"But the night started so well. How could it end so badly?" That thought floats through the mind of every person who ends up with a DUI, also called driving while intoxicated (DWI). One drink too many can put you past the legal limit of a .08 blood alcohol content (BAC). It happens a lot, especially on the weekends, and the 26,500 average yearly convictions demonstrate the sad reality.
Drunk driving always costs more than anyone's prepared to pay. You can end up with a criminal record, jail time, and hefty fines. The government's just the first in line to give DUI drivers a financial gut punch. Insurance companies boost rates up to the ceiling to offset the added claims risk. There's light at the end of the tunnel, but you'll have to search for a price that works.
Insurify's comparison tool will help you make sure you're getting the best possible quote even after a DUI. You can have peace of mind that you're reviewing all of your available insurance options and can confidently choose the one that is best for your situation.
DUIs cost society a lot of money, but the cost to one person could be the ultimate one. So anything less than that looks like a bargain. The best deal will always go to those who protect others and keep a perfect driving record.
The state average is $267, and people with a clean record sneak below that with a monthly premium of $265. One quick wrong choice, and your bill goes up by 100 percent to $531. If you're doing the math, you've calculated a difference of $266 per month, or over $3,100 per year. Depending on your partying habits, you could instead afford a whole lot of Ubers.
|No Violation - Avg. Monthly Rate||After DUI - Avg. Monthly Rate||Average Percent Increase After DUI|
DUI insurance prices for some New Jerseyites are nothing less than a nightmare. But there are a few companies that are pretty much a dream come true for DUI drivers. Plymouth Rock offers a sweet deal, at $189 per month. Travelers and Liberty Mutual also might make the cheap policy you imagined a reality.
|Carrier||Avg. Monthly Cost|
|Good2Go Auto Insurance||$288|
|American Family Insurance||$450|
Every policy is different because every driver is different. But a glance at the average gives you an idea of what you may need to budget. Drivers with a DUI shell out $531 to stay legal. In fact, the state ranks 10th for the most expensive DUI car insurance in the nation.
If you drive an older car, opt for liability only and drop comprehensive and collision coverage to lower your payment. Also, start with the state minimum, and see how that fits your budget.
|California After DUI Avg. Monthly Rate||Most Expensive State for DUI (1-50)|
Like many states, New Jersey's lookback period is 10 years. That means a second DUI within that window will cause a more severe conviction. Fortunately, insurance companies only look back five years at the most, but the majority check only the past three.
So, what should you do while you wait three years for a better price? Compare quotes, practice defensive driving to avoid accidents and tickets, and shop for a better rate at every renewal period. You never know when you'll find a deal that moves your premium from expensive to affordable.
As you might expect, the severity of punishment goes up drastically as drivers increase the number of DUI offenses. First-time offenders face jail time of up to 30 days, a fine between $250 and $500, license revocation for 3 to 12 months, and an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center Program (IDRCP) attendance requirement for 12 to 48 hours.
In the Garden State, those under age 21 are guilty if they have a BAC of .01 or higher. Penalties include a license revocation for 30 days, community service for 15 to 30 days, and a requirement to take part in the IDRCP or a similar substance treatment program.