/month
South Portland Progressive $30/month
Auburn Progressive $3/month
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Maine by Profile
Here are the cheapest insurance companies in Maine based on averaged sample rates for four driver profiles that included varied gender, age, driving history, credit, marital status, prior insurance, higher education, employment, and military service
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Drivers with a DUI
It’s a quick decision with lasting consequences. A DUI, DWI, or OUI is operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Drinking and driving may cause hefty fines, loss of license, jail sentences, and higher insurance prices for years. Here are the penalties for a first offense:
- A fine of $500 to $2,000
- A 150-day license suspension
- Jail sentence up to 1 year
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Drivers with a Speeding Ticket
No, no, no. Your alarm didn’t go off, and you’re running late. Be careful. A speeding ticket can raise your insurance rates.
How can you lower your price? Lay off the gas pedal and consider taking a defensive driving course or other driver discount programs to help your budget.
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Drivers with an At-Fault Accident
Yes, that fender bender can bump up your rate. Think about paying a little extra for accident forgiveness. When you have an accident on your driving history, it’s best to shop around. You may find one company that only looks at the past three years while another goes back five.
Insurance Company Quotes
Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Young Drivers Under 40
Is your birthday cake getting one more candle? Congratulations. One benefit of growing older is your insurance rates go down. Insurance providers charge new drivers more because they see them as a higher risk. Young drivers should look for every discount possible, including those for good students or completing driving courses.
Maine State Insurance Laws
State Minimum Car Insurance Coverage in Maine
The state of Maine requires all motor vehicle operators to have proof of insurance available in the car at all times.
The minimum bodily injury liability insurance requirements in Maine are:
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per accident
Bodily injury coverage protects you by paying for the injuries of anyone you harm in an accident. The minimum coverage limits Maine state law requires are $50,000 for the injury or death of a single person involved in a car accident and $100,000 for the injury or death of multiple persons. Insurance providers list this coverage at 50/100, stating the limitations of each minimum. In an accident, liability coverage protects you up to the policy limit. Damages above the policy limit of $100,000 are your responsibility.
The minimum property damage liability insurance requirements in Maine are:
- $25,000 property damage liability per accident
Property damage liability coverage pays for any property that you damage in an accident. The state of Maine requires $25,000 for the minimum. You’ll see the collective state minimum listed at 50/100/25. The 25 refers to the property damage liability. Once again, any damages above the $25,000 are your responsibility.
What happens if someone hits you, and they do not have insurance or enough insurance to pay for your damages? Consider that the Insurance Information Institute reports 4.5 percent or just under one out of twenty Maine drivers has no insurance. That’s why the state requires minimum uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage at:
- $50,000 per person
- $100,000 per accident
Uninsured motorist bodily injury pays your medical expenses if you’re injured by a hit-and-run driver or one who has no insurance.
Underinsured motorist bodily injury pays your medical expenses if you’re hit by someone who does not have high enough policy limits to cover your costs.
Medical Payments coverage, or Med Pay, covers you and your passengers’ medical expenses regardless of fault. The state minimum requirement for this coverage:
- $2,000 per person per accident
Optional Supplemental Coverage
Bodily injury and property damage liability coverage do not protect damages to your vehicle at all. To protect your car, you must add comprehensive insurance coverage and collision insurance coverage.
Both coverages require you to pay a deductible before the insurance company helps you repair it. Typical deductibles are $500 or $1,000. You can choose a higher deductible to lower your overall insurance premiums.
When drivers say they have “full coverage,” they’re saying they have liability coverage along with comprehensive coverage and collision coverage. You’ll need full coverage if you have a car loan or lease. People who own their vehicle outright may go with “liability only,” skipping any protection for their car.
Comprehensive insurance coverage pays for physical damage to your vehicle for losses caused by events other than a collision. Sometimes insurance providers label comprehensive as “other than collision” coverage. It covers losses because of animals, falling objects, fire, flood, hail, theft, and vandalism.
Collision insurance coverage pays for physical damage to your vehicle that results from colliding with an object such as a light pole or other cars.
Am I Liable if I Cause a Car Accident in Maine?
Maine is an at-fault state, meaning the driver who caused the accident pays damages.
The bodily injury liability insurance coverage of the at-fault driver pays for the medical expenses of the other injured parties in a car accident. The property damage liability coverage pays to repair the other driver’s vehicle.
Maine works on a comparative fault system. That means that after the court determines the percentage of fault, the compensation will match. For example, say someone rear-ends you, and the court rules that the other driver is 90 percent at fault and you’re 10 percent at fault for not signaling. If the damages are $10,000, you’ll receive $9,000.
Texting and Driving and Distracted Driving in Maine
Maine law prohibits all vehicle operators from talking or texting on a cellphone while driving a vehicle unless using a wireless or hands-free device. The statute applies even when you stop at a red light, stop sign, or for traffic. If you want to text or talk without a hands-free device, then you must find a safe place to park and then use your device.
Texting While Driving:
- The law defines “portable electronic device” means any electronic equipment that isn’t part of the vehicle itself, including cell phones.
- Text messaging is reading or manually composing electronic messages, including emails, instant messages, and regular text messages.
- For a first offense, there’s a minimum $250 fine.
- For a second or subsequent offense within three years, there’s a minimum $500 fine and mandatory license suspension.
- The license suspension is 30 days for a second offense, 60 days for a third offense, and 90 days for a fourth or subsequent offense within three years.
Cell Phone Usage While Driving:
- Drivers 18 and older can use a cellphone while driving if it’s in hands-free mode.
- For a first offense, there’s a minimum $50 fine.
- For a second or subsequent offense, there’s a minimum $250 fine.
Texting and Cellphone Usage for Underage Drivers:
- Prohibited from using a handheld device or cellphone while driving even in hands-free mode:
- Drivers with a learner’s permit
- Drivers under the age of 18 who have had their license for 270 days or fewer.
- A learner’s permit violation is an infraction with a fine of $25 to $500 and a license suspension.
- The license suspension is 60 days for a first offense, 180 days for a second offense, and one year for a third or subsequent offense.
SR-22 Insurance in Maine
Has the state suspended or revoked your license, and you now need an SR-22 filing? Maine may require an SR-22 if you’ve been convicted of a moving violation, driving without insurance, an OUI, DUI, or other serious offense.
Many insurance providers in the state will file the SR-22 on your behalf, including Dairyland, Farmers, Foremost, GEICO, The General, National General, Patriot, Progressive, and Safeco.
Why It Pays to Go Green in Maine
Efficiency Maine, the state’s green driving incentive program, offers rebates $2,000 for individuals and $3,000 for qualified low-income Maine residents. Your vehicle must be purchased or leased new between August 29, 2019, and December 21, 2021, or while funds last. Both battery electric vehicles (BEVs) and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs) qualify for the program and specific details are available on the Efficiency Maine website.
Legal Alcohol Limits in Maine
In Maine, if you’re:
- The age of 21 or over, it’s against the law to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher.
- Under 21, it’s against the law to drive with a BAC of .02 or higher.
- Driving a commercial vehicle, it’s against the law to drive with a BAC of .04 or higher.
If you refuse a chemical test, the state could suspend your license 275 days.
What Are the Seat Belt and Child Passenger Laws in Maine?
- Maine law states that all persons 18 years of age or older as an operator or passenger must be properly secured in a seat belt.
- Children under 18 must be in a seat belt or child restraint.
- Children Passenger Safety Law:
- Children who weigh less than 40 lbs. must ride in a child safety seat
- Children who weigh at least 40 lbs. but less than 80 lbs. and less than 8 years old must ride in a child restraint system (that is a booster seat).
- Children older than 8 years old and less than 18 and over 4 feet 9 inches tall should be secured in a seat belt.
- Children under 12 years old and weighing less than 100 lbs. must be in the back seat.
- Maine’s seat belt laws are primary, which means law enforcement can stop you solely for violating the seat belt law.
- The penalty for a violation is a $50 fine for a first offense, $125 for a second offense, and $250 for a third or subsequent offense.
Maine DMV Information
The Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) has 13 motor vehicle branch offices throughout the state. It also offers mobile units and partners with AAA for limited services. The BMV is walk-in friendly, but you must schedule an appointment for driver license road tests through the mail by sending your road test request card to the main office at 29 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0029. The main office will then schedule your road test at the nearest location to you.
The online portal lets you skip the drive and amongst other services you can:
- Purchase duplicate registration
- Register as an organ and tissue donor
- Register to vote
- Renew your driver’s license or ID card
- Request your driving record
Registering your car if you’re new to Maine
New residents must register their vehicles within 30 days of establishing residency. To register your vehicle, you must take the following to the Maine municipal office in your town of residence (or nearest BMV location if your municipality doesn’t do new registrations):
- Out-of-state title
- Out-of-state registration
- An insurance ID card or proof of insurance
- Name and address of lienholder, if applicable
You’ll then pay your excise tax, register the vehicle, and have the vehicle inspected if necessary.
You must get a new Maine license within 30 days of establishing residency by going to a BMV office with the following:
- One proof of legal presence such as a birth certificate or passport. (if your name has been changed, provide supporting documents such as a marriage license, divorce decree, or court order.)
- One proof of residency, such as a paycheck stub, utility bill, or tax bill.
You then must pass a vision test, turn in your out-of-state license, and later pay your exam and license fee.
How to Get the Cheapest Car Insurance in Maine
You’re from Maine or you’re “from away,” but you’re never too far away from the savings.
Insurify and savings go together like the blueberries and molasses. We let you compare the best car insurance rates, coverage options, and companies personalized for your price point. Get free, cheap car insurance quotes today on America’s best-rated auto insurance comparison site.
Browse, Compare, Discover with Insurify today!
Score savings on car insurance with Insurify