For drivers with a DUI or DWI offense in Maine, it’s important that you evaluate all of your potential insurance options to ensure you are finding the best rate. Comparing the right insurance companies after this incident will allow you to get the best possible insurance rate after a DUI.
To simplify comparing companies, Insurify has analyzed rates from top insurance providers in Maine. The following are the best insurance rates from carriers that offer car insurance for drivers with a DUI in Maine.
In Maine, a DUI or DWI offense will on average have drivers paying $223 per month and $2,676 per year for their car insurance rates.
Compared to drivers with a clean driving record, that is on average an 68% increase on car insurance rates for drivers with a DUI. So in order, to find an affordable monthly rate after a DUI, comparison tools like Insurify become essential to finding the best rate.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
No matter which way you turn, a DUI is going to have a negative impact on your life. It will appear on your driving record for years, if not forever. A DUI can also quickly drain your bank account between the fines and legal fees you'll have to pay. And, of course, you are going to face higher insurance rates.
The best way to keep your car insurance premiums low is to maintain a clean driving record. Drivers without a DUI in Maine pay an average of $90 less a month in car insurance premiums than those with a DUI conviction. Getting behind the wheel intoxicated could increase your car insurance costs almost 68 percent, to $223 a month. That price hike alone should make you think twice before driving after you have been drinking.
|Average Percent Increase After DUI|
Car insurance rates are based on a driver's individual circumstances. However, drivers in Maine with a DUI pay on average $233.35 a month for their insurance coverage. This makes Maine the 50th (out of 51, including Washington, D.C.) most expensive state for car insurance after getting a DUI.
It's best to compare rates from a few car insurance companies before making a decision. As you compare, look at factors besides price. You might find that you can save some money on your premium if an insurer offers a discount when you combine your car and home insurance policies.
|Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
A lookback period is how long a DUI remains on a driver's record. Maine has a 10-year lookback period for DUIs. This means that if you receive a second DUI within 10 years of the first one, you'll be considered a repeat offender and get a harsher penalty. A subsequent DUI after that 10-year lookback period would be considered a first offense. Car insurance companies don't often look as far back for a DUI, however, typically only three to five years.
You should always strive to have a clean driving record, but especially after you've been charged with a DUI. That initial offense will increase your car insurance rates in Maine enough. Don't compound that increase with additional DUIs or other traffic violations. You might also see your insurance premium go down over time if you consistently make good decisions on the road.
First-time DUI offenders in Maine face a 150-day driver's license suspension and a $500 fine. If the violation includes any aggravating factors (BAC of .15 more more, traveling 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit, trying to evade a police officer, or having a passenger under the age of 21), at least 48 hours of jail time will be added to the other penalties. Additionally a 275-day license suspension is enacted if the offender has a passenger under the age of 21.
Maine has a zero-tolerance law for DUI offenders under the age of 21. Underage drivers found to have any measurable amount of alcohol in their body will lose their license for one year. If the offender refuses a test, the suspension will be extended to at least 18 months. If the driver has a passenger under 21, an additional 180-day suspension will be imposed.
Use Insurify for all of your car insurance comparison needs! Compare and connect directly with the top insurance companies to find the best rates as well as the most personalized discounts and coverage options.
Insurify’s network includes over 200 insurance companies throughout the U.S. who can work with you to get you the right auto insurance policy at the cheapest price.
The car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations on this page are derived from Insurify’s proprietary database of over 4 million car insurance applications from ZIP codes across the United States. Insurify’s data science team performs a comprehensive analysis of the various factors car insurance providers take into account while setting rates to provide readers insight into how car insurance quotes are priced.