4.8out of 3,000+ reviews
Why you can trust Insurify
Updated June 24, 2022
South Dakota law dictates the minimum requirements for insurance coverage that all drivers must carry. All drivers in South Dakota must hold 25/50/25 in liability insurance and 100/300 in uninsured motorist coverage. While personal injury protection isn’t required, it’s suggested for safety. Additionally, drivers can pick from a long list of additional coverages for added protection.
Car insurance is required by law in South Dakota.
Drivers in South Dakota must carry 25/50/25 in liability and uninsured motorist coverages.
If caught driving uninsured, drivers face $100 in fines and potential jail time.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in South Dakota
The minimum car insurance requirements in South Dakota are:
$25,000 for bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 for bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 for property damage liability per accident
$100,000 for uninsured motorist coverage per person
$300,000 for uninsured motorist coverage per accident
Like every state, South Dakota has its own set of laws. Drivers should know that it is an at-fault state, meaning that if you’re found responsible for causing an accident, you and your insurance company have to cover the costs. Anyone found guilty of an at-fault accident needs to pay. For this reason, you might want to consider buying additional coverage to protect yourself.
Why is car insurance required in South Dakota?
Auto insurance protects drivers from financial liability in the event of an accident. Depending on a policy’s specific coverage limitations, car insurance may cover everything from vehicle damage to medical bills.
Bodily Injury Liability
Bodily injury liability is part of your auto insurance policy’s liability car insurance coverage. If you cause an accident, this injury coverage will help cover the other party’s medical expenses. This type of coverage will not cover your own medical expenses for injuries sustained in a car accident you caused. Bodily injury liability coverage is required in South Dakota.
Property Damage Liability
Property damage liability is the other half of your liability car insurance. It covers repair costs and damage expenses to the other cars involved in an accident you caused. This coverage does not cover damage to your own car in an accident you were at fault for, so maybe consider getting more coverage options. Property damage liability coverage is required in South Dakota.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
If an uninsured (or underinsured) driver causes an accident and you suffer bodily injury, then having uninsured motorist coverage will cover your medical expenses. If the at-fault driver surpasses their bodily injury liability coverage limits, your underinsured motorist coverage will cover the rest of your medical expenses. It also helps in the case of hit-and-run accidents.
See More: Cheap Car Insurance in South Dakota
Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly
Is state minimum car insurance enough in South Dakota?
The minimum required car insurance coverage in South Dakota provides drivers with a solid foundation of auto insurance coverage, but it may not be enough for everyone. For example, if you’re found responsible for causing an auto accident and the other party has hospital bills that exceed the $25,000 liability limits for bodily injury, you might be stuck paying out of pocket.
On top of that, South Dakota doesn’t require drivers to carry coverage that would protect them in the case of an at-fault accident. For this reason, it could be worth considering getting medical payments (MedPay) coverage or personal injury protection. If your driving record shows that you’re more likely to get into accidents, getting coverage beyond the minimum limits could help.
Optional Car Insurance Coverage for South Dakota
South Dakota drivers who want to be protected in any situation should consider bolstering the minimum car insurance coverage with the following supplemental car insurance coverages:
Collision coverage covers damages to your car after a collision with another vehicle or object. If your vehicle is a total loss, collision coverage will reimburse you for the actual cash value of your vehicle. This is a great addition to the required property damage liability coverage in South Dakota, which applies only to the damages to the other driver’s vehicle.
Complementing your collision coverage, comprehensive insurance covers damage to your vehicle that occurs during an event that is not a collision with another vehicle or object. This may apply in situations of vandalism, theft, weather damage, or a run-in with an animal. Adding comprehensive and collision coverage together creates a full-coverage car insurance policy.
Other Supplemental Coverage
No matter what the state’s minimum requirements are, know that you can add extra coverage to your auto insurance policy to tailor it to your exact needs. For example, if you need help paying for a rental car while yours is in the shop getting repaired after an accident, adding rental car reimbursement could help. While it may result in a higher premium, it could be worth it for you.
Or if you would prefer the peace of mind of knowing that you have support in case any car troubles strike, you could consider adding roadside assistance to your policy. This add-on has services that include an on-call tow truck, a flat tire change, jump-starting a dead battery, help if you lock yourself out of your car, and delivering gasoline to your car if you run out.
Penalties for Driving Uninsured in South Dakota
It is illegal to drive in South Dakota without the minimum car insurance coverage. Failing to show proof of insurance to a law enforcement officer when they ask could lead to significant penalties. Like your driver’s license, anyone who gets behind the wheel needs to carry a form of their insurance policy; otherwise, they could face fines, jail time, or even license suspension.
A fine of $100
30 days of jail time
A combination of both
Potential license suspension for at least 30 days and up to one year
See More: High-Risk Car Insurance in South Dakota
Minimum Requirements for High-Risk Drivers in South Dakota
Getting a DUI or DWI can really hurt your driving record and raise your auto insurance rates. If you do get your license or driving privileges revoked, state law will require high-risk drivers to show a few extra documents in order to get back on the road. Even getting caught driving without insurance requires drivers to show an SR-22 certificate.
More Information for High-Risk Drivers in South Dakota
Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in South Dakota
Car insurance companies weigh different factors to determine what to quote drivers on their car insurance policies. Minimum coverage generally means lower car insurance rates. It also means low coverage limits, which may cost you if you’re ever involved in an accident. Here are the cheapest car insurance quotes for minimum coverage in South Dakota.
|Insurance Company||Monthly Quote for Minimum Coverage|
See More: Best Car Insurance in South Dakota
How to Find Cheap Car Insurance in South Dakota
Protecting yourself, your loved ones, and others on the road is a no brainer. Getting a quality car insurance policy that you can afford should be just as easy. Using Insurify to help you compare car insurance quotes is the best way to save on your monthly premium. Our tools sift through quotes from hundreds of insurance companies to make sure you’re getting the best deals.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes, anyone who operates a motor vehicle in South Dakota needs to carry car insurance. The minimum requirements are 25/50/25 in liability coverage, which includes both bodily injury and property damage, as well as 100/300 in uninsured motorist coverage. Failure to show proof of insurance to law enforcement could result in fines, jail time, or your license being revoked.
No, South Dakota is an at-fault state, meaning that anyone who’s found responsible for causing an accident needs to pay for it. For this reason, having the minimum car insurance requirements will come in handy if you have to cover another party’s hospital bills, repair costs, and more. But know that this doesn’t protect you and for that reason, you should consider additional coverage.
Yes, the state requires drivers to have this coverage in case they get into an accident or collision with a driver who doesn’t have insurance or has less than the minimum requirements. While it’s mandated that anyone who gets behind the wheel needs coverage, it doesn’t always happen. With this coverage, you won’t be stuck paying out of pocket in a hit and run or other situations.
No, you don’t need to show proof of insurance when you register your car in the state. However, you will need to show your original out-of-state titles, driver’s license, social security number, and your application.
Getting the coverage you need—whether it be the minimum requirements or a policy tailored to fit your needs—shouldn’t cost you an arm and a leg. The easiest way to get cheap car insurance is by comparing car insurance quotes. Insurify does all the hard work for you to bring you rates from hundreds of different companies to help you save big bucks.
Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly
Data scientists at Insurify analyzed over 40 million auto insurance rates across the United States to compile the car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations displayed on this page. The car insurance data includes coverage analysis and details on drivers' vehicles, driving records, and demographic information. With these insights, Insurify is able to offer drivers insight into how their car insurance premiums are priced by companies.